Tasmania Road Trip: Hansons Peak Circuit

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1395a.jpg

Hello Steemians! It's great to be back on this platform and start sharing my adventures with all of you again. It has been nearly a month since my last post. Where did time go? Well, I have just spent three amazing weeks in Tasmania (In case you missed it, I blogged about the first two days here before leaving Launceston). I would have loved to post updates as I went along with the road trip but truth of the matter is I couldn't for two reasons: 1) WiFi access was very limited/slow and in most places no WiFi and mobile service at all; and 2) I was always hiking, tackling summits, chasing sunrises, sunsets, waterfalls, and just having a good time without worrying about being connected. Sometimes I feel I need those moments to just disconnect from the world wide web to fully enjoy my adventures. After leaving Tasmania, I had a short and sweet layover in Sydney to see some friends before taking the plane to my next destination: Philippines. I have been in the country for a week now indulging on much needed relaxation and eating lots of Filipino food that I so dearly missed. So here I am fully rejuvenated and ready to share.

IMG_1448a.jpg

Cradle Mountain, the northern end of the Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park, is possibly one of the most visited places in all of Tasmania. With its captivating landscape and wealth of wildlife I could see why it would be in every Tassie visitor's list of places to tick off. Heaps of outdoor enthusiasts visit Cradle as it is home to the world-famous Overland Track, a 65km, 6 day walk that will take you to some of the most magnificent landscapes and mountain terrain. If a multi-day walk isn't your cuppa tea, the park offers an extensive network of walking tracks ranging from an easy 10 minutes walk to a full day walk. Take your pick, I'm sure there will be something to suit everyone.

IMG_1359a.jpg
Yep, that's me! I always share photos of me looking out/jumping, so here's one for a change

Getting to Cradle Mountain from Launceston was an easy two-hour drive. I vaguely remembered the drive from my first visit in 2015 but as I got closer to the national park everything became more familiar. I arrived at the visitor center just a lil past 3:30pm and purchased an 8-week holiday parks pass for AU$60 which will cover all the national parks I will be visiting on this road trip. A daily pass and other types of park passes are also available. After speaking with the helpful rangers at the visitor center, I took the 15-minute drive to Dove Lake car park, which is where a lot of the walks start. A shuttle service also runs between the two.

IMG_1314a.jpg
Hansons Peak is the round shaped peak to the left, directly above the Glacier Rock

With only four hours of day light left, Hansons Peak seemed to be a good choice for an afternoon hike. The climb is quite steep but not very long and should take no more than 3 hours return.

Following the Dove Lake Circuit Track in a clockwise direction I stopped at the Glacier Rock before veering left on to Lake Rodway Track. From the rock I could see the track I had just walked on and the car park in the distance.

IMG_1320a.jpg
Looking back at the trail on the right and Dove Lake car park in the upper left corner

IMG_1328b.jpg
Sweeping views of Dove Lake and Cradle Mountain from the Glacier Rock

The track continues to be flat after leaving the Glacier Rock but not for long. After gaining some elevation, I came across a rocky section where it looked like a landslide scene, quite possibly back in the day? The track goes right through the rock scrambles and can be easily passed.

IMG_1329a.jpg
Flat track

IMG_1338a.jpg
Landslide scene, perhaps?

IMG_1341a.jpg
A thriving tree on the rock scrambles

There was not a single cloud in the sky throughout most of the hike except maybe the last 20 minutes. Just clear blue skies. I like some clouds in my photos as it makes for a great shot. I'm not complaining though especially because it's forecasted that there will be rain in the next few days.

IMG_1344a.jpg
It was a hot, hot day but the higher I went the cooler it got

The entire walk is very picturesque, never losing sight of Dove Lake to my right and Cradle Mountain just straight ahead. As I reached a flat saddle, about 45 minutes in, I was rewarded with more stunning views of mountain ranges and Lake Hanson to my left.

IMG_1355a.jpg
Hansons Peak just to the left, shouldn't be too far now

IMG_1357a.jpg
Lake Hanson

IMG_1365a.jpg
A signature jump shot is a must

IMG_1374a.jpg
Dove Lake to the right, Lake Hanson to the left, Hansons Peak and Cradle Mountain in the background

IMG_1392a.jpg
Cool stack of rocks but this isn't the peak yet

I must have spent 20 minutes on this saddle just soaking in the views and taking some photographs. I must admit, often times, I spend a lot of time getting the shots I want especially my signature jump.

IMG_1402a.jpg
More signature jump shot shenanigans

From the saddle it was a short 15 minute hike to the peak. The last bit was quite steep with some rock scrambling but it was made easier with the help of chained ropes.

IMG_1404a.jpg
Nearly there

IMG_1408a.jpg
Steep steps

IMG_1411a.jpg
Rope assisted rock scrambles

IMG_1414a.jpg
Looking back down

As I safely passed the chained rope section, I met the only two other hikers I have seen since leaving the Glacier Rock. We exchanged a few words and learned that they were doing the Dove Lake-Hanson Peak Circuit but counter clockwise. Right from the start I knew I wanted to do a circuit as I am one who doesn't really like back tracking if a circuit is an option. I knew it was going to be longer and that I may be finishing in the dark. So, of course, I came prepared with head lamp, rain jacket, down jacket, extra water and food, charged mobile, extra batteries, etc. Being that this is an alpine hike the weather could change in an instant so always be prepared.

IMG_1425a.jpg
Getting closer to Hansons Peak

IMG_1427a.jpg
Getting even closer to Hansons Peak

IMG_1431a.jpg
Never ending views

IMG_1432a.jpg
Looking back at the track I've just done

I reached the peak in no time and snapped a few photos. From here, the plan was to do a circuit and make my way back to Dove Lake car park via the Lake Wilks Track, about 2-3 hours from Hansons Peak.

IMG_1434a.jpg
Hansons Peak at 1185 meters

IMG_1436a.jpg
Track ahead of me as seen from Hansons Peak

IMG_1442a.jpg
Stunning views of Dove Lake and Cradle Mountain

IMG_1450a.jpg
A boardwalk leading to another alpine lake

IMG_1456a.jpg
One of many alpine lakes in the national park

On this track there is an emergency shelter which is very basic and not intended for overnight stays unless necessary of course. I stopped by to check what it looks like inside.

IMG_1473a.jpg
Emergency shelter

IMG_1481a.jpg
Checking out the emergency shelter

IMG_1483.jpg
Emergency shelter

IMG_1484.jpg
It's very basic inside

From here I still had a very long way to go. After leaving the shelter, the track climbs steeply to the Face Track and Lake Wilks Track turnoff. Once in a while, I'd stop to catch my breath and admire the beauty around me. There's no shortage of epic views on this track.

IMG_1491a.jpg
Steep steps to the Face Track - Lake Wilks Track turn off

IMG_1502a.jpg
Looking back at emergency shelter and the track I've just done

IMG_1505a.jpg
Twisted Lakes

IMG_1509a.jpg
I wouldn't mind spending a few nights here

IMG_1514a.jpg
Honeymoon Islands on Dove Lake

IMG_1515a.jpg
Lake Lilla

IMG_1518a.jpg
Views of Lake Wilks, Dove Lake, & Lake Lilla from the turn off

The descent to Lake Wilks and Dove Lake is very steep but ropes are in place to assist on the rocky section. From the turnoff, the car park was still 2 hours away according to the sign. I descended very quickly and wasted no time as the sun was setting very quickly as well. After passing the rope assisted section, the exposed open track changed to a cool temperate rainforest with ancient myrtle-beech trees covered in moss.

IMG_1521a.jpg
Rope assisted section

IMG_1545a.jpg
Rainforest

I reached the Dove Lake Circuit Track in no time and with still plenty of day light left, I snapped a few photos of anything and everything that was interesting on the track. Here are a few of my favorites:

IMG_1554a.jpg
Dove Lake Circuit Track has boardwalk most of the way

IMG_1558a.jpg
Boardwalk on the Dove Lake Circuit Track

IMG_1576a.jpg
Ballroom Forest

IMG_1588a.jpg
Admiring Cradle Mountain and also thinking of the summit hike the next day

IMG_1595a.jpg
Snow gum eucalyptus

IMG_1600a.jpg
Last light on Hansons Peak

IMG_1607a.jpg
That line/stick right in the middle on the peak is actually a person

IMG_1623a.jpg

IMG_1625a.jpg

I made it to the infamous boatshed that stands on the northwestern shores of Dove Lake as the sun sets behind Cradle Mountain. From here it was an easy 10-minute walk to the car park. I spent a bit of time here just enjoying the serenity of this place and snapping a few photos. It was such a great way to end the day!

IMG_1641b.jpg
Dove Lake Boatshed

Thank you so much for reading. Hope you enjoyed it! Up next is Cradle Mountain Summit via Marions Lookout Link Track, stay tuned!

xx
jh3n

Sort:  

Congratulations @jh3n! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @jh3n! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This looks awesome. Tasmania is high on my travel list too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73