Discover Copenhagen with me #1 Introducing you to Christianshavn

in #travel7 years ago

I am so lucky, I live in one of the most pictoresque neighbourhoods of Copenhagen (capital of the tiny country Denmark), I would like to take you on a tiny evening walk through Christianshavn, I will make a Christianshavner out of you, you will get to know the nooks and crannies and the special places like a local if you follow me on my walks, just a small first look !
I hope you will like it.
One of the most prominent buildings is the church

IMG_0309.jpg

The tree by the black car is the most photographed tree in Denmark lol, as every tourist on the canal tour boats takes a snap of it ... The Church is called Church of Our Savior ( at a later point I will take you at an inside tour and give you more info), it is a big tourist attraction especially in the season where people can climb the exterior staircase for a great panoramic view of the wole city of Copenhagen ( yup ! I would totally need a horrible amount of upvotes in order to get enticed enough to take that climb... I am horrified of height ... just saying lol !) Urban legend says the architect killed himself jumping from the top of the spire, because he realised that the spiral was turning the way around ...
IMG_0312.jpg

As you can see the hollyhocks are in full bloome at this time of year ... looking beautiful and colorful with the background of the old buildings of Christianshavn
IMG_0315.jpg

and there are even poppys on the cobble streets
IMG_0316.jpg

The canals are full of boats
IMG_0319.jpg

here is the canal going to the center waterfront
IMG_0317.jpg

and the colorful buildings with the church spire in the background
IMG_0320.jpg

We saw this big beauty of a boat.. I just loved the dark wood with the cream color !IMG_0321.jpg
There are so many beautiful and unique buildings to see here
IMG_0325.jpg

and seen from across the canal
IMG_0331.jpg

On this corner we have one of the many restaurants located on Christianshavn (I will look closer at the restaurants at a later point and take you to some of them to eat ...)
IMG_0328.jpg
Færgecafeén is a more traditional danish restaurant... I have eaten here on several occasions ( I have to be honest my own cooking of traditional danish food is better ) but it is a good, decent restaurant and a good place to try some danish food ...
IMG_0329.jpg

on the opposite side of the canal from Færgecafeén, is a restaurant called Kanalen this is a very good restaurant the Chef won Best Chef in 2017.
It is clear to see that there is a very maritim feeling on Christianshavn, it was build on artificial islands in the 17th century as an extension of the fortifications of Copenhagen.
IMG_0339.jpg

and a few more pictures of a blooming evening walk
IMG_0334.jpg

The fragrance in the air was fantastic from the beautiful lavenders
IMG_0336.jpg

and this final flower explosion concludes the small evening walk ...
IMG_0341.jpg

I hope you enjoyed the walk ! I love the neighbourhood I live in and I will show you more...

giphy.gif

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit. Lovely post. Up voted.

Absolutely lovely photos :)

Thank you so much, it was a lovely evening,just perfect for a walk ! Not too hot and not too cold !

Hmm! Some beautiful sight to behold...

Thank you, yes I find myself quite fortunate to live in such a beautiful neighbourhood, it is like a tiny village in the middle of the big city of Copenhagen

Beautiful photography. I want to order some food in the Danish cafe!

Thank you so much, it's a great place for traditional food, they always have special dishes and a weekly day with the very traditional dish "Fried pork with potatoes and white creamy parsley sauce" when the weather gets a bit colder I will share my recipee and show how i make it ...Also they always have the traditional seasonal celebrations dishes !

Thanks for the tour. Denmark is one of only a few countries in Europe that I didn't get to visit while I was there. I hope I'll be able to go back to finish seeing everything that Europe has to offer. Saying that I realize that would be impossible, because there is just so much to see! Thanks again!

You are welcome,I will show you more in coming posts ... you will end up feeling like you were here, I hope ...and thank you !

Great Photos! I will make sure to visit Coopenhagen on my next visit!

Thank you, I will be posting a lot more about Copenhagen, so you will get a chance to make a list of things to see and places to go from a locals perspective , I am glad you enjoyed my first intro to the city and my neighbourhood

Great! Up-voted your post!

Looks & feels beautiful.
Thanks for posting.

Thank you so much, I am happy that you enjoyed it and found it beautiful... I love living here ! Have a wonderful day !

Thank you. You too. ☺

What a beautiful place. You are blessed to live there. And your daughter is beautiful :)

Thank you so much ... she just turned 8 ( if I remember right you daughter is 7 so they are very close in age ...

My girl will turn 7 in October. Yes, they are quite close in age.

Thank you very much... I feel lucky to live in a place that I think is beautiful !

Welcome @globaldoodlegems. I hope you enjoy here as much as I do! Nice post, I will follow your account, please follow me at @rohitrajput.

Thank you so much, I will check out your blog too !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65925.23
ETH 3003.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75