5 Must See Places in SwitzerlandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Simply put, this country is stunning. The alps cover 60% of Switzerland, which means that there's more than enough breathtaking alpine views to go around. Beyond the beautiful mountains, this small nation is also home to vibrant city culture, and a friendly, welcoming atmosphere, and of course, unlimited delicious chocolate.

I had the privilege to study in Switzerland for one year. During my time spent living in this country, I visited nearly every region and became an expert on Swiss cuisine, culture, and geography. I spend every free moment outside, exploring new villages and mountain valleys, venturing as far out as I could in hopes of getting lost, just so I could find my way back again.

Anyways, throughout my experience, I developed a mental list of my favorite places in the country. Now, I share that list with you. Without further ado, let's get started.

*Note * All photos were taken by myself.

#1 Lauterbrunnen

You know that city in Lord of the Rings, Rivendell? It's the most beautiful city in Middle Earth. In fact, J.R.R. Tolkien used Lauterbrunnen as inspiration for his most beautiful fantasy city. In The Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins states:

"Time doesn't seem to pass here: it just is. A remarkable place altogether."

And boy, was he right. This was the first view I had of this magical place.

IMG_9166.jpg

Twenty minutes outside of Interlaken, one of Switzerland's most popular tourist destinations, lies this beautiful glacial valley. The English translation of Lauterbrunnen is Louder Fountain, which is perfectly fitting because this valley is home to over 70 waterfalls.

IMG_9288.jpg

This place is must-see. When you visit, you can also take a short gondola ride to Mürren on upper level of the valley. The views from up there aren't too shabby either.

#2 Oeschinensee, Kandersteg

On one of my expeditions, I hiked up to a mountain lake with some buddies in the pitch dark. We had food and camping supplies and knew we were headed to a beautiful lake, but nothing could have prepared us for what we were to behold in the morning: The perfect stillness of the morning lake reflected the alps, the water, a perfect, crystal turquoise. IMG_3503.jpg

After waking up and packing our stuff, we headed over to the waterfall for an ice cold shower. And this was just the beginning of an entire day spent hiking around this gorgeous lake.

IMG_3545.jpg
IMG_3590.JPG

Right next to this lake is a mountain coaster. So if you're ever lucky enough to visit, and the weather is just right, you may be in for the ride of a lifetime. Unfortunately, it started raining when we wanted to ride the coaster, so we had to postpone the fun. That's okay, it's just an excuse to visit this lovely place again!

#3 Zermatt

Home to the world's most famous mountain–the Matterhorn–this small alpine village truly is special. The grandeur of the alps contrasts heavily with the quaint village. The Matterhorn is so enormous that it looms and sees over everything as if it were an omnipresent Swiss spirit. I had the pleasure to camp and hike the 5-Seenweg, the "five lakes hike" all while photographing everything. I'll let the photos speak for themselves on this one.

IMG_3804.jpg
IMG_3735.JPG
IMG_3767.JPG
IMG_3810.JPG

#4 Zürich

The metropolitan center of the country, this city really makes you feel like you've entered a fairytale. Dozens of church steeples reaching into the sky, narrow, winding streets of the old city, the sparkling lake filled with beautiful swans, a perfect view of the alps in the distance. This city really is magical.

IMG_2502.jpg
IMG_3213.jpg

These two photos above were taken at the Lindenhof, a park that is above the city and has a great view over the river. It's a popular gathering place and, as you can see here, there's even chess boards for anyone to play.

This here is the St Peter's Church, owner of the largest clockface in Europe:

IMG_3220.JPG
IMG_0275.jpgIMG_9993.JPG

You can also take a train to the top of the Uetliberg, the mountain adjacent to Lake Zurich. I went up here for the first time at 5am, to view the sunrise, and was rewarded with the most beautiful sunrise I have ever seen.

IMG_1196 2.jpg

Flying into Zürich is usually how people get to Switzerland. So, when you arrive, I know you want to see the beautiful mountain views, but be sure to enjoy the lovely city life for a few days!

#5 Seealpsee

You'll see an artistic rendition of this mountain lake on the country's most famous beer, the Quöllfrisch. Yet, most Swiss people I spoke with had no idea this lake in the eastern Appenzell region even existed. Personally, it was my go-to place for bringing people to show them what Switzerland is all about. Riding classic trains through the gorgeous country side, hiking up in the mountains past happy cows wearing traditional Swiss cowbells, enjoying a Rösti (Swiss potato dish) and beer at the mountain restaurant. I was lucky enough to visit this otherworldy lake a handful of times; I simply couldn't stay away.

000136400006.jpg
000136400002.jpg
AA019.jpg

Up above the lake, there's a restaurant literally built on the side of a cliff face. It's called the Aescher and is, in my opinion, the most beautiful restaurant in the world.

IMG_4039.JPG
IMG_4032.jpg

Not too bad of a place to enjoy a meal, right?

Well, I think that does it for my five must-see places in Switzerland. This country really is a gem of the world. I hope you've enjoyed my stories and recommendations, and also hope that you have updated your bucket list with some of these amazing places!

I'd love to hear any feedback, recommendations, or comments you have about my post! I'm still pretty new to the Steemit community and would appreciate any help on making my content better.

Thank you so much for reading and following this article!

Until next time.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jakobg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@steemit-earn has 1400 followers and 1000 upvote awesome
follow him know
say @cleverbot to him

I loved sweeney todd, the movie poster is in my room. Johnny depp played a great role.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71