Tasmania Road Trip Photo Diary Part 1

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1176.jpg

Shortly after selling my car on Saturday afternoon, I booked a plane ticket to Tasmania leaving Sydney on Sunday afternoon and arriving in Launceston just 2 hrs later.

1.jpg
Sydney Airport, Domestic Terminal. Photo says it all

2.jpg
Not as "flat" as I remember from my first trip in 2015

At Launceston airport, I quickly sorted out my rental with AVIS and headed out to the city center to pick up some necessities - mainly groceries. Thank goodness to daylight savings, I still had enough light to check out Cataract Gorge Reserve. But only enough to do a short walk across the Alexandra Suspension Bridge and onto a lookout. There were all sorts of wildlife in the reserve - possums scavenging for food in the bin, peacocks (they are very loud btw), pademelons, and all kinds of birds.

3.jpg
My new travel buddy. I got a free upgrade from AVIS.

IMG_1075.jpg
Alexandra Suspension Bridge

IMG_1079.jpg
South Esk River, views from Alexandra Suspension Bridge

IMG_1050.jpg
As it was getting dark very quickly, I only managed to photograph this beautiful peacock

I really wanted to do the longer walks so I decided I'd explore Cataract Gorge Reserve properly today. I woke up quite early this morning but it was 9 degrees celsius (brrrr) so I didn't really get to start the walk until 11am :)

Coming down from the car park ($2.50 for 4 hrs, street parking also available), you'll come across the chairlift station and just below is a magnificent view of the First Basin alongside a swimming pool.

IMG_1091.jpg
Swimming Pool for everyone to enjoy

I had all day to explore The Cataract Gorge, which is the jewel in the crown of Launceston's rich history. An ancient formation surrounded by native bushland, the Gorge has been a source of nature and recreation for as long as most can remember.

First walk is to the Duck Reach Suspension Bridge and Power Station via the Duck Reach Trail and returning to First Basin via the Snake Gully Track. About 4.5 km loop track.

IMG_1097.jpg
Views of The First Basin and Alexandra Suspension Bridge as seen from the Duck Reach Trail

IMG_1100.jpg
Views from the Duck Reach Trail

I had a bit of fun taking photos of the swirls formed in the river. Here are few of my favorites.

IMG_1114.jpg
River Flow

IMG_1116.jpg
River Flow

IMG_1120.jpg
River Flow

IMG_1126.jpg
River Flow

About halfway through the Duck Reach Trail, you'll reach Sentinel Lookout. There's no shortage of amazing views on this track. Here are a few of my favorites.

IMG_1132.jpg
Views from Sentinel Lookout

IMG_1137.jpg
Views from Sentinel Lookout

IMG_1141.jpg
Views from Sentinel Lookout

Further down the track you'll soon have your first sights of the Duck Reach Suspension Bridge.

IMG_1153.jpg
Duck Reach Suspension Bridge

As you get closer to the bridge you'll also then have a view of the power station, which is no longer in operation. There's a wonderful display of its history inside.

IMG_1168.jpg
Duck Reach Suspension Bridge and Power Station

IMG_1176.jpg
Views from the Duck Reach Suspension Bridge

IMG_1179.jpg
Me just playing around on the Duck Reach Suspension Bridge

IMG_1183.jpg
Views from the Duck Reach Suspension Bridge

IMG_1186.jpg
Inside the Power Station

After checking out the power station I began the steep ascent to the Snake Gully Track. At the top of the steps, I took a quick break to catch my breath and admire the views down below one last time. Apart from a quick view of the city this track doesn't really offer much (in terms of views). I made it back to the First Basin Loop Track in no time but instead of returning to the car park I checked out the Band Rotunda picnic area. There were peacocks and all kinds of birds around. I had a bit of fun taking photos of them before continuing on to the Cataract Walk.

IMG_1196.jpg

IMG_1204.jpg
Spring in full swing

IMG_1216.jpg
Spring in full swing

IMG_1254.jpg

IMG_1247.jpg

IMG_1249.jpg

IMG_1239.jpg

IMG_1246.jpg

IMG_1229.jpg

IMG_1105.jpg

IMG_1112.jpg

IMG_1279.jpg
A sign of new life, new beginning

The views from the Cataract Walk didn't disappoint either. Here are a few of my favorites.

IMG_1290.jpg
South Esk River as seen from Cataract Walk

IMG_1292.jpg
South Esk River as seen from Cataract Walk

IMG_1298.jpg
A boat cruising the South Esk River, and Kings Bridge in the background

IMG_1299.jpg
South Esk River as seen from Cataract Walk

There is a track linking Kings Bridge and First Basin called Zig Zag Track but by this point, I have had my fill of walking for the day. I opted to return the same way and made my way to the car park via the First Basin Loop.

I hope you all enjoyed reading my photo diary of my first 2 days here in Tasmania. Tomorrow I head out to Cradle Mountain, I think. But that could change :)

Stay tuned

xx
jh3n

Sort:  

this pictures are really good!

Great photos

Wow Great photo. Thank you for sharing this to the community. It's very interesting, regards friend

I love your attention to details, and the feeling that I visited the place while looking through your post!
Amazing work, keep it up!

Thank you so much. I'll definitely try to keep it up :)

Hi @jh3n. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Thank you for A GREAT DIARY very interesting . I have upvoted you, if you like my posts and videos, please UPVOTE ME.

Thank u, i will visit your blog as soon as i have better wifi. My connection is so slow it takes forever to even post a reply LOL

That is great my friend

Wow! Amazing photos! I've always wanted to go to Tassie but never really knew what to expect. Thank you for sharing your journey!

Thank you. I do hope u visit one day, it's spectacular in every way! Glad you enjoyed the post :)

Great post and I enjoyed these pictures! Loved the picture of the billboard in the Airport.

I do too, it's very fitting. Thanks for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79