Travel solo (a story about Ethiopia)

in #travel7 years ago

"Traveling alone will be the scariest, most liberating,
life changing experience of your life. Try it at least once."

IMG_2036.JPG

I love to travel alone for many reasons. But I think the main one is that ultimate feeling of freedom, that excitement of the unknown that you will find only if you go on the road. Just you. And your backpack.

At the beginning I wasn't so sure how this whole thing is going to work. I won't lie to you. I was scared. But I guess the hunger for adventure was stronger. So I was brave too.
I guess that's all we need to start an adventure: to be brave.

My first destination happened to be a place that I never even thought that I would visit. Actually I managed to surprise even myself and went far beyond my expectations of being brave.

Ethiopia. Five days. Just me and my backpack.
I didn't have anything planned. I didn't read anything about the country that I'm going to visit.
I booked one return ticket (not even a real one but a standby ticket because I work as a flight attendant).
I didn't book hotel. I used Couchsurfing (community for travelers) in Addis Ababa.

Part of me probably hoped that once when I get to the airport they will tell me that the flight is full and I can't get on it (standby tickets work in that way, you know, it's a bit like gambling).
But I got on the flight. I still remember all the adrenaline. All that excitement.
And I found out I liked it. Actually I loved it!

The next couple of days were one of the best days of my life. I ended up doing trekking in the mountains in Tigray area, staying in the houses of local people, eating local food. During the day I was walking a lot, passing by small villages, seeing all these kids who were staring at me (not sure who was more amazed, me or them). During the night I was able to witness the most beautiful sky and actually see all those stars for the first time (without any city lights to distract you).
I found out how good it is to have no electricity. People in the mountains would always find something to talk about to and they always go to bed early. I think I fell in love even with the cold showers using a bucket.

IMG_1922.JPG

IMG_2057.JPG

That's how everything started. You just need to be brave and have a leap of faith. Try it at least once. You won't regret, I promise.

IMG_2037.JPG

Sort:  

I traveled to China solo, and I would have to agree, it was one of the best trips of my life. As a woman, I think its empowering, it takes a lot of courage to take a solo trip!

Yes, it's true. But I never heard anyone regret it afterwards. Good things come to those who are brave.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.32
ETH 2914.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62