Seeing My First Photogenic Kangaroo In Victoria - Blog #12

in #travel7 years ago

I took a drive up to Arthurs seat hill in Rosebud - Victoria yesterday with my handy tour guide @Jenniferc
ArthursSeatMonument.jpg

Arthurs seat is located about 75km south east from Melbourne. The hill is also known by the aboriginal name of Wonga.

ArthursSeatMonumentPlaque.jpg
It's a major tourist attraction in the summertime, luckily it's the middle of winter here and it's not plagued by tourists this time of year. We only saw local family's out for picnics and some road cyclists climbing up the 1,000ft hill to be rewarded with the breathtaking views.

ArthursSeatSeaviewLookoutSecondView.jpg

There are scheduled burning periods during the winter when the park rangers light controlled fires to burn off the bush which ensure fires don't get out of control during the summer when it's super hot. The area is teeming with indigenous wildlife including kangaroos, koalas, many varieties of snakes and insects. I didn't see any koalas, snakes, or insects; it's too cold for them to come out this time of year, If you visit in the summertime then it's a different story all together!

I got really close to these kangaroos, they seem to be use to people as they all sit right on the side of the trails just watching people pass by.

ArthursSeatKangarooLazy.jpg

ArthursSeatKangarooJoeyStanding.jpg

ArthursSeatKangarooInShadeEatingGrass.jpg

ArthursSeatKangarooHeadshotTongueOut.jpg

ArthursSeatKangarooHeadshotGrass.jpg

Thanks for viewing!

My Previous Australia Blogs;

Three continents in 48 hrs - £600 To Move To The Other Side Of The World - Blog #11

Sort:  

Would love to see a Kangaroo jump over one of those monuments

haha, If it happens I'll be the first to let you know! ;)

My name is Joey, a baby kangaroo. I love these photos. Upvoted. Resteemed. Followed.
Amazing art. Amazing animals. Thanks.

Cheers Joey! They are incredible animals, I can't wait to see the red ones :)

I want to see someone pet it. Why didn't you pet it? You were so close!

I tried believe me! Once I moved closer they hopped away!
Maybe next time I will bribe them with food haha

Always bring food!

On the serious note. Leave those animals alone, they are not pets lol they are dangerous. If you don't believe me watch YouTube fail videos lol

Oh I believe you, especially mothers with little ones close by lol

What's up with the other kangaroos? Not photogenic? Ugly mofos? :D

I hear they have good days and bad! haha

wow!! amazing , thank you for sharing with us@@@@

No problem, glad you like it!
Similar posts coming regularly :)

The kangroo looks to cute! Nice pictures!

Especially the little joeys, thanks!

Kangaroo photography good job man keep it up.

Thanks for the support dude!

You said he was photogenic.... But only the first picture was she posing for. The rest you was getting the "uninterested face" and just eating. Clickbait haha. Kidding of course. Thank you for the pictures of the Roo and good luck with future trips.

Let's call them candid shots! haha
Thanks for the comment, it made me laugh :)

What most people don't realise is how big Kangaroos really are. I got amazed the first time I saw one in real life! Nice pictures. Followed. :)

I guess everything is big in OZ, they even have spiders that hunt birds for god sake!
Thanks for the follow @littlevoice :)

Too beautiful!!! I loved your photos!

Thanks a lot! More to come :)

"They all sit right on the side of the trails just watching people pass by." - Sounds very cute.

Maybe waiting for snacks? Pretty clever of them!

Haha maybe so. So adorable!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75