Traveling by R.V. - now this is the life

in #travel5 years ago

I recently decided to head down the road so to speak with some people I know in their monster mobile home or R.V. (recreational vehicle.) I had never been inside one of these goliaths while they were moving ever before and I gotta say "wow." The problem is now I really want one.

45519672_319781178817670_1342795415988207616_n.jpg

This particular beast has what i perceive to be, all the bells and whistles. As you can tell from the photo, it is massive - i would imagine it has the same chassis as a bus and from what i could tell it actually has a stronger suspension and more tires. When parked, two sections of it extend away from the motor-home to further enlarge the size of the living room, kitchen, and also bedroom. However, i did not sleep in it, but rather just hung out while we were going down the road. I sat up front and talked to the owners for the most part but I could have been sitting a number of other places or even lying down in a full-size bed :)

45543115_171622477119912_6401575130358611968_n.jpg

These people I know travel all over the country and get to stay in some pretty awesome places that would normally cost a lot of money for hotels or would involve staying in a tent. Some would say it is kind of like cheating at camping but whatever man, i think i would prefer the comfort even if a bit of judgement comes along with it. It can't really be seen as "saving money" on accommodation since these things can cost well over $100,000, but I can certainly relate to why someone would want one.

45453384_286297501992547_2719150602620764160_n.jpg

You may recall earlier I wrote about how great the Elk's Lodge was to be a member of and these folks told me that they frequently stay in the parking lots at an Elk's and their membership with the organization entitles them to do so for free.

The only downside that I could think of as far as one of these things is concerned is that it is enormous, and this couple were towing a full-size Jeep behind the RV as well - therefore you must be very careful when driving it. Furthermore, you definitely do not want to end up in areas with a bunch of traffic, because you are likely not going to be able to move / park without assistance. I was just a passenger so I didn't need to worry about such things.

Obviously it consumes a bunch of gas but after just one trip in this machine, I can say for sure that I really want one. Now I just need to figure out where I am going to get a hundred thousand dollars from. :)

It is my understanding that many countries allow for the rental of an RV (perhaps the USA does, i've never looked) and this seems like a wonderful way of seeing an entire country. If you have ever done that, i would be interested in hearing about it because I think I see such an adventure in my future.

Sort:  

Did you ask your friend about insurance?

ooh yeah, i bet that isn't cheap. also i would imagine there is a special type of driving license requirement because that thing is nothing like driving a car.

according to him to own one the insurance is no different than a car (as far as price is concerned) and you do not need a commercial license to drive one either. I'm surprised about that last part seeing as how it is the size of a bus.

It would Be cool to hit the road in one after retirement. I’ve met several clients of mine that have sold their homes after retirement, took the money from that and financed one of those bad boys. They put all their stuff in storage and off to see America the beautiful!

I don’t think I’d like to wash the thing, clean the thing, cook in the thing, put gas in the thing, drive this thing, or park the thing. Maybe I would hire a driver??

These RV’s are awesome in side. Nicer than some homes. Maybe you can save up your Steem for a few many years. Or wait for Steem to rocket again and cash some out. Or sell a Kidney. Obviously it’s your choice. Lol.

all great ideas for financing, especially the selling of internal organs. I helped wash this one, it took about as long as i would imagine washing 20 cars would take :) haha

I bet your arms were like jello and you got totally soaked. That's a lot of surface area!

yes, thankfully he had some tools to help get to the hard to reach places but standing on top of it was a bit tricky because you know, soap is slippery.

it's pretty long
good luck with parking :)

it can be a bit of a nightmare in a parking lot. Apparently if you are towing a car it is nearly impossible to back up so yeah, don't do that.

Mostly i have planed a trip with friend in cool areas travelling by bus.I really like bus travelling.and so enjoying with friends.Big bus big seats comfortable travelling.This bus really to big and many facalities in it.As compare to pakistani buses this bus is so luxury.And looks so great.Thanks for sharing this great experience.

I have not traveled in one of these great monsters, but if I have done it by car, travel by car and know several cities, it gives you the possibility to choose the landscapes you want to see and enjoy it as long as you can. I love the adventure of traveling by car and concoing many cities.
Definitely it must be a great adventure to travel in this beautiful mosntruo so big, with all its comforts, an unforgettable trip.
Good energy.

That is a huge RV! You can get drivable RVs that work just as well but are smaller, easier to drive, and far less expensive. I would love to someday wander the country in one.. Perhaps in many years down the road when we retire lol.

yes, this one is huge. There are many other smaller options for sure. :)

@gooddream wow man! I really like that RV! I only see RV in movies and tv series. Like the one in scooby-do ! Haha!
That van has a pretty big room inside.. Better than a small home man.. You can ride n park anywhere u want... On a fishing trip or in the woods. Perfect vehical for tours... No need to find motels. You have ur house riding with u, right? 😅😅

stay happy and keep posting. 😋

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing your adventure with us. I guess you enjoy your time. I never knew there is something like recreational vehicles

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Some dreams can only be true in some other parts of the world I imagine. This one is unattainable for me... Let's talk security more than anything, insurance, dealing with corrupt officers on the road, bad roads... Should I go on? I better not! Sigh.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95