Progress Statue In Budapest

in #travel5 years ago


Warrior Statue Watching Over Budapest


Whilst sorting through my photographs I found this picture of a statue that represents 'progress'. It is of a triumphant figure holding a torch and flanks the Liberty or Freedom Statue.

The Liberty Monument stands on top of Gellért Hill and overlooks the city of Budapest.

It was built in honor of the Soviet soldiers who liberated Budapest in 1945, at the end of the Second World War.

Liberty Statue Budapest

After the fall of Communism in 1989 most of the Soviet monuments and symbols in Budapest were removed. The 'Liberty Monument' is one of the exceptions, although it was subtly renamed from Liberation Monument.

Here is a shot of the cityscape of Budapest from the other side of the hill.

af2gcu8hxd.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Good thing they saved it.
We ignore the fact a part of the Netherlands was saved by Russians.
Well, the Netherlands turns out to be not a grateful country anyway if it comes to the ones who came to our help.

I like the statue. At first sight I thought it was a dancer.
☘💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I like the statue. At first sight I thought it was a dancer.

I see what you mean @wakeupkitty. It does look very graceful. 😁

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 36% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Ha! There's dyslexia for you. I read "Princess" monument.

I wonder where all of the other statues went. I know there is a park somewhere with a lot of them in it?

U+R

I can't remember seeing any particular park that had a load of statues but it's all a bit of a blue now. the different places we saw have all merged a bit in my head. 😂

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.424 which ranks you at #2147 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 10 places in the last three days (old rank 2137).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 279 contributions, your post is ranked at #140.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94