Why we love the Bishnoi's ❤️ (and so will you)- Part 2

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello
Hope everyone is doing great...

In my last post about Bishnoi Community from Jodhpur, Rajasthan, I talked about how fortunate I was to witness the village with strong traditions and how the beliefs and culture of a community have influenced the crafts of the place and the amazing dedication these people have to their beliefs.

Check my last blog to read more:

https://steemit.com/travel/@itravelarts/why-we-love-the-bishnoi-s-and-so-will-you-part-1

Today I will talk about and show how amazing their traditional costumes are.

fg.jpg

To understand more please watch the movie:

Bishnoi community can be easily identified by their clothes.
Costumes and jewelry of these desert people are not mere ornaments for them. Everything from head to toe including the turban and footwear establishes their identity, religion, economic and social status. Traditional costumes of Bishnoi women are regionally and stylistically diverse with great emphasis placed on ornamentation.

IMG_8515.JPG

Their clothe's are designed to bear the harsh weather mainly in cotton to give some comfort in the heat. Bishnoi men traditionally wear white shirt, white turban and white dhoti.
Women are dressed in red ghaghra extending up to ankles to show off the beautiful ornaments. Loose and flowing clothes to cover up most of the body.

g4.jpg

g1.jpg

Married women wear blouses, called kurti and kanchli in floral prints and embroidered for special occasions, dabla, Sara (a drape varying from five to nine yards of cloth) which are tie dyed in red color along with a pleated skirt called Ghaghara which has a very distinctive feature in red color with white circles and printed border. The kurti worn by married women are normally embroidered with cross stitch in bright colors with ¾ sleeves.

IMG_8480.JPG

Odhana (a type of fabric yardage smaller than sari worn over other clothing) is normally in red or pink color with tie-dye effect and golden/red or black piping. The heavy jewelry they wear is a big part of their customs, large circular crescent nose ring in gold called bhawariya is an important part of their tradition and only worn after marriage, a heavy silver ankle bracelet is a common feature and defines one social status, and wealth.

IMG_8539 - Copy.JPG

g3.jpg

IMG_8482.JPG

g5.jpg

I feel so l lucky and grateful for visiting this village and to see all their old traditions and beliefs that are still preserved.

Hope you liked it..

Love.Swati

Sort:  

We can gather one of the best moments when we visit villages. And when I see type of people in villages that they look so innocent.

I hear you... @zaimaankhan .. It's wonderful to witness such purity and innocence

Posted using Partiko Android

You took amazing pictures to show the beauty of the Bishnoi's, the women are beautiful with their golden nose rings.
Great piece of information as well, you write in a very easily readable way keeping the attention.Keep it up!

Thank you @traveleranna... I was super impressed with the nose ring.. It was pure gold and one of their customs for married women. I love these stories.. Thank you again for appreciating my work.. It brought a smile on my face :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @itravelarts, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 78

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

P.S. These little villages carry so much culture and tradition, I am glad you shared your experiences with us. @insideoutlet

Thank you @asapers ... It feels good to be appreciated.. I really appreciate your work.. Love 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

How amazing. At a time when histories and traditions have been being forgotten they still follow theirs. Such detail and artistry. You're pictures are beautiful, they really capture the essence of everything.

Thank you for your appreciation.. And you have so rightly said that when history is forgotten, thr are still people who follow their traditions..Loads of love 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

I admit I was lucky growing up some of the holiday traditions were shared with us and we try to keep them as best as we can, being so spread out it's been hard. Some holiday traditions should however, be left in the old country LOL . Like this one.

Wow! Gorgeous beautiful details. Nice sharing ❤

Thank you @yogajill 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

@itravelarts I am so proud to be BISHNOI.. loved to see here that you posted about Us.. now thia time i am inviting you to my village. Plz come and meet me.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for taking us to a part of the world I never would have had a chance to see. Such a rich heritage - ancient tree huggers. I was asked once if there was a cause I believed in that I would give my life for. Truthfully, I could not see myself giving up my life. Thank goodness those women did so this village can have their beloved trees and wildlife. So different from our modern day culture. Thanks again for sharing.

I am glad you liked it.. and I feel blessed to have seen and met this community. I so share with what you said - I couldn't see myself giving up my life for any cause.. neither do I. these people have such big hearts. and I feel too small compared to them.
I just looked at your recent post and what beautiful pictures, I have never seen those plants, wildflowers.. really liked your post
much love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58773.92
ETH 2988.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74