I quited job to start travelling. How crazy it is. ♨️♨️♨️

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever made an insane decision in your life? Have you ever regreted about it? Well, I have just made one. I quited my job (which I trully love and feel passionate about) to prepare for my South America Trip. Now it is still messy a bit with visa stuffs but I have not regreted yet.


29D734FB-F26D-442B-AAA9-E12AC28B9161.jpeg


People wonder how crazy I am?

It is easy to say “do it”. Yea. I made that decision within 5 minutes and then carried out 1 week later, about arranged my job and asked for the allowance of my boss.

Nothing is as easy as saying “do it”. But it was really hard to get acceptance from others. I’m living in Vietnam, and I’m going to travel South America. Such a huge distance. And there is even no any flight from Vietnam to South America directly. You can imagine how my parents feel about that crazy idea, right? Everyone looked at me like crazy. They kept asking me whether or not I was kidding. From my boss, my colleagues, my friends, my family,... Nobody understands my situation, only the few who did the same before, and I actually feel like an alien in an environment where I have spent all my life. It is like loosing my identity. Not joke, I felt like emotionally raped.


South-America.jpg

Source


How did I do it?

I admit that it was not easy as I thought. It needs to be planed thoroughly. But I was lack of preparation. If there are not someones help me, I think I could not accomplish it.

There were not all worries like: how to avoid every trouble with visa stuff, will the journey be safe, will the saved money be enough, will I ever find a job again? My life have been planned for: “Get a job. Go to work. Get married. Have children. Follow fashion. Act normal. Save for old age”. Daring to break out the normal live pattern that I have been educated to comply with all my life is a massive shock to my comfort zone. Fortunately I can find a lot of encouragements from someones who have gone through all this before and feel I’m not alone on this planet. I carried out step by step with a great support from my friend. I noted every experience from travelling blog. Concentrated on myself and believed in my decision.

I also had to sacrifice somethings. Firstly is my career. Probably, if I stayed with my law firm and kept accumulating work experience, then my career path would be better. Or, if I stayed with family in my hometown, my parents might bring for me some guy to get maried, settle down and have a peaceful life. If I kept saving that money which I decided to spend for my trip, I might have a full life. But it was only my choice, and there is no perfect ones. I think it is worthy to sacrifice something.


inca-960400.jpg

Machu Picchu - The First in my Bucket list
Source


Someones blame me that I’m being irresponsible. No. I am taking responsibility of my own life. I believe that the most valuable resources in the world is time and the most priceless thing in our life is experience. I’m investing for myself. It will be an amazing and meaningful experience I may not get a second chance at. It maybe hard, but always possible and absolutely worth it, right?


Should you do the same thing?

I dont know but I believe that you should do what you want to do, desire to do rather than what others or society expect you to do. However, as I was mentioning before, it needs to be well planned. If you really want to do it, think about the worse case that can happen to you and then decide whether you could handle it and it is worth giving it a chance or not.

Ask all the opinions to all the people around you, but make sure that your last decision is going to be your own only. Also be reassured that whatever decision you take it will the the perfect for you in that moment. Therefore no regrets whatsoever.


Intrepid-Travel-Peru_MachuPicchu_Traveller_Sungate_02.jpg

Source


What are you going remember?

Instead of finding opportunities, people often tell themselves, 'I don't have money', 'I don't have time', 'I have too many responsibilities', and so on. If you really want to do something, you'll make plans, not excuses. Nobody cares about the reasons you didn't do something but you. You will keep asking yourself about why you did not do it? When you look back on your life, what are you going to remember? Are you going to regret about letting your life passes gradually without any highlight?


Awn. Anyway, I did decided and I’m going to accomplish it. It maybe hard, but always possible and absolutely worth it. I believe that.


By: @hanggggbeeee

Sort:  

Well done very brave and congrats i hope to do that i have my own travel list for when bit Coin Hits $100,000 you should check it out and let me know if you have any ideas follow me and follow you on your on your journey Thanks https://steemit.com/travel/@newmarket65/my-bit-coin-bucket-travel-list-part-11

haha. hope u can accomplish that bucket list. I wonder when BTC will hit 100k haha.

Thanks i have Vietnam on my list looking forward I think 2021 is when i think it will happen

Thats so cool @hanggggbeeee!!! You did what you decide is the best for your life. You are willing to risk the short term anxiety and challenges for a long term growth and fulfilling experience.

Please blog about all your travels! People will wanna see your progress and how your visa issues pan out.

Please help me thank your mentor who had inspired you to take this leap of faith. What you're doing is sure to inspire more to do the same. Now literally quit their job and atravel halfway across the world... But to live life on their own term and take a leap to do something that will "ROI" in life experience and fulfillment .

I hope that is a judicious decision. haha. now everything is still messy with visa stuff. you know, I am vietnamese. My country is considered as "third world", that is why trouble keep popping out with me.

Go out of my coutry, open eyes, open mind. That experience will be more valuable than any degrees or certificate. Ill share about my journey for sure. Hope u keep seeing my blog. :))

Thank you ^^

Dear @hanggggbeee, thank you for sharing your story.
I am from South America (Brazil), if you need any advices from there, let me know.
I remember when I decided to go study in Australia and do a Eurotrip. My family was all excited saying how brave I was.
In my mind, they were the brave ones for accepting the life they had. I was just unsatisfied and in search of more.

And by the way. Don't let your family choose someone for you. We take the love we think we deserve. And I know you deserve the best, and only you can know who this one will be.

I'm following you. Follow me back ;)
Take care

Thank you for your comment. I feel so good when reading it ^^. I really want to go Brazil. But I failed to get Visa. Hope I have second chance to go South America then visit your beautiful country ^^

I did the same thing a few years ago. I quit a job that was paying me a small fortune to travel. So far I don't regret it.

Get ready to be uncomfortable :) Nothing great comes from comfort!

haha. I should have learned spanish from u. how uncomfortable South America is?

South America is as uncomfortable as any place that isn't home :) The discomfort comes from spending a lot of time outside of your comfort zone.

At times traveling feels overwhelming, confusing, and scary. I still get those feelings even though I've spent years traveling. The most important lessons that you will learn will be from when you overcome those situations.

Expect the first days of traveling to be very difficult. I watched this video yesterday. The man says that airplanes go too fast and your body arrives at a place, but it takes your soul several days to catch up. I don't think this is what actually happens, but it does take several days to feel normal. Everything will be different and strange. Just hang in there, you'll feel normal soon.

Yea. I worry about that. I will feel sleepy in day time and awake in midnight. lol. And you know my flight, it will take almost 50 hours to get South america. 😢😢😢

50 hours! Wow! I thought our 24 hours to Hanoi was a long time :0

so good, nice blog. You did what you decide is the best for your life

South America? It is literally opposite site from here in the earth.
Prepare well. I hope you had a good journey.
As I said, we are still young. We can do everything :D

hahaa. thanks anh. do you think that is crazy? like a vnese girl go to South America. lol

It is not crazy thing. I believe this world is small.
But prepare well :D

Yup. 😢😢😢

Keep going, but don't forget to get vaccinated for "everything." South America may sound cool, but it's home of lots of tropical diseases. You shouldn't forget to get vaccinated for yellow fever as well, and don't forget to get certificate. You will need that certificate I think.
Just a suggestion of 5th grade medicine student...

omg. how can u know every my trouble like this. I cant get vaccinated for yellow fever. it ran out here. but i need it to go Bolivia. I think I will try to get it in Peru as well

Hmm. You can get vaccinated in there too, but don't forget to learn information about those countries, some of them needs yellow fever certificate, you should add them to your list later. And if you go to Venezuela and Colombia, just be careful.

I wont go those countries. I worry about my own safety. Haha. Bolivia need it. I must go Bolivia. I need to find out health care center in peru to get that fricking vaccinated lol

I hope that your journey will be full of lessons and joy! I've seen South America once, Brasil it was. Beautifull country and open people.

Speaking Spanish and Portugese is a big pre though. Only a few pleople speak English overthere.

Upvoted and following for the travel updates.

AhoY!

yea. Spanish. I have not prepared anything thing about it yet. I need to learn right away lol. Thanks for your advice

Not crazy at all, go for it! You may have just made the best decision in your life! It's all about the experience and feeling truly alive. And you won't feel alive if your life has been planned out by something or someone else. I hope you get to have an extraordinary adventure from now on ;)

thank you. ^^

When you stray from the path that society plans out for you it can be a scary thing. Lots of people will say that you are wrong because it makes them question their own life choices in the process. I think it takes a lot of courage to follow your own path. I look forward to seeing your adventures!

hmmmmmm. tough decision but you took it nonetheless. i took same decision few years back and even moved out of town, my uncle thought i had lost my mind but i am grateful i took that major step. i am better off now. Have all the fun there is Dear. It's your life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73