Digital Nomading: Six Months, and Counting...

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

You’ve heard the story before…

IMG_1862.JPG

The unsatisfied, corporate grunt worker gives up the six-figure salary to pursue the dream of world traveling and digital entrepreneurship.

I know it’s a glamorous proposition, and for a long time, I dreamt of such a life for myself.

I even tried it a few times, only to come crawling back to my home in the United States after a max of two-months. But money wasn’t the reason I buckled twice before, rather, it was fear.

Not just the fear of money not coming in, but the fear of losing comforts, and opportunities. The fear of losing my cultural identity… but I have only now been able to admit that to myself.

So what changed?

Well, I tried a third time, having given up a lucrative six-figure contract with a tech giant in Mountain View, California, I decided to sell everything and search for that illusive truth I’d been searching for.

And now, after having been away from the United States for six-months, I can confidently say that I don’t miss it. Not only that, but even though I’m still eating from my savings account, I feel accomplished having reached this far.

So here’s what its been like:

  • I left in March of this year, 2017.
  • I spent two-days in Chiang Mai, Thailand
  • I spent two-weeks in Bangkok, Thailand
  • I spent one-and-a-half months in Chiang Mai, Thailand
  • I spent one-week in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • I spent three-months in Chiang Mai, Thailand
  • I spent two-weeks in Hanoi, Vietnam
  • I am currently in Buriram, Thailand

As you can see, I’ve spent a good amount of time in Thailand, which you may or may not know, is a very inexpensive place to live.

  • I currently pay $114 monthly rent.
  • I pay $1 to $2 dollars for a meal.
  • I pay about $0.50 for some fruit or vegetables from the local market.

In the course of the six-plus-months I've been abroad, I’ve written two books, invested in crypto, started a gaming company(work in progress) and learned about three new cultures.

Despite money not coming in as abundantly as it had before, I am still well above my savings threshold, and best of all, I don’t have to live under the Trump regime.

So what's the moral of the story?

I don't know, follow your heart and go explore the world... come what may.

IMG_5813.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @han108! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60