MY FIRST TIME IN BOSTON DURING THE WINTER | USA

in #travel6 years ago

A city with the best universities in a country with more than 100 million of persons like the United States, it is not an easy city to forget for its visitors, it is the city of Boston, one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I've been there, where I learned a lot about history, art, gastronomy and a million of things not only from the US also from the entire world. For me it is the academic city of the world and a piece of Europe in America.  

Boston is an amazing city in the United States located on the east coast, it is very close to New York and Washington, also noted for its great European influence, mainly British, Irish and Italian, so here you can get authentic Italian restaurants and incredible British pubs. I visited this beautiful city in 2013 and I want to tell you that it was a TOTAL ADVENTURE, starting because I was in the winter season, that is, it was my first time in the snow! I also stayed at the house of my family who did not I knew more than chat and only spoke English, so the adventure was increasing: having to communicate in another language and know what it feels like to live in winter (at least a couple of weeks hahaha). Let me tell you that it was amazing, I shared with my family that I love very much, I practiced my English and I learned a lot of things, I will share little bit what this great adventure was. 

During this nice trip I stayed in a city outside of Boston, so I went to Boston by car or train, and it was my 2nd time traveling by train from the first trip I did in Cascais, Portugal. (which I left a previous post telling the ride). I enjoyed this trip very much, it was possible to appreciate the huge pine trees with their snowy peaks and I was fascinated, I felt inside a movie; the Boston train system is under the direction of the MBTA, which is the company in charge of all public transport in Massachusets, as well as curious fact that the first subway network in the US is precisely the one in Boston led by this company.

The MBTA trains called me a lot of attention because they were two floors! and I had never seen these types of trains before, although inside it was clear that they had quite a few years in operation, but they are quite comfortable and even have a very good Wi-Fi signal.

The train connects all of Massachusetts and it is even possible in some stations to transfer to take other public transport such as bus or underground subway. I arrived at one of the stations located in the financial area of Boston, this is near of its two famous skyscrapers: the John Hancock Tower and The Prudential Tower, which the Bostonians affectionately call "The Pru" and it is even possible to up to the top floor for an incredible 360º view of the city at the Skywalk Observatory at 50, which makes it the highest observatory or viewpoint in all of New England, there is also a museum with part of the history and curiosities of Boston, I had the opportunity to go up and hallucinated is Incredible!, although is not free but it is worth doing, but from this visit I will speak to you in a next post.

The John Hancock Tower

The Prudential Tower

The entire financial center is strategically designed to withstand the strong winter that hits this northern city of the United States of -17ºC, this is remarkable to see how its main buildings and shopping centers are connected by fully enclosed walkways with heating, besides connecting with other buildings in other streets, it allows us to have a nice view of the street we are crossing. So it is not difficult to move, at least in this area during the winter.  

Here it is possible to do everything without having to go out into the cold of the street, since even one of the subway stations are within this architectural complex, you can find everything from the most luxurious shops, to restaurants, supermarkets, banks, jewelers, food courts, you can really find everything without having to load endless layers of clothes because it enjoys a divine heating temperature.

However there are always adventurers who want to risk walking in the winter and even without knowing the city, if among those I am included because exactly that I did once toured part of the complex. My recommendation is: many layers of clothes or have thermal coats and a map, it can be with our friend Google maps or a physical map, since all the streets are very similar so it is easy to get lost.

On leaving you can find many British or Irish pubs, hotels, shops and a very British architecture, also highlight 4 beautiful places, it is the Boston Public Library, the Church of the Trinity, the Old Church of the South and Copley Square.

 The Old Church of the South

The Trinity Church

The Boston Public Library

I always like to visit churches, I believe that each one has a very different and beautiful energy, besides that there is that belief that every time you enter a church for the first time you must ask for 3 wishes that will be fulfilled, I do not know if it is true , but I did it when I remembered. Although I did not know these beautiful churches I was able to enter the Boston Public Library, which is free to access, read a book and have a nice time inside it, I was shocked with how beautiful and huge it is. is and I have another curious fact (yes, Boston is full of curious facts that make it a pioneer city of the United States in many areas), this is the first Public Library in the United States, currently the third largest in the country and have more than 15 million books, you can imagine how imposing it is and if not, see these photographs and feel like in a real movie like me.

Source

I admit that I spent a few hours impressed by the beauty of its interior and the amount of books and even people of many nationalities, that multiculturalism fascinates me, however when leaving the Public Library came the best part of that day: walking in the street under an authentic snowfall that I could not pass to taking many photos and videos and I even dared to ask a Japanese man the favor of taking a picture to me to remember that moment of my first snow.

Tell me what do you think of this beautiful city, have you ever had the opportunity to visit it? Although I had almost 3 weeks in Boston I missed a lot to know, I hope to return soon, but for now I will share much of my experience during this trip, such as my visit to many museums, walks to incredible places and a lot of snow, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.


Hugs! 

You can find me in the networks and we continue sharing 

INSTAGRAM   |   TWITTER   |   PINTEREST   |   BLOG



Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 01:54:08
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 76.70/100.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That looks like fun! Hope you had a good time

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Very nice pics!! I really enjoy watching it... dont lost my las post, the second part of trip!

A really cool journey! Thanks for giving so many details about the trip, felt like I was there too :)

Wow! Thank you so much!
I am glad that you liked :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59