HIGHLIGHTS OF MAURITIUS, my paradise island 🌺🇲🇺🌴

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1133494.jpg

Out of nowhere my love surprises me with a vacation to Mauritius.
The island, where I was born and raised. I haven't been back in more than a decade, but what Mark Twain said in 1896, is still valid to this very present day “Mauritius was made first, and then heaven was copied after Mauritius.”

Here is sneak preview of what to look forward to on my Steemit blog.

flowers_line.png

MAURITIUS-Highlights-0058.jpg

Me, sunbathing at Île aux Cerfs

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1144788.jpg

Driving through sleepy fishermen's villages of the East Coast

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1111608.jpg

David_mahebourg.gif

Ice tea and Napolitans at Al Rashid's Palace

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1111708.jpg

Sunset kissing the Lion Mountains

Laguna-Beach-with-Local-kids.gif

Grand River South East near Ganga Mayi Mandir with local kids

flower_crown.png

Seven days have passed on this dream island, and what I hoped was something like an innocent childhood crush was in fact true love on fire, that can never be dimmed. Mauritius is so much better than I had in memory! Admittedly seven days is not enough to see it all, but fear not, we will not wait another decade to come back..

Twirling-flower-Mauritius.gif

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1144507.jpg

Lazy beach day at Laguna Resort

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1122658.jpg

Heading to the beach of Cap Malhereux

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1122771.jpg

Street musician at the beach of Grand Bay

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1122722.jpg

Fresh fruit cocktails at Grand Bay

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1144383.jpg

Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Botanical Garden in Pamplemousse

MAURITIUS-Highlights--2.jpg

View of Le Morne mountain from Flic en Flac

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1111595.jpg

Sugarcane fields go on for miles and miles throughout the entire island.

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1122212.jpg

Up to 400000 devotees walk to the Sacred Lake at Grand Bassin each year to celebrate Maha Shivaratri. Just when the hindus put down their decorations, the Chinese put up their New Years deco. This island is a multicultural hub, which is one of the reasons why I love Mauritius so much.

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1122300.jpg

Trou aux Cerfs. This volcano created Mauritius 2 million years ago.

Nic_Pfadfinder_3yrs Kopie.JPG

I'm in the middle wearing mustard yellow.

Mauritius has a very special place in my heart, after all it is where I was born and spent my entire childhood. Now I live somewhere completely different to island life. Sometimes I still feel under culture shock. Since I look mixed, I am often directly asked where I am from. I have tried to become immune to people raising their eyes in amazement or shock, while they ask “What the hell are you doing here? Why did you leave paradise?!”
I eventually begun saying I was from Germany (which is partly true).

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1111750.jpg

MAURITIUS-Highlights-1111765.jpg

Sega (Mauritius traditional dance) at Shangri La's Le Touessrok

MAURITIUS-Highlights-0109.jpg

Diving with the fishes of Trou aux Biches

So what makes Mauritius so heavenly?

You can experience pristine beaches any time, perfect weather, tropical forests, lush mountains, and world heritage sites. Theres also mind-blowing flora and fauna, delicious international food to devour, daily incredible sunsets, and a multicultural melange of a nation living peacefully together, welcoming you with legendary hospitality..
The list goes on and on. I hope I got you interested to learn more about Mauritius? If yes make sure to follow and don't miss any of my posts from paradise!

Thank you for your time. Feedback is always appreciated! Upvotes & Resteems as well 🤩

@itsnicoletv

Follow-for-updates_itsnicoletv_on-black.gif


Shot with my Panasonic Lumix GH5, a DJI Spark for aerial shots and GoPro 3+ for underwater shots.

Read Next

☀️From the Romantic Wild Coast to Luxurious Hotels of Mauritius
☀️The Amazing Isle of Capri, Italy. Part I, Part II
☀️Dream Hotels and Beaches in Thailand
☀️Sea Gypsies of Koh Panyee
☀️Never ever thought Scotland would be this freaking beautiful!

Sort:  

Truely stunning! Would love to go there sometime

You're going to have the best trip of your life.

Absolutely beautiful! Thanks for warming my heart on such a cold day!

Woah! this post makes me want to visit Mauritius. Excellent mini tour!

Thanks! Going to go more in detail now 🙂Stay tuned!

a very beautiful city
You are lucky to be born there
I am so eager to visit your place

Regard from me Steemit North Sumatera @herdi.steemit

Feeling lucky indeed.😍
Yes, I highly recommend visiting Mauritius, it's truly a dream come true.

Thanks @itsnicoletv
But I have a job in indonesian before i go to mauritius
I'm From indonesian country

Indonesia is nice too! But you can go wherever you want, even if its just a vacation 😉

yes of course
but i want to surround indonesian country first
You've heard of Bali island?
dont forget followed and upvote

followed and upvoted!
hope you like mite too :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=itsnicoletv
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=highlights-of-mauritius-my-paradise-island


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

A friend is from there, he and his Canadian wife always tell us how wonderful it is, good to see your wonderful photos and read your story. We hope to visit around this time next year but will only be a short time - enough perhaps to encourage us to return for a longer stay! Following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48