You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are National Borders To Keep Immigrants Out Or Tax Slaves In?

in #travel6 years ago

"Puerto Rico is still a nation."

No, it's not. You are mistaken about that as well. Why do you have that false belief? Where does it come from?
Puerto Rican culture is incompatible with mainland culture in some ways. Mexicans on the other hand get along great. I had a student and a teacher asked him "Jose, last year you used to be such a good student and so well behaved, what happened?"

"I found out I was Puerto Rican"

I was pretty shocked by that.

Sort:  

I believe you are quite confused on what a nation is...
nation.png
From Google

Incompatible in what ways? Also cultures evolve and form together, hence why Spanglish is a thing. Puerto Ricans are more likely to be capitalists than Mexicans even though they lean towards populism.

Puerto Rico is a nation like red sox nation is a nation, what it is not is a sovereign state, it is not an independent nation, it is not a country. Commonwealth basically means nothing, Massachusetts is a commonwealth as well. For example, in Puerto Rican culture its cool to play your music loud 24 hours a day, in mainland culture it is not cool.

Ethnicity is an important factor in the argument of immigration, thats my entire point in mentioning Puerto Rico and I agree it isn't a country. I agree with that statement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69471.12
ETH 3758.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83