Filipina Travel Guide #12: Reef & Wreck Island Hopping (Tour-C) Coron Palawan Philippines

in #travel7 years ago

Coron is a group of islands located off the northern tip of Palawan Island Philippines. You can travel to Coron from Manila by boat but we recommend flying. You can also get to Coron by taking a ferry from El Nido Palawan.

Reef and Wreck tour consist of three destinations: 1. Pass Island, 2. Sangat Coral Garden, 3. Lusong Gunboat (Japanese Shipwreck). This island hopping tour cost 1500 pesos ($29) per person.

Tour Inclusions:

  • Boat Transfer
  • Life Vest
  • Lunch (Buffet Style) with Complimentary Fruit
  • Drinks and Snacks
  • All Entrance Fees
  • Tour Guide

aa1.jpg

We booked our first island hopping tour at Dream Travel & Tours but we are disappointed how they make us transfer to three different boats. We decided to choose Nice in Paradise travel and tours for our second tour in Coron Palawan.

nice (2).jpg

We booked Tour B (Best Beaches in Coron) but they came to our room this morning to inform us that the coastguard cancel all Tour B because of the high winds and waves in that location. It nice them to come to let us know ahead of time they give us option to re-booked and were going to try Tour C (Reef & Wreck Island Hopping).
This travel and tours has their own boat dock area. Their tour agency has color coordinated green boats. Less hectic even in cancellation because of their private boat dock.

q2.jpg

q1.jpg

The dock is a short 3 min walk from the tour agency up on the main street. The same path going to La Sirenetta Restaurant. It nice that they have their own boat dock. Their boat is less noisy so it won't irritate you during the trip. We had a very loud boat in Bohol and it made it very hard to enjoy the tour.

q3.jpg

q4.jpg

We started heading around 9AM after the boat man drop off the coastguard manifest. It's definitely windy and has a big waves. It nice to sit in front of the boat very relaxing but the big wave splash me and push me off my seat so I just sit at the back in the normal seating area for my safety.

cma (2).jpg

c7 (2).jpg

q5.jpg

On the way to Pass Island you can see some resorts that you can actually drive to from the main island of Busuanga. There's a lot of fish farms never seen so many, in two hours we drove to fish farms an hour of it. The boat ride took almost 2 hours half of it driving past fish farms to our first destination.

q6.jpg

q7.jpg

Pass Island

Pass Island is one of the best island in Coron Palawan. Has a beautiful island with white fine sand, crystal clear blue water. It's a slice of paradise which offers basic amenities, a stunning seascape. Gorgeous place for picnic.

q24.jpg

cc2.jpg

cc5.jpg

q26.jpg

They have a water well for fresh water and a pump set up. I saw some of them in El Nido also. On the way to the view deck we saw some cashew nuts. It's my first time to see cashew trees never tried the ripe cashew but I love the nuts.

a1.jpg

q11.jpg

While waiting for the lunch we decided to walked to the view deck just a short walk up a small hill. Stunning view and abundant sea life. We're surprised nobody else was here. The shallow water is amazing how I wish they have Kayak to explore the whole island.

q30.jpg

q10.jpg

q8.jpg

On the way to snorkeling spot we saw abandon path that haven't maintain anymore catch our attention to take a look. It comes with a little stairs which nobody else found. It's opposite side of the island where the boat landed and snorkeling spot.

q32.jpg

q12.jpg

q14.jpg

The layer rock formation looks interesting so I walk there to see whats behind this beautiful bending rocks its weird but pretty cool. If your planning to explore and likes to do some adventures be prepared and wear aqua shoes to protect your feet from the rocks. I don't think the tour guide let you walk through this rocky beach its not safe because its slippery but I don't want to waste the chance to explore the island.

q34.jpg

q33.jpg

q35.jpg

The snorkeling area is fantastic with blue water. Colorful corals are beautiful with some starfish and different fishes. Not a lot of visitors know that this is where you can find big clams. I saw Nemo triplets in one anemone it looks like they are dancing and its so cute.

aaa4.jpg

nemo (3).jpg

aaa1.jpg

q17.jpg

The two hours boat ride, the exploring and snorkeling will make you feel hungry. The lunch are chicken, crabs, grilled fish, seaweeds and some fruits. This lunch is one of the thing I've waited in this island hopping because I love seafood. Compared to the previews lunch I had this lunch is good specially to those who loves seafood's like me. They have buko (coconut) juice for 50 pesos. While eating we spotted a couple of hungry and friendly puppies and kitties.

aaa2.jpg

aaa3.jpg

After the lunch you can relax for a couple minutes. You can do snorkeling or sunbathing. They have some shades to those who wants to hide their skin out of the sun. You can walked around the beach. There is an overnight place to stay, some huts for rent or a tent but you need to bring your own supplies, food, water and etc. I wish I tried to have overnight here to wake up to this beautiful beach in the morning is a stress reliever and so relaxing.

q20.jpg

q38.jpg

q43.jpg

Screenshot (540).png

Sangat Coral Garden

After staying for two hours at Pass island we are now heading to next destination the Sangat Coral Garden. Going to Coral Garden took 30 minutes.

cma2 (2).jpg

Sangat Coral Garden is where you can see the large corals. I recommend to wear life vest because sometimes it has a strong current. I can swim well but I like to wear life vest to enjoy watching the corals without kicking my feet too much. The last time I went on snorkeling I swallow water to avoid stepping on the corals while I'm fixing my mask and its low tide.

q46.jpg

q47.jpg

q48.jpg

Lusong Gunboat

After 40 minutes of swimming and snorkeling we head to our next destination the Lusong Gunboat.

q49.jpg

The shipwreck is one of the Japanese Ships in World War II. The Lusong Gunboat is visible at the surface during low tide so it is a perfect wreck for Open Water divers. Marine life around the ships is very rich and even snorkelers can enjoy the wreck. I saw the shipwreck in a distance from our boat. It has a strong current during this time so they gave us a couple minutes to see the wreck. I take the chance to see it very close.

q50.jpg

q52.jpg

q51.jpg

Going back to Coron has a strong wind than this morning and a big waves. It is advantage to those who have waterproof bag to keep everything dry. For like an hour on the boat the waters splashing every minute that keeps you wet at the same time its windy that makes me cold. But we're not scared because we know our boat is on good condition.

q53.jpg

q21.jpg

We stopped for awhile because the boat hatch cover keeps on opening from the waves where the water goes inside the boat. They take the water and we continue head back to the Coron town. The waves are exciting but be careful on your things specially slippers because it will flow away. Our tour guide lost his slipper (flipflops:).

q56.jpg

Screenshot (542).png

cma3 (2).jpg

I hope this post helps you for your future travel plans.
Thank you for clicking and reading.
Please don't forget to:

UPVOTE

COMMENT

RESTEEM

Your one click can change the life of someone.

You can visit my other Travel Guide posts here @filipinalife and follow me for the updates.

Thank you Steemians.

Travel Pa More :)

Sort:  

Ahah the green flashy boats! 💚
Beautiful pictures 😍 thank you!

Congratulations @filipinalife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Excellent! I love the Philippines----have been there six times. Voted up and followed.

i am from the Philippines too! And as I read your blog, it made me proud thinking I am a Filipino blessed with beautiful places surrounding me. As I go along your masterpiece and seeing those alluring scenic pictures you took I felt 'goose-bumps' in me! Now I wanted to go to Coron Palawan ASAP!LOL And BTW! you're so sexy! ;) great blog! keep it up! looking forward to more contents like this from you! God bless!

Yes I am proud also Philippines is really beautiful .. Thank you so much.. yes i am working for my next post...

i'll be waiting :) and for the meantime when I have free time i'll check your other blogs. your a great writer :)

thank you.. Its actually my weakness or fear to write English easy at school before, I just recently face my fear when I start steemit .. And I made it..
Thank you so much.. :)

very detailed post. Were you a writer in college or high school? You are very good at writing your posts.. very intrigued by your blog about your travels .

I just learn it when I start my Youtube channel and steemit and doing my best...


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Hey there. some more good stuff here.. very informative. i liked the pic of nemo and his friend the best. :)

Yes I love the nemos also .. they have a video looks like dancing but I don't know how to put small videos in here..

Incredible Pictures!!
Really amazing * _ *

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69