RISHIKESH - Hello, Old Magical Friend

in #travel6 years ago

Last night I landed in New Delhi airport. Today I'm sitting by the sacred river Ganges between the sister towns of Ram Julha and Laxman Julha, a little upbeat hippie villages few kilometers away from larger town of Rishikesh, that everybody just calls Rishikesh anyways.

rishi 1.jpg

India always stuns me. And knocks me out. And surprises me. In both good and bad ways, but who really cares about that since "good" and "bad" is just so subjective. But yes, New Delhi is still just as stinky and hazy as always, in case you were wondering.

5 min out of airport, trying to make my way to the hotel by walking (it was meant to be close, or at least so it seemed on the map, but that was before I realized the shere size of New Delhi Indira Gandhi International airport), I got attacked by 3 fierce dogs. That was a good start I thought to myself in between the rush of adrenaline and chuckles that I just could not suppress when the irony of the whole situation hit me: bitten by dogs 5 minutes after leaving airport...

I made it out safe and sound, mostly because of an Indian gentleman who rescued me.

I changed strategy and took the metro, just one station, to get closer to the hotel. YES, New Delhi Airport has now a metro that goes to the city for something ridiculous like 20 rupees. It's brand new, airconditioned and puts the shabby looking NYC metro at shame.

I only stayed at the hotel for 4 hours and went back to the airport to catch my 6am flight to Dehradun.
And I was blown away at the modern look of New Delhi airport. It has progressed so much over the years. Right now it just shines with modern looks, cleanliness and fancy shops. Really impressing. Especially when remembering how it used to look a decade ago.

The flight to Dehradun is an hour long and it's the closest airport to Rishikesh. It's the first time that I flew there, before that I always took a train from Delhi, but that's more time demanding and honestly it's not that simple to buy a train ticket in India, especially for popular destinations/trains, so I saved myself some trouble.

rishikesh map.jpg

I fetched a $10 cab ride to Ram Julha (some 25km away) and crossed the bridge to the town basking in the glory of rising sun.

First look at the ghats and temples and the bridge and the houses and yoga schools scattered along the steep banks of the holy river Ganges always trigger emotions.

Some people say that you can only love or hate India, never anything neutral. I think that in my case I hate it 5 times and hate it 10 times in one single day. That's how intensely mirroring and triggering and MAGICAL is the ancient land of subcontinent to me.

Today, when I was sitting by the holy river, a boy came to me and wanted to sell me an offering to Ganges. I told him that I don't want to buy an offering, but that I have 10 rupees to give him as a gift. He gave me a flower and left. I put my feet in the river and made a wish and tossed my flower gently down the stream.

My wish was the same as always:

MAY THE HUMANITY AND AWAKEN AND PEACE COME TO EARTH

With love from Rishikesh (you know that I mean Ram Julha...),

May you be blessed,

Jan
follow @jankasparec

hanes rishi 1.jpg*

Sort:  

Happy that you made it happen <3 be safe and enjoy the journey :)

Thank you babe. It's been an amazing week but I've been missing you every single day.

Crazy how you jump through the different time zones.
Wish you a beautiful trip brother :-) Stay safe.
Resteemed and upvote will follow tomorrow morning.

Thank you bruder @lichtblick. It's been an intense traveling month and I'm not quite done yet. End of November will be our settling down time with Gladys. Until then we travel a lot. Sending love bro! Thank you, always

Have a dip in the ganges for me too. I miss this place so much <3 I would love to just sit there and stare at the fast flowing water masses in front of me.

I've India twice and concluded that I will not get used to the place in my lifetime. I was eating their food mostly in the canteen first few days was still fine, then stomach start to get upset. I guess the body is used to me with the occasional spice even at home but over there, the daily dose may be too much.

Hi Ace. India is not for everyone for sure. I eat like a pig in India. Everywhere, including street food and I'm feeling awesome. Seems like my gut is kinda Indian type :)

I think if I go street food, I probably won't have lasted a week.

Welcome to India! :D
What are your plans next?
PS: I'm in Delhi

I'm flying to Sri Lanka today for a hot date with @gladysmak, then back to Hong Kong together. Hope you had great time bro!

Enjoy your date :D
Cheers!

Hi! I think we just point in the good things and be positive. It is the best way to be happy. If we look at the bad way, we always sad and not happy. So be safe and enjoy your time.

The place of great yogis!
Enjoy your time there.
So many legends about it...
Have just a great, inspiring and motivating time!

Rise&shine
Love&light

I lived in India for 2 years when I was a kid... and I went back later when I was 23 years, and it never stops to amaze me. I always say it's like travelling to another planet. Everything is so different in so many ways. It's magic and tragic at the same time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60