Are We Wasting Our Vacation Time By Constantly Posting To Social Media?

in #travel5 years ago

I came across a sponsored fluff piece (paid marketing post) for a flight tickets booking website on the similar topic as this post but it really got me thinking about the reality of this topic!

beach-1236581_1280.jpg

I love traveling and have been at it for half my life now, covering my country extensively and many good parts of 22 other countries over the years. But for the most part of it I just traveled not worrying too much about pictures, videos or the need to update thousands as I go.

Things have clearly changed now. People love to consume content and people love to generate content for the same reasons and many others. But have we ever thought about how much of our time might be getting wasted during out limited days of vacations when we do are constantly on social media making updates during our travel.

It's probably hard to quantify, most of the time during my recent travels I was busy enjoying it and soaking it all in. I would generally think of updating my family and friends on Facebook by sharing 5-10 pictures on a regularly basis.

In my case, I usually did this when I was in a bus or a train or waiting for a flight so that I didn't miss out on much, especially if I didn't have any new company to talk to or spend time with. However there have been times when for some weird reason I too have been consumed by social media in the midst of my travels. Luckily it's not a recurring issue.

But everyone values different things and for some being on social media constantly is also a necessity. Especially for some vloggers who earn their income from being on social media platforms all the time and making constant updates to keep their audience engaged.

But has it ever crossed your mind that you might be wasting precious time on a journey that you may never get to undertake again in your life. It's not often that we get to revisit places and things that we loved because there's so much else to experience in this world and it's hard to say sometimes if we'll ever get the same opportunities again.

Do you have any opinion on this? Lemme know in the comments below.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #75

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

I recently went on vacation and was blogging. When you are hiking, exploring, doing whatever, generally you are tired later in the day and need a few hours to relax. Unless you are a party animal or a cat darkness is lousy for sightseeing. In many countries it's dark after 6pm and things are closed. It's a good idea to stay in safe areas or at home and wake up with the sun. You can watch TV, read a book, chat or blog. Sometimes you are a passenger in a vehicle, there's time to blog, or waiting at an airport, or the weather is lousy... All great times to blog.
Storing photos on the blockchain is much better than on Facebook, you of all people know this. Blogging for me is fun not work. Steem is a great to log parts of your vacation as it happens. I can't sit idle for a few days and do nothing. I've been to over 30 countries, have literally been around the world a few times and wish Steem were around for all of it.
That being said, some people make a dozen posts about their drunken week in Mexico and it's quite pathetic to see. Keep it classy and interesting. You're welcome to take a look at my past ten blogs about my recent trip. Let me know if you think these are shit posts or generally helpful and insightful posts sharing culture with humanity. Yes, I spent hours blogging and still had an amazing time. Recording the best moments at night help me reflect upon the greatness of the day.

Tough question but answer is yes. After vacation we can post in social media too.

My answer : I never waste my vacation time posting on social media as last 3 days I was in a small trip to Diu (Goa of Gujarat) and not even seen my whatsapp ;) during my visit.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Life is a journey I've taken on my vacation to planet Earth. I'm trying to consume as much as I can during my stay here!

Do what appeals you more! Everyone has different priorities.

...yes we are ...more often than not....producing an enormous amount of uninteresting banal pictures..but still..it's not just this, or at least not always ....there is some value in this visual frenzy, because taking pictures is a nice sport -like, game - like, activity that can get us in touch with all that surrounds as, get us to look and investigate the world in search for an interesting picture.

I usually just share photos, videos, etc. after a vacation. In a way photography is just a fun hobby hobby I incorporate into vacations.

Generally we are not living here at the moment, when we are at some good places or events we neither be there nor be enjoying it fully. There is an urge to share things in SMedia. At which point our time becomes lifeless media things, photos, videos etc. Total waste of time, not enjoyed the place soulfully, and those who see the photos just see them and go for other posts. What is the use? Keep away the urge to share every thing what you see. You will share only pics and vids. First enjoy fully, immerse in it, which cannot be shared and which is the real purpose. Spare some time without any urge to share in SMedia, if possible. No one is going to get goosebumps on seeing your adventure trip photos, only you have to enjoy it, content it.

Blogging on social media is like post production work so you never need to waste time @firepower on your vacation for social media.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 59.15% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @firepower! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 35 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62500.50
ETH 2936.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59