VISITING A SKYSCRAPER IN BOSTON | USA

in #travel6 years ago

Hello friends of Steemit, today I bring to you a new post from the trip I made to Boston in 2013, which was full of adventures and a huge list of news for me, like my first time in the snow or know a real skyscraper I even go up to his last floor, adventure of which I want to tell you next.

The city of Boston is full of extremely tall buildings, hotels, restaurants, museums and many people who keep the city active at all times no matter what season of the year it is. I had the opportunity to visit one of those big buildings, although the truth was that it was not just a big building, it was a real skyscraper, even though I have seen some of these big buildings in other cities, I had never had the opportunity of going up to the last floor! and let me tell you that if you suffer from dizziness it is a total adventure that may end up eliminating your fear or increasing it, in my case I enjoyed it immensely.

The skyscraper that I met was the iconic Prudential Tower that stands out within the financial district of Boston, this beautiful tower although it is not the only skyscraper today, was the first to be built in Boston in 1960 becoming the tallest building in Boston until the year 1976, and was even considered the tallest building in the US outside of New York until 1969. It currently ranks 2nd as the tallest building in Boston, surpassed by its neighbor John Hancock Tower with 60 floors. Both towers seem beautiful to me, although it is only allowed to climb the Prudential.

Prudential Tower, Boston

John Hancock Tower, Boston

The Prudential Tower is not simply an enormous office tower that can be accessed by paying a ticket, it is a complex that includes everything from gardens to shopping centers with the best restaurants and shops, banks, hotels and even connections with other buildings, but not only that, it also has direct access to the main means of transport such as the Amtrak, a train with which it is possible to travel to neighboring New York or the underground subway. It is an outstanding building of Boston and a must for all its visitors.

However, you are probably asking: How many floors does this beautiful tower have? it has 52 floors, in the latter there is an incredible restaurant. But if you want to have a 360º view of the city and access to an interactive museum with some of the history and curiosities of Boston, you should go up to Silver 50 where the Skywalk Observatory is located, it is the highest observatory or viewpoint in all of New England and It is an incredible visit that I recommend 100%.

The Skywalk Observatory is amazing even before being there, because for those who have not been in such tall buildings, as was my case, enter the different elevators and find the immense amount of floors through which you have to pass until you reach lastly, it can be quite an adventure, considering that the waiting time is not the typical time we are used to expect in a 10-story building, however despite climbing 50 floors I must say that I was quite impressed with the speed of the elevator.

When arriving the first thing that impacts is the view of the city, since the whole plant of the observatory is an incredible viewpoint where you can see prominent places of Boston, buildings and more, also to enter the workers and guides of the observatory gave me a device that It served as a guide in the visit, since each window had a specific place that could be seen, so with the guide recorder that give us to enter we can hear in all languages ​​part of the history and curiosities of many emblematic places of Boston while we see it from above. Is not it amazing?.

Without doubt one of the most impressive views from the Skywalk Observatory is from the neighboring tower, it is the John Hancock Tower, it is amazing to see this huge tower right in front of our eyes and see how the colors of its infinite windows reflect the sun and they accompany the color of the sky and the sea in the background.

I was also very impressed to see the incredible Charles River frozen almost entirely, I tell you that this river is the one that separates the city of Boston from the city of Cambridge, where the main educational centers of the city and the country are, as is the case of Harvard and guess what: I was also in this emblematic place that I will tell you about later.

We can appreciate especially the colors that stand out in the city, the snowy roofs and that architecture of English court with its small buildings, earth colors and heating on the terraces, it is a wonderful sight that also depending on the time of day it is possible to see the shadow of the whole Prudential Tower over the city, imagine the height and the imposing sight of that scene, of course so that those who suffer from vertigo must be very extreme, I personally enjoy every minute in the Skywalk Observatory.

 The Skywalk Observatory not only enjoys the most incredible guided views of the city, also inside there are spaces that function as a gallery or interactive museum, where we can read from the most practiced sports in Boston, its gardens, its history and even the influence of immigration in this city, also many of these categories have interactive panels where we can test how much we know about a specific topic after the readings and explanations in the video room, where videos related to the history of Boston are reproduced , there are also other rooms destined to the purchase of souvenirs. I share below part of the interior of the observatory:

What do you think? The truth is that climbing the Prudential Tower goes beyond enjoying a great view, we can have a nice time and also learn a lot.

Finally I want to tell you about the price, if you buy the ticket in the same Skywalk Observatory the cost for adults is $ 20 per person, however I did not do this and that is what I want to recommend: I bought the Boston CityPass that allowed me not only enjoy this nice visit in the Prudential Tower, but also has the entrance to the New England Aquarium, the Museum of Science and the Harvard Natural History Museum, you will think that this pass is very expensive and the truth who decide to go to the tourist places of the city using this method can save almost 50%, since the pass has a value of $ 59 per person and can enter 4 different places, of not using this pass the tickets in all the tourist places are between $ 15 and $ 20, I think that for those who want to know several places in the city is a fantastic option to take and save.

Tell me what you think of this visit, have you ever climbed to the top floor of a skyscraper? I must admit that at first the idea scared me a little, but seeing that great view and walking through all the interesting and historical data panels of the city made me forget that little scare I felt in the elevator. I hope to return soon and climb again to this beautiful tower, for now I will be sharing more trips of this beautiful trip to Boston, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Hugs!   

You can find me in the networks and we continue sharing.     

INSTAGRAM | TWITTER | PINTEREST | BLOG 


More posts of my trip to Boston: 

MY FIRST TIME IN BOSTON DURING THE WINTER | USA

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 21:13:05
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 102.10/200.00
Total Photos: 19
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

nice photos, i would love to see boston one day :) thanks for showing us aroudn there !

Thank you!
Yes, definitely you must go to Boston one day :)

Awesome work! Photos couldn't have been better!

Thank you so much!
I´m glad that you liked! :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48