The story about my trip to Europe - 7 [The Notre Dame Basilica]

in #travel6 years ago

paris-5.jpg

The story about my trip to Europe - 7

[The Notre Dame Basilica]


On 5th day, I looked around the Ile de la Cite with the Notre Dame Basilica and the Saint Louis Island next to it. Then afternoon, I rode on the Bateaux Mouches(cruise ship)! :D

5th day in Paris

_MG_9660.jpg

▲ The way to Eiffel Tower from the Palais de Chaillot

At this day, I started off early to go up to the Eiffel Tower on morning.

_MG_9661.jpg

▲ A merry-go-around across the bridge of opposite side of Eiffel Tower

_MG_9668.jpg

_MG_9665.jpg

It was beautiful and sunny day.

The couple who helped me on the way of 4th day, told me that I was lucky to be here on good day because Paris was raining until few days ago before I arrived.

BUT..... There are a lot of people who are more diligent than me.
The line was too long, so I gave up the tower and went straight for the Ile de la Cite to see the Notre Dame Basilica.

_MG_9669.jpg

▲ The bust of Gustave Eiffel who designed the Eiffel Tower

IMG_2358.jpg

▲ Fountain on the way to Ile de la Cite

I wonder what is the name of the fountain.

_MG_9694.jpg

▲ Sainte-Chapelle

This chapels is decorated with the most beautiful stained-glass in the world.
It was built in the era of Louis Ⅸ, to hold the sacrificial crosses and crucifixes that Jesus used and completed in 1248.

_MG_9703.jpg

▲ stained-glass of Sainte-Chapelle

Unfortunately, the left side was being repaired, so I was able to see only the right side.

_MG_9716.jpg

▲ The Statue of Jesus from terrace of chapel​

_MG_9719.jpg

_MG_9720.jpg

_MG_9723.jpg

▲ Wall sculpture seen by the side of the Statue of Jesus

The story of the Bible has been carved on the wall. It is telling so famous anecdotes that even I, who is not christian, can understand it.

_MG_9729.jpg

▲Paris court facing with the Notre Dame Cathedral

_MG_9735.jpg

▲ The Notre Dame Cathedral

When I saw the Notre Dame Cathedral for the first time, it was much more impressive than the Eiffel Tower.

Notre Dame means ‘the Virgin Mary’, so this cathedral’s name means the Virgin Mary Cathedral. It has been built for 170 years and completed at 1330. From the rehabilitation of Jeanne d'Arc, the coronation ceremony of NapoleonⅠ, many events are being held here even today.​

IMG_2366.jpg

_MG_9740.jpg

▲ 28 Jewish Kings standing on the gate of judgement of the Notre Dame Cathedral

_MG_9741.jpg

_MG_9743.jpg

▲ Inside of the Notre Dame Cathedral

_MG_9747+.jpg

▲ Left : Northern rose window / Right : Southern rose window

_MG_9750+.jpg

▲ Left : Saint Jeanne d'Arc / Right : Saint Teresa

_MG_9776.jpg

▲ Point Zero

The is the datum point to measure the distance of Paris and other city. There is a folklore saying that if you step on Point Zero, you can come back to Paris.

So I stepped on it too, but I don’t know when can I come back.

_MG_9782.jpg

▲ The Notre Dame Cathedral from Saint John XXIII Square

The front was really neat and clean, but the back was bit more complex and gorgeous.

_MG_9810.jpg

_MG_9811.jpg

I ate lunch, and in the afternoon, I headed for the Island of Saint-Louis from the Ile de la Cite.


Today's story is finished~~~ Please look forward to next story!

See you :)

To be continued


See the previous Europe post

my trip to Europe - 1 Arrived at Paris
my trip to Europe - 2 Statue of Liberty of Paris & Orsay Museum
my trip to Europe - 3 Louvre Museum part.1
my trip to Europe - 4 Louvre Museum part.2
my trip to Europe - 5 The Versailles Palace part.1
my trip to Europe - 6 The Versailles Palace part.2

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit. I've really been enjoying your series on your trip to Europe. Well done!

I am a moderator on many Discords about Photography, and follow many photographers. Please feel free to ask any questions on photography or Steemit.
Happy to help or answer in any way.

Wow~! thank you for your kindness :) If I have some questions I will~ and I'll follow you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75