Photo Assignment: Concert Photography!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

In my short time as a concert photographer I was able to travel to so many cool places and I was able to meet a ton of fantastic people. I didn't get to travel as much as I would have like to as a concert photographer before my girlfriend and myself had our daughter, it is my opinion that as a father there is nothing more important to me than spending time with my daughter and family, I realized very quickly with all the travelling required as an event photographer I was going to have to prioritize photography or being a father if I was actually going to do one or the other really well.

7175462053_4338f67956_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/bW57SZ)

There are few rules a concert photographer has to live and die by if a photographer is going to attempt to try to penetrate the concert photography Realm. There are so many young concert photographers vying for a photoPass at shows these days with limited slots for photographers to shoot. Concert promoters are now relying on data from sites like Alexa rankings to determine in a list of priority which photographer is deserving to be at shows and which photographers don't make the grade. So I guess a good place to start in terms of rules of thumb for photographers is you're going to want to try to find the best possible blog or media Outlet to report for since that will be your best chance to gain access to the shows you actually want to shoot. Reaching out to a blog or media Outlet you want to work for by email is pretty easy to do. Email photo editors to let them know you are available on short notice if they ever need a photographer to go to a show, at that point once you send a few images from your collection to demonstrate to promoters what you're capable of it's just a matter of time before you get a response and they start to rely on you as a secondary photographer if their main guy is not around or sick.

7779654586_6e11c92f22_k.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/cRsLgC)

The next thing you're going to want to do as a concert photographer is turn off your flash. Using a flash to capture ambient light in a venue or concert setting is next to impossible to do properly and usually not very desirable considering the quality of lighting available at most of these shows today. Although using a flash to capture portraits of people attending the show in the audience is cool because it's kind of a different thing when you're capturing an artist who is performing on stage you're going to have to turn off your flash and take it off the camera because it's not going to make a lick of difference and it's going to affect the Integrity of your images overall by using that flash.

6627814955_abab044a84_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/b6FhtD)

Concert photography is all about timing. From showing up at the venue early and getting your PhotoPass on time to emailing concert promoters to get the photo pass, every aspect of a photoshoot when it comes to concert photography relies on timing , when time is not properly managed photographers will miss the photoshoot entirely and at the end of the day that looks bad if you're working for someone who was relying on those images for a blog or news story. If you can not manage time well, concert photography may not be you're bag.

2454017471_bc025a3690_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/4JRtU4)

Practice makes perfect in photography as well as concert photography. Exercising photographic techniques is fundamental to improving one's overall Talent and peeking the interest of potential clients or artist who you desire to work with. I can't say enough about exercising photographic technique's that will help you better understand dynamic lighting and composition to better help you gauge the kind of photographs that work for your style and the ones that you can live without.

5989771588_04afae2209_o.jpg
(https://flic.kr/p/a8i9pW)

1152759324_032113c08c_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/2KScbL)

8045084540_6d9afe5a7f_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/dfVam9)

3522353676_52e28e4e41_b.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/6nfZ2N)

7963813006_f388fb7a05_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/d8JC9N)

2904264774_fecd0de812_o.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/5qD7JA)

7963813860_b7bf538a6a_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/d8JCpw)

372853617_6fe5b7ccc8_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/yWYoD)

2660624116_d70ae80049_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/547oRA)

6368928767_bfbea9a58a_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/aGNqCF)

2603871538_6711e8fec3_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/4Y6whS)

8193982723_3cb2283a74_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/du5iAc)

2672950473_9a1d8df3dd_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/55cz3Z)

See full collection: https://www.flickr.com/photos/jazminmillion/albums/72157606678021476

Note: Right click on any image and open in new tab for full res ;D

Photos and post by STEEMIT user: Jazmin Million

***I appreciate you taking a few seconds to check out my introduction post to concert photography and I look forward to reading your responses to the images I was able to capture throughout a portion of my experience as a concert photographer.

Sort:  

This is a super collection of the greatest names in the music business!
Its amazing that you have been able to build your portfolio to such a degree in such a short time. Its clear that your passion has taken you to great heights, and is inspiring for all to keep following their dreams and pushing for a brighter future, One without a "FLASH" tho :) It's great you took the time for your daughter and put your Photo career on hold!
Maybe now with the love of the new steemit community you will be pushed and inspired to continue your Journey ! and have your daughter as your assistant soon as she's ready!

must be a lucky person taking photos of famous people in concerts , I like the quality of your photos what lens do you carry?

24-70 mm and 70-200 are all I needed really. Everything else is fluff. Have a great week.

Thank you for sharing your post. Dynamic you have captured the passion of the moment which is definitely an art. It is hard to explain but I feel like I am there experiencing the concert. I write poetry so when I put pen to paper I try to achieve exactly what you do with your camera I believe. Except you do it visually where as I do it verbally. Again thanks....appreciated your collection of shots you are very talented.

Turning off of flash light really matter, wow
And being a father not just a father but a daddy to your daughter should be one of your priority also cos I know you love her dearly

please upvote me... cool photo by the way

Incredible photos! Where have you learnt photography? Do you take photos of other themes as well like city, people etc? How long have you been practicing until you watched the "right" moments of the artists?

I learned by mentoring photographers I respected. I started in about 2005 maybe?

That’s a lot of time invested! You are awesome if you have learnt all this on your own!!Is it more like a hobby for you or a job?

I worked for the promoters of events, this kind of access is not possible as a hobby. That I am aware of at least ;D

These are excellent shots @jazminmillion and I know that only Great photographers can produce these kind of photos. Two Thumbs up!! :)

Concert Photography vary good .This is a super collection of the greatest music business! Thank you for sharing your post. @jazminmillion

WOW! What a story and such an experience! The more I scrolled down to read and see your pictures, it's incredible who you photographed! So do you still do it then as much? Intriguing...

I sense I am going to get back into it soon somehow.

This is amazing! #1 really great advice to others hoping to do what you do. #2 some of the shots you have captured are incredible. I love the guy jumping on to the pool raft. From what little I know, it's pretty hard to get such great shots with really variable lighting. Really looking forward to seeing more from you.

Here you have focus many kind of photography, that carry to awesome caption, which make me proud to see as ever, great seeing to cold travel all are the magnificent @jazminmillion

Now that is insane!
super clean shot with perfect timing.
thank you for sharing such a fantastic photos sir!

I'd guess a full frame camera is required no?
insane pictures wow great work!

Welcome to the world of rock stardom! Are you ready to get close to your idols? Thousands of screaming people, squeezed in between the trench and the people behind, create a sheer unsurmountable barrier whereas you enter easily from the side of the stage, sipping coke and walk to the stage in front of the security guards.

You realize all the fancy equipment on the stage that you just used to know from videowalls – and then, suddenly the lights go dark. The band enters the stage, some people scream, others faint but you are just anxious and think: “am i dreaming or is this real” Then it hits you again, damn, it’s real and I am better back to reality again and take some great pics!

This is how it feels like standing in front of a big stage (at least this is the case for me).

Concert photography is a serious rush! Thanks for the comment.

WOW, you really hit your mark with these photos let me tell you.
they a amazing!! every single one... you know my wife has been intrested in concert photography for a long time soo i will refer her to this post to show her some really amazing work and so she can read a little about what you said with the flash.. thanks alot man really kool post... must upvote :)

Really appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73