The story about my trip to Europe - 9 [Montmartre Hill]

in #travel6 years ago

paris-6.jpg

The story about my trip to Europe - 9

[Montmartre Hill]


Today's post is about Montmartre Hill, my 6th day in the morning

I heard a lot that Montmartre Hill is a crime-ridden district even before I head for it.
The story about gypsies giving you bracelet and requiring money​, or pickpocketing...
I was kind of scared when I heard such stories but that day seemed okay.
But those stories ain’t came from nowhere, so those will go, please be careful!

6th day in Paris

_MG_9945.jpg

▲ 'I Love You' Wall

'I Love You' Wall at Abbesses Station. On this wall, the sentence “I love you” is written for 1000 times in 300 languages.

_MG_9946.jpg

▲ There are Korean too!

Can you find the sentences were written in Korean?

I found 3 sentences in Korean :D

_MG_9948+.jpg

_MG_9964.jpg

▲ Laundry ship which Picasso used as his workroom

Place became famous thanks to Picasso.
The nickname is Laundry ship for it is similar with laundry boat that floating on Seine River.

_MG_9975.jpg

_MG_9981.jpg

▲ Beautiful alley of Montmartre Hill

_MG_9982.jpg

_MG_9987.jpg

_MG_9985.jpg

▲ Tertre square

Tertre means top of hill, and this place is famous for artist’s hill. Here, they draw and sell their paintings.
Personally, I like the painting of the Eiffel Tower drawn by marker on canvas, but there was no one to see.

_MG_9991.jpg

_MG_9997.jpg

▲ Sacred Heart Cathedral

The cathedral is built on highest place of Paris.
Unlike the Notre Dame Cathedral, it is beautiful Byzantine style building with a rounded dome roof.

_MG_9993.jpg

_MG_9994.jpg

▲ Paris city at a glance

The weather was so good! I can even see that far distance!

_MG_0001.jpg

▲ The Eiffel Tower from Sacred Heart Cathedral dome

_MG_0008.jpg

_MG_0014.jpg

_MG_0030.jpg

IMG_2388.jpg

▲ Au Lapin Agile

The old bar of Montmartre. The name means quick rabbit​.

_MG_0037.jpg

_MG_0051.jpg

_MG_0049+.jpg

▲ Man piercing wall

People taking picture, holding hand with man.

_MG_0056.jpg

▲ Moulin de la Galette (Galette windmill)

This is one of two windmill remaining in France, built in 17th century, and is appeared in the works of Renoir and Gogh.​

_MG_0057.jpg

_MG_0060.jpg

_MG_0066.jpg

▲ Moulin Rouge

This is the venue that means red windmill.
and this place is also motif of the movie 'Moulin Rouge'.
Montmartre is the memorable place that I have been while I was traveling Paris.
Those many artists, old architectures, and the alleys reminded me of the time, the background of movie 'Moulin Rouge'.


Today's story is done~~ see you next time!

Next post will be about Champs Elysees and Arc de Triomphe :)

To be continued


Follow me >> @friiday

See the previous Europe post

my trip to Europe - 1 Arrived at Paris
my trip to Europe - 2 Statue of Liberty of Paris & Orsay Museum
my trip to Europe - 3 Louvre Museum part.1
my trip to Europe - 4 Louvre Museum part.2
my trip to Europe - 5 The Versailles Palace part.1
my trip to Europe - 6 The Versailles Palace part.2
my trip to Europe - 7 The Notre Dame Basilica
my trip to Europe - 8 Saint Louis Island, Bateaux Mouches

Sort:  

A must visit place to see Paris from a different angle.

This comment has received a 1.71 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @zekans84.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73