Τraveling Τimes 4 : Soviet War Memorial at Treptower Park , Berlin

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes you get to see the most amazing things purely by chance or luck if you prefer.

cover.jpg

The first day of Blockshow Europe had ended and I thought it was too early to go back home. Saw the map and noticed a park nearby. Great, I said to myself. I will go to that park and get some nice photos for my Steemit blog. Plus, I will walk a little bit.

At Treptower Park, there is a river, where people can sail.

IMG_20180528_184833.jpg

And I found a lake, where to my surprise people were swimming.

IMG_20180528_190636.jpg

I took enough photos for a good Steemit post and I was heading back home when I encountered a steel fence at it was at least 2 meters tall. What in the blue hell is that? Tried to see pass through the fence and I could barely distinguish something that looked like a statue.

It seemed like a tall one and I decided to explore the area to find out what it was. There was no way I could enter so I had to walk around it until I found a gate. And I found a gate and I entered it and what I saw was astonishing. An open space, bigger than a football ground and on the other side a huge statue on top of a hill.

DSC_0996.jpg

This must be a war memorial of some kind. I quickly Google searched it and I was right. It is the Soviet War Memorial and these are parts of the wiki page.

The Soviet War Memorial is a vast war memorial and military cemetery in Berlin's >Treptower Park. It was built to the design of the Soviet architect Yakov Belopolsky to >commemorate 7,000 of the 80,000 Soviet soldiers who fell in the Battle of Berlin in April–>May 1945. It opened four years after World War II on May 8, 1949. The Memorial served as >the central war memorial of East Germany.

First you see two statues of soldiers kneeling to honor the fallen ones.

DSC_0997.jpg

DSC_0998.jpg

By each side there are lined on both sides by 16 stone sarcophagi, one for each of the 16 Soviet Republics, with relief carvings of military scenes and quotations.

DSC_1003.jpg

DSC_1028.jpg

The main focus of the monument is the 12m tall statue made by Soviet sculptor Yevgeny Vuchetich that shows a Soviet soldier with a sword holding a German child, standing over a broken swastika.

DSC_1001.jpg

The statue commemorates the deeds of Sergeant of Guards Nikolai Masalov, who during the final storm on the center of Berlin risked his life under heavy German machine-gun fire to rescue a three-year-old German girl whose mother had apparently disappeared.

DSC_1007.jpg

At the mount there is a room, but my Russian are limited and I don’t know what they say.

DSC_1012.jpg

And when you go up at the mount you can marvel the whole monument.

DSC_1014.jpg

And have a better look at the statue.

DSC_1020.jpg

On the opposite side there is another statue that I guess shows a mother.

DSC_1039.jpg

DSC_1044.jpg

The whole monument is astonishing. It has a special atmosphere. It is silent as if you are not allowed to speak loudly and it makes you think.

DSC_1046.jpg

About war and all the people that died…

Hopefully, some time we humans will learn to get along with each other without killing all those who seem different.

And until we no longer have to build war memorials …
Be Healthy, Smile and Steem.

footer.png

Sort:  

Looks like a great day in Berlin🤗

Thank you. It was a beautiful day.

Great walk! :)

«Ныне все признают, что советский народ своей самоотверженной борьбой спас цивилизацию Европы от фашистских погромщиков. В этом великая заслуга советского народа перед историей человечества»

If you do not mind, I'll translate:

«Now everyone recognizes that the Soviet people their selfless struggle saved the civilization of Europe from the Nazi thugs. This is the great merit of the Soviet people to the history of mankind»

Thanks for the info . :)

Το ΠΑΣΟΚ έκανε έργα, όχι αστεια!

Σαν τα σοσιαλιστικα εργα του ΠΑΣΟΚ δεν υπαρχουν...

What a great post! I really like this memorial center and park. I will have to see for myself someday. That huge sword is pretty badass! That's how I would like to be memorialized some day; a statue with a huge sword.

Thanks for taking us along.

What do you plan on doing to be memorialized?

I am working on a monetary treatise based on bartering software and redefining the concept of "money." Actually, I think you would really enjoy this. You can have a free copy. https://www.dropbox.com/s/yovvgkgkesitsri/CC5.pdf?dl=0 I am still looking for peer reviews at this stage. pass: barter
So, short answer is either im going to write a book or start a war. Have not decided which one yet.

Thanks for the book. Just don't start a war... :)

The book is a work in progress, but it is the result of over 8 years of research and logical dissection. If you finish it, I would highly appreciate your honest feedback.
Have a great day, my friend. Can't promise about no wars.

To be honest, this period I only read books about NLP that were written by creators or developers of it.

Have a nice day . :)

I want nothing less than honesty. I have seen your posts about NLP and I am curious. I will look into in its due time.

You have a good evening as well.

Thank you, Ilias, I never had to see this memorial first-hand! This is very impressive! Even the cold on my skin was coming!

This is a stunning memorial. Glad I was able to see it.

This is a grand and honest monument to the soldier. I was not here. I visited the Brest Fortress, where the memorial is smaller, but very tragic and very impressive.

Hope we won't have to build these memorials anymore.

Memorials need to be built in order for people to remember. We must do everything to ensure that the terrible events are never more ...

Hope we won't have to build these memorials anymore.

Ααα εδω λεμε "ΣΙΩΠΗ"... Θα μπλεξω....με τον κυριο που εγραψε στις δυο γλωσσες...
Αλλα
Nice photos!!!

Ευχαριστω.

Ok, τωρα καταλαβα. Μπορεις να πεις την γνωμη σε οποιο κυριο θες και σε οποια γλωσσα θες. Ελευθερη χωρα ειμαστε.

Peace and love!!! This is our future!!! This is message of steemit!!!
Let 's history be history.
So I ll keep my mounth closed.
Thank you Ilias!!!

Love your attitude. :)

Είναι υπέροχο πραγματικά! Έχω πάει Βερολίνο, έχω δει το Memorial που βρίσκεται στο Tiergarten και δυστυχώς δεν είχα την τύχη να δω το συγκεκριμένο. Ευχαριστούμε που μοιράστηκες μαζί μας τις φωτογραφίες αυτές!

Νασαι καλα. Ειναι εντυπωσιακο. Μου θυμισε μια σκηση απο το Lord of the Rings που οι χαρακτηρες περναν απο δυο πανυψηλα αγαλματα.

Ναι έχεις δίκιο, είναι τόσο εντυπωσιακό που μοιάζει κάπως εξωπραγματικό.

πολύ ωραιο!!! Καλή συνέχεια..

Ευχαριστω :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97