Snacktastic and Thoughts from the Bus

in #travel5 years ago

AF41DF34-F2EA-4069-BD26-52802A97FB4F.jpeg

My first leg of the journey towards Mexico is on the way, as I sit in a bus from the middle of Finland to Hellsinki Airport. I’ll be keeping you updated on my pit stops because I have approximately 30 hours of travelling to do, and a lot of time to kill.

I didn’t sleep last night and because I had a few extra hours in the morning, I went snack shopping. I think I might have gone a little overboard, but I’d rather have too much than too little. Snack at airports are so crazy expensive that for once, I’m coming prepared with some of my own.

I’m so extra that I’m even bringing my own tea bags, or rather, lemon and ginger infusion, because plane tea is always horrible! I’m still dealing with the remnants of a flu and being stuck on a plane for about 20 hours in total, I need all the help I can get.

My blood sugar levels are very sensitive in general, and my body hates travelling, so I’m trying my best to keep myself fed with both sweet and savoury snacks, and liquids too, so I won’t be totally dead once I get to my destination. But at least I shouldn’t be suffering from too much jet lag, because I’ve already turned my sleep schedule upside down in Finland. I’m pretty sure I’ve been going to bed around the same time as @anomadsoul in Mexico!

I did nap for about an hour before I changed busses, and I’ll soon arrive to the airport. I’ll be there pretty early, but one has to be prepared for unexpected events when coming from four hours away in public transportation and winter time. I’m always early to everywhere, because if something happens, I’ll have some leeway to figure out how to solve the problem.

To wrap this post up, an anecdote about long haul busses in Finland; someone always has a mandarin or clementine as a snack, and its strong sweet and fresh smell lingers all the way throught the bus, making everyone crave it. If you ever travel between cities in Finland with a bus, which always takes hours, make sure you have a citrus fruit with you. If nobody has it and eats it, bad things will happen.

Sort:  

Lol, that's a very specific fact about traveling by bus in Finland. I will remember it. Good luck traveling, the fun part is getting closer every hours you've survived plane airconditioning, snoring passengers, annoying kids kicking your seat, etcetera, etcetera.

It’s actually something my sister noted once and ever since that, I always notice it. Kinda funny.

I’ll listen to something or watch something, noice is no problem. If someone kicks my seat, I will strangle them gently. The aircon is probably my worst enemy, I’m always super cold and my skin dries out like crazy 😬

Those are some healthy snacks 😒😏😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

It’s called balance.

Ps. Drinking a cider at the airport before my flight 😝

hey, safe travels.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Yeah, I know about the prices in the Helsinki airport. I was there this year at night when I wanted to eat something. There was only one diner kind of place open at the time. The prices were a fucking joke. I bought 1 small sprite and a frozen burger. Burger cost 15 EUR. 15 FUCKING EUROS FOR A FROZEN PIECE OF SHIT BURGER. Like what the hell is wrong with this airport? :D Even on Iceland airport I got stuff much more cheaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95