Back from my travels and apart from my love. Ahhhh long distance relationships!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

DQmVS1NaPoihwxqSFhZ23oLdpGfFUYByJ6rhmiV57Yc7JCN.png

WOW! I cannot believe its been four whole months since my last post, that's CRAZY and also very lazy on my part!
(has it really been four months!?...)
wanted to post to update on what I've been doing lately!

So, our backpacking travels came to an end beginning of November. I cant really explain why, but i guess we were just missing our home comforts and decided it was time for the trip to come to an end! Autumn had well and truly kicking in, by this point we had visited 14 countries in Europe and had had the time of our lives! My boyfriends visa was about to expire and I think we both just kind of felt that it was time to go home!! So, we flew back to the UK together (as we were only in Spain). After a few days in the UK, we decided to fly out to New York, we clearly wanted to finish the trip on a high!
As we didn't travel on to Asia as planned after Europe, it seemed like the perfect compromise! We decided that after exploring the magical city of New York, we would fly home (me to the UK and Anthony to USA) we would start the visa ball rolling for me to move over to the USA!

So, that's about where we are at now really! The visa is in the hands of immigration and we are patiently waiting for my approval. This usually takes around 6-8 months, but from researching on websites and forums dedicated to USA immigrants, there is some backlog in processing right now. So it is literally a waiting game!

That means I have a lot of time on my hands! I have mostly been working and getting everything in place for when our visa approval comes through! I am off to USA to see my Anthony for three whole weeks next week and I am so excited! So far we have Disneyland and In'N'Out fast food planned! We will also have a late Valentines night. It will also be nearing my daughters 8th birthday, so i am sure we will be celebrating that at Disneyland!

Long distance isn't easy. I feel a lot more chill about it then i used to be. I've had two years of getting used to it!Even though its been hard at times, I wouldn't change my love for the world. I'm lucky that I am in a relationship with someone who is the opposite to me (even though we share a lot of the same passions for travel, photography etc) If we were two of me...oh man, the relationship would be chaos for sure! I tend to be the one that needs to be reassured and my boyfriend is the one who does the reassuring. But, for sure, I am learning the art of patience and 'when the times right it will all come together.'

My advice to anyone in a long distance relationship is-

Plan trips to see each other every few months (if this is financially feasible)

Talk to each other every single day, even if its just by text.

Call or video chat at least once a week, hearing your partners voice is just the best!

Support each other.

Keep busy! With work, school and hobbies such as blogging, reading etc.

Keep the end goal in sight. You will be together one day, keep aiming towards that!

Basically its all about communication! When you are apart, that's all you really have to keep your love going!

I will keep you updated on my visa process. I will also post an epic post about the New York trip and also catch up on Europe blog posts.
So i guess the next 6-8 months WILL go by fast! (hopefully)
Man it feels good to get back into this blogging game!

Peace Out

X

Sort:  

Welcome back @haylieonearth, time flies eh? Looking forward to your travel blogs and this some heartfelt advice right here. Great advice and thankful for skype and keeping busy with blogging! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76