Awesome Pinball Attraction in NYC

in #travel5 years ago

Located near 3rd avenue and 27th street, this place is something I stumbled upon while looking for a street hot-dog stand (still haven't found one... WTF?) and as I was walking down the street i was like "no.... friggin... way!"


This..place...is....awesome

I have always loved pinball machines and these days they are super advanced and complicated. I remember the first time I played a game with multi-ball, it was called EarthShaker and it was at the local 7-11. I must have sunk $20 into that thing and this was a lot of money in the late 80's. After living in Asia for more than 10 years it occurred to me that I have not seen a pinball machine at all the entire time i have been there. This likely has to do with the fact that generally speaking these are American-made and I would imagine shipping them without breaking them would be a nightmare if not impossible.

Anyway, I had walked about 20 blocks and was basically at that point hoping for a subway station when i spotted this shop across the street.

The first thing that came to my mind was "I hope it isn't a sales showroom" because obviously I am not in the market to purchase a machine and the second thing was "I bet pinball machines are expensive to play these days."

The good news is that all the machines can be played as much as you want without putting any coins in. You simply pay an hourly rate. Now it starts at $15 for an hour, which seems like a lot, but then it is $2 per hour after that. If you aren't a huge fan of pinball then i would imagine you would walk away at that point. However, lets imagine that it was a dollar per game (which would be reasonable considering how advanced the machines are these days) then it is conceivable that you would spend that much in an hour anyway.

This place is frequently booked for private events and if I lived in NYC I would definitely be having at LEAST my birthday here. There are also leagues and i think that would be a very fun league to be involved in.

Modern-Pinball-Arcade-Murray-Hill-NYC.jpg

My biggest problem was deciding where to start. I played a bit of this, a bit of that and rarely even understood any sort of strategy in any of them. I did have a great time though.

If you are ever in NYC and are a fan of this dying art (I haven't even seen a pinball machine at Dave and Busters... which is terrible!) then you need to head over to this place.

For me, this was the most exciting part of my stay in the Big Apple and I may go back again tomorrow before I go out and get tanked on my last evening both in this city and the United States as a whole. I think that going to Modern Pinball has definitely been one of the best experiences of this trip so far.

http://modernpinballnyc.com/

Sort:  

"The good news is that all the machines can be played as much as you want without putting any coins in."

To be honest, I can play for $5 an hour. I mean 12 minutes for $1. It is doable. But hey, this is New York. It is a great concept. And then it is $2 per hour after the first one. So that is a great deal!
Awesome find.

you are a better pinball player than I am. haha. I love it though. I am going back there again today.

Dude, that's great. I will definitely visit this place before dying ... at least try.

iloveit.gif

This place looks amazing. On my next visit to New York in need to play some Pinball machines.
Do they have the Terminator one?

i have never touched pinball machine nor played it. i would definitely like to play once in this life. thanks @gooddream . ihave become addicted to your post now.

this place seems to be good for you👍

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62