You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem-Hikers at Þingvellir - Anarchy at the Borderline of Europe and America!

in #travel6 years ago

I wish history recorded the why behind the major armed conflict between clans. Didn't some great injustice happen, and the leaders at the time were corrupt? I thought I remember it being something like that, so people stepped up to end their corruption.

The same concept should work today. Perhaps blockchain technology will allow for better accountability and make corruption more difficult to grow. Then such leaders would be more easily removed and more quickly too.

Thanks for your excellent write up about the trip and the significance of the place. I wish Iceland had more forest, and then I'd consider going there to live. I just can't leave behind the mountains (fresh water) and forest (everything to sustain life indefinitely).

Sort:  

I wish history recorded the why behind the major armed conflict between clans

I think there may be some details of this conflict somewhere, but I haven't try to dig deeper into this subject.

The same concept should work today. Perhaps blockchain technology will allow for better accountability and make corruption more difficult to grow. Then such leaders would be more easily removed and more quickly too.

That's my dream too, and I think as we see more and more freedom and decentralized power (tyrannies -> feudalism -> democracy -> direct democracy ???) we'll see systems like that emerging in few places in the world and finally dominating it! Propably not in our lifetime though ;)

Direct democracy? HoA's don't even work. I don't want majority rule. I want rules, based on reason and proper ethics, to be the norm instead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73