You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Driving all four

in #travel5 years ago

Great explanation of how four wheel drive vehicle works. I know a four wheel drive vehicle is not always a requirement for off road driving. I have had my front wheel drive mini mokes into some great places off road. And sometimes driving around stuck four wheel drive vehicle's and also towed a couple out from being stuck🤣. Did you know the first vehicle to make it to Cape York in Queensland was an 1930s Austin Seven two wheel drive before the tracks/roads were even made to get there. And many years ago a group of moke owners drove the telegraph track to Cape York and never used the Jardine river ferry as they floated the mokes across lol. Yes a four wheel drive vehicle can be very very useful for off road driving I agree.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I don't think I've seen a moke for 20 years. Used to go hunting in one with a mate. Went ok on the flat stuff, paddocks and stuff. They have their uses.

Posted using Partiko Android

I used to take mine to Moreton island and it was all sand driving lot's of fun. Sometimes I fitted taller wheels and tyres with aggressive tread and raised the suspension this would get me about 320mm of ground clearance. That's way more clearance then most four wheel drives had some 25 years ago and even still today. I also had built a real low rpm torque monster engine for it and with a suitable diff ratio I had no lack of very low speed power. Who needs a low range transfer box lol. Even drove it through water part way up the windscreen at times🤣 All good fun. People just could not believe it when I came along some crazy tracks in this Moke the looks on there faces was priceless 😱. If I ran ran out of traction going up a steep hill I would go back down turn around and reverse up as the weight transfer would then be on the driving wheels.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have a mate who had a Jimny and used to get the same incredulous looks when he'd turn up at the top of a mountain with the big boys. Was funny.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes I know that feeling I had a 79 Suzuki LJ80/Jimny👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheeky little buggers those Jimnys. 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

They sure are🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91