You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Aparte e sempre freddo! - I just want my freaking coffee

in #travel6 years ago

Have you tried with espresso in tazza grande, latte freddo a parte?

It’s true that when milk is “on the side” it’s always cold, but I’m Italian and I drink my coffee with latte freddo a parte and usually stress the freddo anyways, so it’s not that strange. But, yes, I would assume that the waiter or barista got the freddo part even if he or she dropped it while relating the order to a colleague.
What I never seem to get the hang of is the sugar order. I use sweetener and, invariably, when I specify that, the waiter or barista looks at me strangely and tells me that they always bring the whole packet of sugars anyways. When I don’t say anything, the cup arrives with just a single sugar package and I have to ask them to give me sweetener specifically. It’s scientific. I cannot win.

Sort:  

tazza grande/cappuccino etc. I've tried just about any combination in almost all European languages. Over the years I've concluded that the less I say the bigger the chance that I'll get something drinkable :)

Baristas & waiters - please don't empower the word barista by using it as if it's different than a waiter. Barista is just a waiter that's also a condescending prick that happens to have a beard.
Don't get me wrong, I don't look down on waiters, I actually like them, they are a social group that I communicate with more than any other. But when some idiot with a 4-day workshop on making coffee starts explaining to me why I should never drink coffee the way I like it

Dude you should really try our coffee that was brewed using only virgins tears without anything and only from this warmed cup that was painted by a local hippy ...

I just go psycho

Sweetener - yep, I take my coffee with it at home but I've given up on it when in the bars - it's just too painful

Also
@imcesca & @ciuoto
sempre freddo my ass - this was taken today at Cinque Terre - I can't remember which one :)
IMG_20180624_150652_HDR.jpg

man this is almost cheese :D
I have to admit 90% of italian bar forgot the noble art of making Caffè
Hopefully one day i can have a cup of coffee with you :)
we can discuss about
No hipster no ST***ks
just two old guys roasting coffee bean since 1957

If you go from Trentino ... I'll do it myself 😁😁😁

unfortunately, in last years, coffees variations are TOO MUCH.
i'm a ristretto guy (well...20 ristretto a day...) but there's people that ask for Caffè d'orzo doppio in tazza grande fredda con latte freddo a parte
WTF????
Anyway @docsmith Naples is your city. best coffee ever!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69034.43
ETH 3773.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51