My visit to Douala

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190609_182515.jpg

This weekend has been a mixed one with some awesome moments and pretty awful ones as well. I travelled to the city of of Douala to visit one of my Sisters who has not been around for a long time. It was great meeting her again after a long time and we really had some awesome moments together as a family with my two other siblings that were also around. It was a great family reunion moments and we cracked jokes, went outing and really had fun.

Then here comes the awful part of my trip to this big city. Douala is the economic capital of the country and is a populated place too. Added to that, the weather conditions here are not very favourable. It is the rainy season yet, I feel like I am being cooked in a big pot. The heat is unbearable and surprisingly, the place is infested with Mosquitoes and so people here are forced to sleep under Mosquito nets. So when you do the Maths of the whole thing, we have extreme heat plus sleeping under a mosquito net at night which is equal to an awful moment void of comfort and a good sleep.

I am someone who can easily cope with the cold but not the heat at all. The heat made my visit and stay here something I will not like to do again in the near future. I don't think I will ever willingly visit Douala unless I have no other choice. It's not been easy at all and to think of spending another night here is something I will not even want to consider. That is why deep inside I am happy I will be returning back to Bamenda today. The only sad part is that, I would have really loved to spend more time with my sister but that is not possible since I have to be in the office tomorrow too coupled with the heat.

Sort:  

To get upvote from @wafrica, the post needs at least 300 characters! Please describe your work in detail ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87