Camino de Santiago

in #travel5 years ago

Camino del Norte, day 1: Irun - San Sebastian

First day on the Camino del Norte, the coastal route of the Camino de Santiago. I started this journey on the 30th of July.

I set out from the albergue (pilgrim's hostel) in Irun before sunrise and, after climbing the first hill, I could admire the spectacular views of the ocean. It was a beautiful summer day, and the trail continued along the top of the ringe.

vhlj5vrl41.jpg

iqgkqboyil.jpg

v481u12y4b.jpg

Next part of the hike included a steep descent to the town of Pasaia and a ferry ride to the other side of the river. After a short break I continued walking towards San Sebastian. The second part of the day's path led through a forest and was quite popular not only among the pilgrims but also local residents.

19gbrdb0cw.jpg

mfmzj96kxp.jpg

After 26 kilometers hike I was extremely happy to see the beautiful city of San Sebastian and the enormous Playa La Concha. I decided to stay in an albergue donativo, which was just a short walk from the beach. After checking in I did a little walking tour around the city and enjoyed the rest of the day on the beach.

fspw81hib1.jpg

It was a perfect first day on the Camino!

gmy19tqhlq.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70