Macy's Thanksgiving Parade: I was freezing and it was super-crowded

in #travel5 years ago

I don't mean to be negative about everything, honestly. There are things that genuinely make me happy but I don't think that being in a massive crowd when the city is experiencing record-setting low-temperatures is one of the things I genuinely enjoy. :)

shutterstock_editorial_9990170w_huge-1542904774-3234.jpg
source

The parade starts at 9am and i was there at about 930, which was a great time to arrive according to a friend and he was right because there was almost no one on the train at all. Apparently, those people started arriving there a something crazy like 6am to get a good position to view the balloons. I accepted my fate and took photos from way back, which is why none of these photos are actually my own - I did, however only post pics of things I actually saw.

1064317258.jpg
source

So it was cold enough to see your breath, I didn't check the actual temperature because it didn't really matter. I already had decided I was going to go regardless. The crowds on the side of the road were 20 rows deep and the closest I got to the street was half a block. I wasn't going to try to fight the crowd to get to the front of that.

46520233_481127472410077_2606217156286742528_n.jpg

As it turns out, a friend of a friend lives right on the street the parade takes place on (pic above taken by them) and I could have just hung out at their apartment for the whole thing. I was delighted to find out this information after standing outside for hours and only giving up after i could no longer feel my hands and toes anymore.

9e74c9f471a2bb19312d2f529acda667--the-wedding-singer-tv-quotes.jpg

All in all, i would say that you are much better off watching this event on TV unless you like being stuck in massive crowds over something the TV cameras get much better positions on anyway.

This is probably not very surprising to anyone.

Sort:  

I feel for you. I hate the cold. Seeing your breath is always a bad sign. No amount of giant cute balloon characters could distract me from a chill too. Lol

I used to live near the location of a Grand Prix in Melbourne. I am experienced in the knowledge that watching it on TV is better... So unless it’s got fireworks, nothing will drag me out to a parade. ;)

yeah. since this unusually cold weather just happened to be in NYC when i was visiting i am dreadfully unprepared for it. I have only 1 Nebraska hoodie sweatshirt and I have had it on every day... the people at the coffeeshop might think i am homeless. I also have very little in the way of socks. I bought $2 gloves today but since they were $2 gloves I don't think they helped much.

When i was in Brisbane everyone kept talking about how the temp difference in HUGE between there and your place... to the point where a lot of your people vacation up in Queensland just to get away.

Yes, many like to make their way up up Queensland, especially the old folks! Meh, they are weak!! They are not like like us Melbournians who fight through 4 seasons in a day! My coping mechanism is whinging a lot.🙄

Look, it would at least be a unique holiday experience being the homeless guy instead of the tourist...😛

Totally agreed.

In my mind, these things are best captured and distilled and boiled down to the highlights to check out quickly. Being out in the public and feeling the energy of excitement is worth its weight in gold for sure.

I would rather enjoy from afar with a drink and a friend in a nice warm place.

It was a beautiful event, sir.I loved watching pokemon when I was a kid

I like to see events on TV due to huge crowd of people.

Posted using Partiko Android

Can imagine tolerating cold weather having stayed in Thailand.
At least it was sunny

I’ve always loved this parade as a kid, but I learned after suffering through my first major parade the same pro-tip you did: find a friend in whose place you can watch it from. Works for outdoor concerts as well. Your closer to this post cracked me up. No it isn’t surprising, but it’s a lesson everyone has to learn for themselves.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello! We invite you to enter Thanksgiving Gift Card Contest | 땡스기빙 기프트카드 콘테스트http://www.artisteem.com/contest/27

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97