London ~ Museum of Natural History, Science Museum and Kensington Park

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

At nearly the halfway point of our London adventure we loaded up our Oyster cards and took a trip on the Tube to the South Kensington station. I’ve been to quite a few cities with sophisticated transit systems but, so far, London has them all beat. The public transit system here is clean, incredibly efficient, simple to use, and reasonably priced.

We met @opheliafu and family for a delicious Indian lunch then an afternoon touring a few museums. After a short break for tea and scones we walked to Kensington Park where we had the experience of a lifetime.

As we were walking through the beautiful and expansive park we noticed a crowd gathering. We rounded a corner we saw that people were congregating under the trees, feeding very tame wild parakeets and pigeons. One of the kind Londoners gave us some of their birdseed so we could share in the experience. I ended up attracting more pigeons than parakeets but, nevertheless, this was a day we’ll never forget.

Thank you, Ophelia, for taking the time to meet us and making this memorable day possible! Oh, and the clotted cream has become a staple of our diets...we just found some today back home at a local grocery store. : )

Slideshow of the Day

I hope you’re enjoying these posts about London. We have a few more slideshows worth of photos left to share! Do you have a question about the city? If so, please ask in the comments below.

Thank you for reading,

Eric


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

You made it over! I'm so pleased you're enjoying our Capital city :)

Have a wonderful time!

Thank you @michelle.gent! I'm sorry we didn't make it out to see you guys this time but we will definitely be back. Next time we're going to venture further out away from London. I hope all is well! Are you going to SteemFest this year?

Hey @ericvancewalton. No worries, I bet you had no time to spare at all.

I'm finally getting there, thank you. Feeling better than I have in a while.

SteemFest may be a stretch this year, but, as ever, if we can, we'll be there!

I hope to see you next time you're in the UK - or when we make the trip over to the US.

I'm glad you're feeling better! We haven't decided about SteemFest yet, it's such a long flight for us. We'll be back to the UK for sure though.

Awesome! I'll make sure I try to entice you out of London next time :)

A tour of the museum? That is lovely, it must be amazing to be spending time in a place where you're definitely having fun and I didn't know Ophelia lives in London, amazing pictures In the slide show though.

Thanks! The museums were HUGE in London and basically all free they just recommend a suggested donation.

A wonderful slide show, Eric and you have been to many interesting places. Especially surprised by the huge dinosaur skeleton in the museum, it's great!

Thank you! The whale skeleton was massive as well. There were a lot of hidden details in the architecture too.

You are lucky to have steemit friends in London who want to meet and entertain delicious food. I like your video, Eric ... and the part I like most is when you interact with tame birds. That is truly extraordinary. Have a nice day, sir.

We are lucky to have such a wide network of friends! Those were our favorite days of the trip, when we met with local friends. I hope you have a good weekend!

It seems London is full with daily adventure

There definitely is plenty to do!

Yea. London is truly a great city

Cool adventure along the way super cool journey

It was so much fun. I already want to go back.

It is very interesting if you can visit this museum, there is a lot of experience you can get about natural history, of course.

if there is a time maybe I can visit this place,

I would highly recommend a visit if you can make it!

this is one museum that has a lot of natural history

Once again pleased with the video, I loved the photos of the museum visit and those of the park. The contact with these beautiful birds must have been a sublime experience. To know that they shared with @opheliafu is great, she is art and creativity. Greetings, @ericvancewalton. A hug for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99