NEW YORK through my lens (PART #3) - CITY PHOTOGRAPHY - 5 Rules to have JUST A PERFECT DAY.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians,

Good morning from the city that never sleeps, and neither did I! Partly because of what's happening after the Bitcoin fork...exciting times to be alive. However, here is a summary of what an ideal day in New York during Christmas can look like. It's both a city guide and a recipe for a happy day.

RULE number 1

Get hold of a person you really like, your best FRIEND, possibly wearing colourful pieces of clothing, someone who loves walking for miles towards the unknown without losing her temper and with no goals for the day. Get in the Subway and choose a random stop.

I36C0172.JPG

Next time we film together, we can make an effect like this, @sirwinchester , @mrs.steemit , @soldier , @topp.c-cret , @sandroieva .

RULE number 2

Now, add to that a finely brewed COFFEE and a STICKY BUN! As my days are hugely affected by the quality of my morning espresso, I am particularly picky with my choice and today we have delegated to Rick, the guy behind this window - incredibly cheerful manners and thick southern accent - my daily dose of happiness.

I36C0206.JPG

RULE number 3

As you are meandering through the streets, trying to figure out where on earth you landed, you have to look out for every single clue and detail. WHERE ARE YOU?

I36C0236.JPG

I36C0238.JPG

I36C0241.JPG

I36C9979.JPG?

I36C0277.JPG

Ok, maybe when you spot a shop like this - where they seem to sell a horse! - you better stop and ask someone. DON'T CHECK ON YOUR MOBILE, really ask someone, and old people with a stick are the best, because they take the time, grab your arm, and often tell you a story about the area.

I36C0271.JPG

This is Bowery Street, or 'The Bowery'. It was one the the earliest settlement in the city, which originated around the harbour and used to be the playing ground for sailors excesses and the first immigrants. As the immigrants got wealthier, they would move north and sell their houses to the new comers. It's been always an eccentric area of Lower Manhattan, with the first theatres, cabaret shows, and gives birth to the best American punk music: Patti Smith, Blondie, Ramones, Talking Heads. Today, you can still see how charming, creative and lively it is.

I36C0278.JPG

I36C0282.JPG

I36C0211.JPG

I36C0245.JPG

RULE number 4

Let's get the CHRISTMAS SHOPPING marathon STARTED ! Here you have the chance to find some really original presents, and feel more like you are recycling antique extraordinarily rare artifacts, then consuming industrial products.

I36C0267.JPG

In this shop, for example, I found the first toy I ever remember playing, and still my favourite of all times, way better than GTA... but I understand I am getting too nostalgic now. How does it work? You press the buttons furiously to right and left punch the hell out of your friend. Who rips off the other contender's head wins. End of the game.

I36C0264.JPG

I36C0248.JPG

I36C0247.JPG

I36C0263.JPG

I36C0273.JPG

I36C0290.JPG

I36C0289.JPG

RULE number 5

Get inside the most crammed Mexican restaurant, where locals seem to hang out at the entrance. TRUST YOUR INSTINCT, and when the icon of the restaurant is Rey Mysterio, you know that must be the place for a good meal.

I36C0219.JPG

I36C0214.JPG

And when it comes to get a donut, the same rule must apply. I got convinced by the golden nail polish!

I36C0294.JPG

Enough for today. I will keep you on the loop of the next New York random discoveries!

* #steemitbloggers * - @appreciator

All the best,
Alessandro + Elena

Sort:  

@elenahornfilm
Love the shots. - they are real :-)

Thanks @michaeljn I appreciate... I don't retouch my photos, and snap only when I feel there is a story or an emotion going with it

It shows, and one can feel the emotion and even read a story in it, be that what each individual may imagine it to be, which really is what art is supposed to be all about - creating a visual that leaves the interpretation to the individual.

Beautiful post sweetie. Couldnt have seen New York better than with your eyes :-) . Nice pictures taken. Regards Nainaz.
#thealliance

@nainaztengra thank you very much, I will be here through Christmas and New Eve's !

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @elenahornfilm to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I loove your photos, you guys are amazingly talented! I love the unusual perspectives you choose and the contrasts! Are you planning on also giving some hints and tipps about taking photos?

Hey @bejaunt thanks a lot, and welcome on Steemit! Yes, we must do that at some point, if you think that it can be useful ...I'll think of setting up a tutorial series why not!?

exciting story all the time:)
you guys are having a great time.
lovely photos as always:)

xoxo

Hello @sunnylife how are you? thank you, I am gonna catch up with your recent posts soon

handsome post

Thanks @kabusu I am glad you appreciate, there's more coming from New York City!

Congratulations @elenahornfilm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Lovely shoots and great post :)

Fantastic shots

Thank you @khartet - alessandro is a talented man. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64