FireTravels #10—Pitstop Chennai

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

20180803_151733-01.jpeg

I've been thinking of getting my US visa renewed for a long time and had kept it pending for even longer. Finally got the chance to visit Chennai with a purpose to get it done. It was going to be a quick trip.

Fly into Chennai on Monday morning. Check-In to the hotel, have a great lunch, visit the VFS office for biometrics, get more delicious food, rest up and wake up early for the interview at the Visa embassy before flying back home to Mangalore.

As someone who enjoys when plans get executed perfectly this turned out to be a great trip!

20180806_140908-01.jpeg

This time around I wanted to stay at a nice hotel and also as close to the USA embassy in Chennai as possible. Hence, I went with The Park hotel. It's located at walking distance from the embassy.

Since I cannot carry my phone or wallet with me for the interview next day I decided to choose a safe place where I can confidently store my belongings or more importantly my Macbook and my phone!

20180806_141454-01.jpeg

Room was great and it had all the right amenities need to get my work done. The internet worked great and I was set up nicely for the long evening at the desk.

I also stepped out for lunch and dinner and you can read about the incredible food I ate in my previous blog here

20180806_140957-01.jpeg

The hotel was largely peaceful and had a mix of Indians and foreigners staying. More importantly the place was packed with flight crew of the Spicejet Airline. If you ever wondered flights are expensive or why they are always looking to cut costs it's partly due to expenses of putting up flight cabin crew in 4 and 5 star hotels.

20180806_211956-01.jpeg

20180806_212017-01.jpeg

For the most part I was having a good time. Later at night I had a friend help me prep for the visa Interview. I had a list of questions I had prepared and I wanted to do mock interview. So I called up a friend and I rehearsed my responses so that I'm clear about how and what I'm going to answer the following morning.

It was late by the time I hit my bed and I had to wake up at 6am for my visa interview scheduled at 7.30 am. I will share a separate blog about the interview so that you can understand about the process if you didn't know already.

But before I slept I was keen on ordering some dessert and decided to go with the fancy sounding '
Valrhone Chocolate Gianduja Marquise.'

20180806_224238-01.jpeg

It was one of the best desserts I've had in a very long time. It was truly incredible and just the perfect end to the day and I went happy to bed to get my four hours of sleep.

20180806_224252-01.jpeg

20180806_224317-01.jpeg

Can't wait to go back to Chennai and have atleast two of these!

20180806_231119-01.jpeg

The interview went quite smoothly but that's for another post. I came back to my hotel around 8.30 am and since I had already packed up for my flight I collected my luggage and checked out. I ate my breakfast and caught my flight to Mangalore and that was the end to my trip to Chennai.

But before I end this blog post I will leave you with two pictures shot during the approach to the city where I live and how it looks from the air. Isn't it beautiful and full of greenery?

20180806_100608-02.jpeg

20180803_152720-01.jpeg


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. You Can Now Buy Your SteemFest³ Tickets!
  2. Why You Should Vote For @firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  3. Steem.Chat Contest #43

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

@firepower, I hope that you really had an effective Interview for the Renewal of your US Visa. And also hope that you had an amazing journey to Chennai.

And for sure this hotel is really awesome and it holds the Perfection Of Attraction and pictures are speaking more loudly and live essence will be more awesome.

And for sure the best part is the foodie stuff and that Dessert hold the breathtaking essence and i am sure that it gave the Deliciousness essence to your tummy.

And one more aspect is view from the plane, and for sure those pictures are talking an beautiful stories because all these scenes are beautiful to watch.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Thanks dude! :) I hope to make more posts like these soon.

Welcome, and awaiting for more stuff. Stay blessed. 🙂

Hay @firepower when few months back i joined steemit i was only seeing foreign country people weer only having the most of the steem power which made me disheartened but as i came to know about few of the big accounts like you and some other it felt so good a feeling of belongingness was going through me as we both are from India wish to meet you one day.

Posted using Partiko Android

There are a number of good users from India not in terms of SP but also in terms of content and their love for this blockchain technology and platform. :)

Even i also want to be among the few...,😅😅

@firepower hi vaiyaa! Hope you have enjoyed your flight to chennai. Its very nice to meet you ! I am sankha from kolkata, I am new in steemit, I completed my B.tech in ECE this yr and from aug,18 I have started to blog on steemit! So u can call me a newbie! After joining I was amazed to see that its network has joined whole world actively in a social nerworking site. But sadly I didn't yet find any Indian community or kind hearted people who will guide me to grow in steemit. Sunddenly today I saw your post and while reading I found that you are from India and also you are kind of ruling the steemit ! I feel really proud and thats why I am writing this huge comment! It looks like you are super busy in your personal and professional life and thats very reasonable and cool, so i dont mind if you dont read it at all, but if you do, plz leave me a comment which will be very appreciated and i will be very happy! Also if there is any chance to talk to you over discord or fb or anything i will be very grateful to chat with you. I am loving it here in steemit and want to become someone like you one day! I Hope my dream come true someday! Stay well vaiyaa and keep posting!

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steemit. I'm on Steem.Chat but I'm not very active on Discord off late as I'm prepping for some upcoming travels. Keep blogging and sharing. Good luck. :)

Tjank u ! Stay well and let the steem rise again!

Posted using Partiko Android

That hotel looks peaceful and a good environment to work in and mouthwatering dessert dude!

It was man! Totally!

Chennai is a really beautiful city and one of the most affordable metros in India

Hope to visit it :)

Post very interesting. And in addition I really like heights but I am afraid of height nehochu to fly I think this is a case aceee dangerous and risky to be on the bird's flight. My good friend has 1 he did not suggest to jump out of a plane to parachute know as much as I wanted but feared.By the way sir, your posts become interesting to me I think let those who watch me see your post I repostnul your post. @firepower

Enjoy your trip sir... Have a great day 😘😘😘

Fab Throw Pillow btw

I know right. That's the first thing that caught my eye. Loved the design!

I have never been to US and would really like to read about the interview and what questions were asked? Waiting for your next post.

Parece que la pasaste muy bien, que bueno que lo disfrutaste y lograste tu cometido.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87