Hero Square In Budapest

in #travel5 years ago


Heros Abound In Budapest


This shot was taken in Hero's Square, Budapest.

The photographer in the bottom right corner gives you an idea of big and impressive it is.


herosquare.JPG

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

Hero's Square is the largest square in Budapest and has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2002.

It contains an impressive statue complex which feature the Seven Chieftains of the Magyars and other important Hungarian national leaders.

A semicircled colonnade encompasses a tall column and this photo shows the right-hand side as you face City Park with statues of Hungarian kings and heroes.

We visited late in the afternoon so we had plenty of space to explore and take photos.

This we followed up with very long walk along Andrássy Avenue. It seemed like a good idea at the time, but after a very long day sight-seeing it ended up being a bit much.

Eventually we found ourselves back on the main drag where we were able to get food and then, thankfully, a tram back to our AirBnB.

After that day we learned to pace ourselves a little better! 😊

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

I was in Budapest with Victoria in January 2017, it was absolutely freezing so we didn't do much walking about. This is one of the things I don't remember seeing.

You would remember it if you saw it @seanreilly but it was quite a schlepp from the centre. 😊

Ha ha I know this feeling after slepping around in the Lake District.

After that day we learned to pace ourselves a little better! 😊

That's a pretty impressive structure. Very Romanesque in Budapest 😊

I like how you've managed to capture the photographer too. Nice touch.

One of those fortuitous moments. 😁

Stunning capture of a fascinating piece of architecture, culture and history

I remember seeing that one before, with the two people taking photos in the bottom right :-) I suppose the authorities wouldn't appreciate one climbing up by the statues for a photo op?

yes. I think you're right @fotosdenada. I think I posted it in black and white previously. 😁

It would be hard to climb on this particular statue without a ladder a think!

I didn’t even realise the scale at first glance. That does look like a great spot to visit - I like the contrast with the very blue sky behind it - it looks like a lovely day.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It was a lovely day @viruk. Thanks for stopping by. 😁

Isn't the entire city amazing? I was overwhelmed by the sheer size of it and how far everything was from each other. But, I have been there several times and I would go again.

Everything is grand and yes! Impressive! Thank you for the awesome shot! The Chain Bridge and the Parliment Building at night are my favorite sights.

Tip!

I liked the chain bridge too @dswigle and we were staying in an airbnb near the parliament Building so I took a lot of night shots there. 😁

I'm not sure if I would go back, simply because there are so many other cities in Europe I have yet to see and so little time.

Would you believe it but I have never been to Rome! 😱

And . . . thank you for the tip! 💙

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 14% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.999 which ranks you at #3581 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 3585).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 278 contributions, your post is ranked at #75.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95