TRAVEL IRELAND // A Weekend in Dublin: PART 2

in #travel6 years ago

Yo, if you haven't read my PART 1 yet, head over here. Otherwise let's continue on to Day 2...

Day 2: Sunday, 25th of February


We woke up to the smell of fried bacon and sausages. Having stayed at Airbnbs for most of our trips, I can’t tell you how nice it actually was to have a full on English breakfast cooked for you at this lovely B&B place. 

I convinced the crew (i.e. Liam, Dialect and his gf) to walk (yes, with our bags) towards our Airbnb so that we could all drop our bags and go enjoy the rest of the day. It was a sunny day which is a rarity in Dublin as it is, plus we got to stumble upon a few odd looking fellers on the way.

This one looked pretty serious...

 

and so was this dude... Liam even tried to chat him up.


Well, that didn’t go by plan, did it. The key to our Airbnb was nowhere to be found and I couldn’t get through to my host. FAIL. 

So we ended up having a drink at the Lanigan's Pub instead (with the most creepy deco ever, with stuffed animals and screaming dolls). Wtf?!? 

If you're in town - it’s worth checking it out though. It reminded me a little bit of the Rolf’s Restaurant and Bar in New York (which I wrote about here) but a lot creepier. Lol 

 


Liam and I said goodbye to the guys, finally dropped our bags and set off for our sightseeing tour - all planned and guided by me. 

Before we jump in though - I want to let you know that I did some research in advance of all the quirky and unusual things we could do and check out in Dublin (see here the full list) because Liam and I try to avoid most of the touristy spots and instead explore a different side to the cities we visit. 


So here we go - welcome to Inga's exclusive tour of Dublin.

1. The Needle 

(or more like the Spire of Dublin, 119m long and cost €4 million to build. What? Why would you..?!) - anyway, I thought it was pretty sick and liked the fact that we stumbled upon it completely by accident

OK, I'm not gonna lie... @bodybagnall took this photo 😳


2. The Hungry Tree 

(which I imagined to be a lot bigger) - but it was still pretty cool or at least a bit different...


3. National Leprechaun Museum 

(is not an actual museum but a 45-50 min talk about the history and myths of the Leprechaun) - f*ck that


4. St. Michan's Church 

(to see some mummies) - was closed on Sundays (FAIL)


5. Saint Audoen's Gate

(which we couldn’t find) because it ALSO seemed to be closed on Sundays, or forever (FAIL)

But at least we stumbled upon this sick wall art on our way...


6. Murdering Lane 

(to check out some graffiti) - essentially ended up being dead, with barely any graffiti there (FAIL). 

@colossus39 - I don't even think you would appreciate this... lol

If anything Liam definitely wasn’t impressed but at least I took a few cool shots there (so maybe half a FAIL?)


7. The Guinness Factory 

(which at first I was against but then Liam’s mate Pete convinced us to go the night before. Drunk, yes) - was MAD busy with SO many tourists that we didn’t even get to the tasting room and basically ended up paying €50 for 2 pints of Guinness (the freshest pints in the world but still - FAIL)

At least they had one cool thing that we liked...

Oh, and maybe these random Guinness crisps too...


Sooo, as you can tell my quirky and unusual tour of Dublin was a tremendous success.

We ended up walking all the way back, catching the sunset which was just stunning! So at least that was good.   

And if anything, we were super lucky to get a sunny day like this. In fact, this was my second weekend in Dublin and it wasn’t raining! Must have been that Leprechaun luck, ay? 😏


Continued 

Before the trip one of my school friends recommended a place for the best chicken wings. We tried going there the night before but the wait was something like two hours so there was no way we could wait (and is how we ended up at the restaurant next door). 

Anyway we decided to go back there and try our luck again. This place doesn’t take reservations over the phone so even when we rocked up at 6ish, they still put us on a table for 8pm. 

Elephant & Castle lived up to its chicken wings expectations (maybe not so much the burgers) but the buffalo chicken wings were definitely buffalo. 

I even did a proper research on the restaurant’s history and found out that it originated in New York and the only reason they opened a restaurant in Dublin in 1989 was because one their Irish chefs was denied entry into the U.S.A. - how fascinating! Haha


The next morning...

Liam and I planned to check out the Long Room Library (which was meant to be the highlight of our Dublin sightseeing tour) but by the time we got to the Trinity College, a) the queue was SO bloody long and b) tickets were rather expensive for just what you knew was one room filled with books. Plus Liam started to fill ill. Booo. 


So we scrapped that off our plan and went to get brunch at Brother Hubbard instead. I highly recommend that place if you're after a super healthy brunch, with plenty of vegan options and a cool decor.  


Moral of the story?

Don’t go sightseeing on a Sunday and no offence but Dublin isn’t that of a great city to sightsee (or maybe we missed the best bits by avoiding the tourists?).  

On the plus side we did 28,055 steps that day so technically it ended up being a free workout if anything ;-)


P.S. 

Whilst walking around the city Liam and I noticed something rather odd. For some reason very well known restaurant and shop names were called something else in Ireland. For example: 

  • Primark —> Penneys (which actually originate from Ireland so fair enough if they wanted to call it something else), but
  • Poundland —> Dealz (with the Z?!)
  • Pizza Express —> Milano (what, why? What’s wrong with Pizza Express?)
  • Burger & Lobster —> Beef & Lobster (really?)

There are probably more but these are just a few that we came across. We still haven’t really figured out the cause or reason for this. 

Maybe you guys can help? Share and comment down below!


Love,

Inga x

Sort:  

This is a great guide!! Perfect for me because i've never been here! Nice one Ings. Dealz sounds epic haha. That pub is mad btw!? What the actual hell! I'm putting all these things on my list of things to do and that shot of The Needle is mad. Nice one, Liam!

Thanks hun! I’m actually going to do a compilation post on the best things to do in Dublin so you can save that one instead :-)

That's a lot to do in a day or two! The street art is pretty cool.
Burger King in Australia is called "Hungry Jacks". Burger King as a name was already trademarked when they moved over here so they have to operate under a different name. Maybe this is the same reason for the other stores?

Haha well, considering half of the things were closed or skipped... we managed it. We did walk a lot though!

Hmm, maybe. I might do some more digging into this and update the post later ;-)

wow! what a fun day exploring Ireland! keep it coming

Thank you, Thomas! It was an interesting adventure, that’s for sure. Have you been to Dublin yourself?

No, not yet - its on the list... I do have quite the list though but I am slowly getting through it.

Unlucky with some of the fails, yet you got to explore many parts of Dublin in the sun! Sam has been to Dublin twice and loved it. Granted the first time he went with his dad and did all the touristy things which his dad paid for, so of course you're going to have fun. Second time was for work and his co-workers took him out around to the 'cool' spots, some pub near Trinity, but not in it. So, you get the atmosphere, but not the tourists. So, he got lucky on both occasions. Still, it sounds like you enjoyed your weekend away!

✈️👫

Haha yeah, I guess we still managed to stumble upon a few cool spots regardless of many fails :-)

That sounds nice, travelling with parents is always the best or visiting your mates. Usually then I totally switch off and just let my friends take me to all the spots they would usually hang out at.

Where are you off to next by the way?

Yes, different types of vacations usually mean different mindset, outlook and behavior.

That's great you managed to stumble upon some cool spots!

We're off to Singapore next week for a long weekend. Then back to Bangkok before a trip to Chiang Mai for the Thai New Year, two weeks later. After that, nothing planned, but need to head somewhere in May for Becca's visa run. Our options are Vietnam, Laos and Burma (for places Becca hasn't been to). Sam hasn't been to Indonesia or Philippines, but it's a bit too far from Thailand to do a quick visa run (as well as the cost). And your next weekend away is to?

Ahhh amazing! I did a Thai New Year in Chiang Mai as well - it was the best thing ever!

If you haven’t been to Myanmar (Burma) then definitely go there but I would try and travel it for a bit, otherwise Loas would be pretty easy from Chiang Mai. So excited for you guys!

I’ve just come back from Latvia (my home home) and might go there again OR I might head to Chicago for work which would be incredible as I freaking love that city! Ideally I would have also loved to go skiing but I don’t think it’s gonna happen this year... 😔

Yes we are excited for Songkran this year! Last year we spent it in the CBD of Bangkok having a big water fight with the tourists! 👍🏼

We have to check out the prices for flights or coaches to Myanmar or Laos for our May date soon before it all gets expensive.

Ah, Latvia haven't been, but would love to cover that part of Europe including Estonia, Lithuania and Belarus. The second option of Chicago is pretty exciting too. Sam has only been to Miami, but we would love to do the clinche road trip across America. But who has the time and money, only a few people.

One would think the ski season is almost over at least in the northern hemisphere, but from what we hear it's still snowing in some parts of Europe! Crazy to think it was the first day of Spring yesterday or the day before?! 😳

✈️👫

I know! And yeah, ski season lasts till about end of April :-)

Road tripping America is massively on my list too, I did a bit of Cali with my sister and want to do East with my boyfriend this summer (that’s if they let me back in!) lol

Looking forward to reading your post on Songkran! Have fun! X

very nice trip, how was that guinness beer?

Not gonna like, this pic made me comment.

looks wtfing delicious haha.

did you peel that garlic before eating?

Haha mate, the Guinness in Ireland is literally the best thing in the world.

And THAT is a garlic burger - we squeezed it out of the peel, yeah :-) To be honest though, it looked better than it tasted but I would 100% recommend the chicken wings at that place!

wow i wanna drink that beer now! i meant in the last post "not gonna lie", and it was about that pic which made me insta-comment haha.

I just realised that is a GARLIC woooaaaahhh. Epic

i know right? so huge. Made me remind me of this:

Omg that made me drool... 🤤🤤🤤

Show it to your sis, she surely can make it 3 times better :P:P:P

Haha good point! Although she’s the queen of desserts and Eastern European food :-)

Love the hungry tree and the distorted street art!! Those two places you mentioned for food look gooood too :D

Yeah, that wall art was one of my favourite things!

Wow what a comprehensive tour. You really did some good planning in advance. I'm bad at that, which is a shame because the times when I've made the effort to research and plan for trips, I have a much better time. But actually I've found the perfect solution - going on holiday with my boyfriend, who is research king. Then all I have to do is follow him around and wield the camera. Winner!
Liam looks surprisingly similar to that statue guy. Is there any Irish blood in the family? Or maybe it's just their shared hairstyle that's making me think that.
I've been planning a story set in Ireland and this post has given me some more ideas. Thanks for that! (I will put you in the acknowledgements ;)

Haha you know what, I think there might be ;-)

I don’t like to plan too much either. I usually ask people for a bunch of recommendations and then see where the route takes us. This time I wanted to do a bunch of quirky things and this was the outcome! Haha

Look forward to your story! X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68683.05
ETH 3860.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66