You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can’t find good content on steemit?...Get your ass to Paris and into this bookshop then!

in #travel6 years ago

I think the last time I was in a bookstore was a Barnes & Noble because my son was looking for a college football magazine that comes out once a year. Other than that, it goes back a few more years. Worst yet, I haven't been in a library for even longer.

I like books. I use them for certain things, especially where I will probably be highlighting or footnoting something. But when it comes to leisure reading, it's just as easy to buy the digital version online and store them in my Kindle app. Don't need to take up space with something I don't use so often, while having the entire library at my fingertips.

So, I guess I'm more in the digital world at this point, with at least a toe in the door of the other. Of course, if/when the EMPs ever hit, books will be back with a vengeance, so maybe I should just start picking up paperbacks on the cheap right now. :)

Sort:  

I get it, everyone's different. I listen to podcast's a lot but just can't get into the ebook thing.

It's that diversity that keeps all kinds of medium going. Printed newspapers and magazines are still around even though everything is online. Television still exists even though there's a concerted effort to bring it all online, too. Books will continue on for as long as there are enough from each new generation who finds a passion for them.

Yes, I agree.

Lucky we don't live in Ray Bradbury's world depicted in Farenheit 451.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67082.24
ETH 3475.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17