View from Chain of Craters road on Kilauea

in #travel6 years ago

This is the view from one of the overlooks on the Chain of Craters road. It's a little hazy because there was a light mist on that day. The lava flow in the distance is not the current lava flow. I mention this because these pictures made it apparent, at least to me, how destructive the lava can be. Not only did it cover whatever was in its path, but (at least from a distance,) nothing is growing back yet.

Occasionally I'll see real estate postings for houses on lava fields. Part of me wants to buy one because they're (relatively) inexpensive... and who wouldn't want a house in Hawaii. Scenes like this remind me why they're priced affordably. Still, it would be a house in Hawaii...

20180221.1.JPG

20180221.2.JPG

Sort:  

There is nary a better place in the world to recognize the importance of preserving nature's beauty than right here in Hawaii :)

Asombrosas fotos, de verdad que tu viaje fue muy lindo, me encantaría visitar un día un sitio como ese.

Missing these views right 'bout now! Nothing like Waimea and takin the back roads!

Hi
I enjoyed your pictures.
I upvoted you with great enthusiasm.

Looks like an amazing view. I wonder if they have lava insurance for houses there. I've always wanted to visit hawaii and hope to get there in the next 5years. I hear its expensive for many items there because they have to be shipped in.Do you find this to be true?

When I vacationed there it was true, from groceries to gas, all cost extra.

You received 5% of upvote for FREE from @rashley01! We upvote post for FREE to support the New Steemit author. Vote percentage is based on the Quality of the Content.
Follow me to get atleast 1 upvote on your post daily.
You can also Vote @rashley01 as your Steemit Witness

Read/Support my recent post here:
Illustation Blog:
My GRANDMOTHER smells
Photo Blog:
Chasing Pavements
How to love a man
Support me in Photo Contest:
Washington Dc Cherry Blossoms
Lights of Busy City
Untitled-3.gif

That's one nice view. Hawaii is really beautiful place. Thanks for the great work @hilo.

My friend you have a great post and pictures .I feel simply glad to peer this nature of photography.Thanks for sharing. Stay with us and steem network.

Fabulous view. Very nice post.

beautifull
i like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66