BLOG POST: THE MOST SCENIC TRAIN RIDE IN THE WORLD - ELLA TO KANDY IN SRI LANKA

in #travel6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.20.15 PM.png

The Kandy to Ella train journey is said to be one of the most scenic, epic train journeys in not only just Sri Lanka but the world. So with a few days to spare in Sri Lanka, I decided to purchase a ticket for $1.50 and climb aboard for the 5-hour journey. Yes, the train really does cost just $1.50.

I have now taken the train in both directions. From Kandy to Ella and in reverse from Ella to Kandy. On both occasions, I just arrived at the train station and bought the cheapest ticket and walked on. I didn’t sit in a seat, I preferred to an open door and hang my legs over the edge for the entire journey.

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.20.24 PM.png

How to get tickets for the Kandy to Ella Train

You can purchase the tickets directly at the station or try and prebook through hotel, travel agent or by visiting the station the day before. I suggest just arriving on the day unless you specifically need first-class this must sell out faster than the general 2nd and 3rd class.

During the Kandy to Ella train journey, you can walk around the carriages, go to the toilet, visit the food stand or purchase some snacks from vendors who wander about. I spent my time in the open doorway, watching as we passed by tea plantations, cruised through villages and crossed bridges with eerily huge drop-offs.

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.20.38 PM.png

Our train was bright blue and several carriages in length but they also have red carriages. For photos, the blue is quite cool and it seems the common color but don’t be disappointed if you have a marron train. You can purchase 1st class tickets but I chose the cheapest ticket and had my own seat (despite not using it), luggage storage and a table in front of me to share with four others. The carriage wasn’t hot despite the heat outside and it was an incredibly comfortable journey.

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.22.02 PM.png

Why is the Kandy to Ella train journey so amazing?

The views on both sides of the rail are breathtaking. The train winds through the mountains overlooking farms and villages and of course vast tea plantations. The scenery changes throughout the trip. Often at times, you are looking out at an entire green view than the next minute you are in the middle of a woodland forest.

The train also passes through multiple tunnels. The kids on my train thought it was a great game to scream the entire time we were inside the tunnel until the train finally emerged.

Hanging out of the train gives you the best views and is an awesome feeling but be careful not to leave your limbs out of the train at the wrong time as there are trees and tunnels that come close to the train.

Being in 3rd class you will meet a lot of locals and most will enjoy having a chat with you. I really enjoyed stopping at the stations and watching the daily happenings of locals on and off the train and tried to capture the vibe of the journey with my photos as well as getting some iconic travel shots hanging out of the train.

If you are considering the options about how to get from Ella to Kandy or Kandy to Ella, there really isn’t a decision to be made. If you take the bus you have made a huge mistake as you have missed out on the journey of a lifetime on the Kandy to Ella train.

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.22.13 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.21.53 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.21.39 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.21.32 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.21.11 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.20.46 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.20.56 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.21.25 PM.png![Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.20.56 PM.png]

Sort:  

I worked at the Travel Agency a year ago, so I know this place very well, because it was necessary to collect information and photos from this place.
So your pictures looks like a postcard! Perfectly captured shots! :)

Thanks so much that means a lot to me!

I take it from your posts that you don't need many creature comforts to be content.

Sounds like a fun ride and a great adventure. Buses are sometimes convenient ways of getting from point A to point B, but for a pleasant and interesting journey, I always prefer trains. Trains follow their own routes, away from roads and highways, so the scenery is often much more interesting and spectacular.

Enjoy your travels, and keep posting excellent content.
Full Steem Ahead!

Haha nah i just need the adventure. I live life from my backpack! In Sri Lanka the buses kind of suck but trains are a scenic journey! thanks a lot!

This looks absolutely amazing ! I would love to go and see it one day ♡ I'll just add that to my to-do / bucket list lol

yes add it to the list!!!

good knowledge

Thanks for a hint! I'll put on my to-do worldmap!

yes add it to the bucket list

Damn. Loving your photos and content Jackson! Thanks for sharing brother

Thanks Jeremy, I appreciate it a lot. Welcome!

Nice photos and great insight

thanks so much :)

Somewhere I'd love to go

you should definitely do it!

Great information and nice photos @jacksongroves !
upvoted!

Thanks so much I appreciate it

Beautiful photos, and great tips!

Thanks so much I appreciate it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67