Tasmania Road Trip: Walls of Jerusalem National Park

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3442.jpg

The Walls of Jerusalem simply known as "The Walls" is not to be missed when visiting Tasmania. It had been highly recommended by friends and people I've met on my travels due to its spectacular landscape sceneries, alpine lakes and tarns, dolerite peaks, unique vegetation, and wildlife.

Having missed this jewel of a wilderness on my first visit to Tasmania in 2015, I made sure to finally tick it off my never ending list of places to visit. With a not-so-optimal weather forecast for the day and exhausted from the last 2 days of hiking in Cradle, I decided I'd sleep in to get a much needed rest. I started the day quite late arriving at the Mersey Forest Rd car park near Lake Rowallan, passed the Fish River just before 1pm. With only a lil over 7 hrs of daylight left, I quickly got my pack ready, put my hiking boots on and started the 26 km return trek to Mt Jerusalem.

The trail climbs steadily 500 meters up a well-defined track for the first 2.5km which passes through dry sclerophyll forest to Trappers Hut. A bit in a hurry and wanting to get back before dark, I wasted no time and only stopped at the walkers registration station, about 5 minutes in, before taking a quick breather at the hut - which took me less than an hour to get to.

IMG_3245.jpg
Dry sclerophyll forest

IMG_3253.jpg
Trappers Hut - an emergency shelter for hikers during poor weather

Past the Trappers Hut, the climb gently subsides and the track winds its way through small lakes or tarns known as Solomon's Jewels. After reaching the plateau, I took another half an hour to cross to the Wild Dog Creek Campsite which is about 6.5 kms one way from the car park. This is one of two campsites available to overnight hikers wanting to explore The Walls of Jerusalem National Park. I would have loved to stay and explore a bit more and hike to Solomons Throne but that will have to be saved for another visit. At this point I was 2 hrs in and half way to the summit.

IMG_3262.jpg
The track is now fairly leveled

IMG_3276.jpg
First glimpse of small alpine lakes

IMG_3277.jpg
Solomon's Jewels

IMG_3287.jpg
Track leading up to Wild Dog Creek Campsite

IMG_3290.jpg
Wild Dog Creek Campsite on the other side of the boardwalk

Past the Wild Dog Creek Campsite I climbed up to Herods Gate, which is the main entry point to the Walls of Jerusalem central basin. Then I continued on to Damascus Gate, the saddle between Solomons Throne and the Temple, which gave me amazing views of Lake Salome in the central basin towered by King Davids Peak on one side and Mt Ophel on the other.

IMG_3305.jpg
Herods Gate

IMG_3311.jpg
Lake Salome and Mount Ophel

From Damascus Gate I continued on a fairly leveled trail before going downhill towards Dixons Kingdom passing through pencil pine forest. Shortly after leaving Damascus Gate I encountered my first Tasmanian tiger snake, coiled on the stone stepped track. Unfortunately, I didn't get a photo of it as it moved so quickly. It must have been 2 to 3 feet long. Tiger snakes are one of three snakes found in Tasmania. All three are venomous. I was startled but wasn't very scared as these snakes are not aggressive as long as you leave them be. As the temperatures rise more and more reptiles come out of hibernation so I expected to encounter these creatures on my hikes.

Dixons Kingdom Hut was reached just fifteen minutes later. From here I followed the sign towards Mt Jerusalem. The track passes through a small alpine lake before the rocky switchbacks to the summit. I made it to the top in just a lil over 3.5 hrs with not much breaks. Time check: 4:45pm. With the return hike mostly downhill, I knew I'd get back to the car a lot faster. I spent about 30 minutes at the summit soaking in the views and taking some photos before retracing my steps back to the car park.

IMG_3347.jpg
Dixons Kingdom Hut

IMG_3350.jpg
Onwards to Mt Jerusalem

IMG_3365.jpg
A small alpine lake near the summit

IMG_3381.jpg
Track to the summit

IMG_3391.jpg
Summit

The stunning views of nearby lakes and mountain ranges from the summit is very impressive. It was definitely worth the hike. And to have had it all to myself made it even more special. I just wish I could've spent more time up there.

IMG_3397.jpg
Summit

A hike wouldn't be complete without a signature jump shot, of course.

IMG_3408.jpg
Signature jump shot at the summit

Below are other favorites I took at the summit.

IMG_3401.jpg

IMG_3403.jpg

IMG_3411.jpg

IMG_3414.jpg

IMG_3416.jpg

IMG_3417a.jpg

Still making good time, I made sure to check out anything and everything I missed on the way up like the Dixons Hut and its nearby facilities.

IMG_3429.jpg
Toilets near Dixons Hut

IMG_3430.jpg
Dixons Hut, an emergency shelter. Hikers may camp here if necessary

IMG_3433.jpg
Retracing my steps back

IMG_3438.jpg
Admiring Solomons Throne on the boardwalk. Rain clouds have now rolled in

Just past the Damascus Gate and down the steps towards central basin, I had my first sighting of Bennetts Wallaby in the national park. There were a few of them happily feeding on grass not far from the boardwalk. I'd usually spend a lot of time admiring these mammals but since I was racing against time and now weather, I snapped a photo and hurried towards Wild Dog Creek Campsite. I encountered another Tasmanian tiger snake just before I reached the campsite's toilet facilities. It was about a foot and was a lot thinner than the first I saw which suggests that it might have been a baby snake.

IMG_3449a.jpg
Bennett Wallaby

IMG_3450.jpg
Clouds hovering over the Dolerite Peaks of The Walls

IMG_3452.jpg
Clouds hovering over the Dolerite Peaks of The Walls

IMG_3460.jpg
Clouds hovering over the Dolerite Peaks of The Walls

IMG_3478.jpg
Looking back at the saddle, Damascus Gate

IMG_3480.jpg
Clouds hovering over the dolerite peaks of The Walls

IMG_3498.jpg
Campers set up their tent on one of the platforms at Wild Dog Creek campsite

IMG_3499.jpg
Looking back at Wild Dog Creek and the dolerite peaks of The Walls

With rain clouds threatening to open up at anytime, I snapped one last photo before putting my camera away. I made it back to my car at 8pm with still a bit of daylight left but also still a bit of a drive to get out of the corrugated, dirt ,and windy road. I drove out to Sheffield and stayed there for the night with plans to rest the next day or have an easy relaxing day that doesn't involve summits and steep hikes. But did I rest or relax? Find out on my next post :)

IMG_3501.jpg
Clouds hovering over the dolerite peaks of The Walls

As always, thank you for reading my stories. I hope you enjoyed this one as much as you did the first 3 write ups I've posted about this road trip.

Tasmania Road Trip: Launceston and Cataract Gorge
Tasmania Road Trip: Hansons Peak
Tasmania Road Trip: Cradle Mountain Summit Via Marions Lookout Link Track

xx
jh3n

Sort:  

Looks like a lovely trek, now added to my list! Have you been to the cathedral ranges north of Melbourne? They are pretty awesome... but not as pretty as this.

Thank you @cycling-goldfish :) You won't be disappointed. Just make sure to spend at least 2 days 1 night, I wish I did. More reason to go back to Tassie I guess. I haven't been to Cathedral Ranges but but I have been to the Grampians and that was spectacular.

like your photography good post.thanks for sharing

Great post ! I definetely love Tasmania I hope to go there again one day

Thank you @philfreetotravel. Already thinking to go back there on my next visit to OZ next year :)

Wow..saw the link to this post on @czechglobalhosts post and i knew it would be interesting and well i wasnt mistaken.
This is the first time i'm on your wall and i am impressed.Your travel blogging is so detailed and interesting ; makes me feel like i was there with you.
And the pictures?? sublime!
I love this.nice one

Thank you so much @ubongj. I'm so new to blogging and it makes me very happy to know someone appreciates my photos and my blog.

I thought you were visiting the city Jerusalem. I clicked so fast. wanted to see my countries from your perspective with your beautiful photography.
Well, It's still amazing! Maybe one day though

Thanks @yairdd for stopping by my blog (even if it was by accident). I do hope to visit Jerusalem one day :)

Oh, how I miss Tassie! I have spent 6 months as an exchange student in Hobart some years ago and with a college group I did one of the most amazing bush walks. I actually haven't posted my favorite photo from this hike on Steemit yet, but you can head over to my website to check it out if you like: https://julianpetersphotography.de/photo/mount-field-bw/

Last year I returned to Tassie, but since I was there from March to May winter was coming and when the weather forecast finally predicted two weeks of nice weather I used this time to do a bicycle trip from Hobart to Devonport along the East Coast. I also did a roadtrip with some fellow backpackers, but when we visited Cradle Mountain it was raining all day, so I gave up on the idea of doing a multi-day bushwalk in Cradle Mountain or Walls of Jerusalem, but Walls of Jerusalem is definitely a place I want to visit when I make it back to Tassie; Many of my friends in Tassie highly recommended me to go there. Thanks for your great post, I am a follower now!

I've just checked out your blog and your website. Both amazing! I am now a follower as well.

So glad to have finally visited Walls of Jerusalem. A lot more remote than Cradle thus a lot less touristy.
I love Cradle, I just wish I was able to do the Overland Track as I had already missed it in 2015. I would actually love to explore the more remote Southwest NP but it will require a lot more planning than I was prepared for. I guess I'll just have to go back again, hopefully sooner than later.

Kudos to you for cycling the East Coast. I have so much respect for those who take the time to slow down and cycle to really experience a place :) I wish I could say the same for me but truth is I'm not a good cyclist. LOL.

Thank you! I have also followed you (already did so when I stumbled about this post!). I am getting jealous that you will return to Tassie so soon haha, for me it will probably be some years..

I went camping in the South of Tassie with some of my Tasmanian friends last time I visited and we did a days hike to the southernmost point of Tasmania, I think this was already part of Southwest NP but this is probably the most accessible part of this remote NP. As most trails are one way there, some people actually book helicopter drop offs and then spend some weeks walking back to civilization..

I think I know what you're referring to, my friends and I camped in Cockle Creek for a night and did the walk to South Cape Bay the next day. We encountered a lot of walkers who were finishing the multiday walk from Melaleuca, one day I'd also love to do this walk :)

I'm going back to Australia early 2018 and really hoping I could fit in a quick trip to Tassie to tackle the Overland Track.

Yeah, that was the name of the place!
I also remember meeting some hikers covered in mud returning from the multi-day-trek :D
I have seen your post with photos of Australia and I recognize quite a lot of these places, seems like you have already seen a lot of this beautiful country! Last year I traveled from Hobart to Darwin, but I would love to visit the West Coast next time. Enjoy your trip!

I've just spent nearly 10 months in Australia and drove about 35,000 km :) The West Coast is amazing. I reckon Western Australia is my favorite of all the states. So much to see and so much distance to cover, I'm definitely returning in hopes to see more of this vast country @jpphotography :)

35000 km seems a lot, I have no idea how much I actually travelled since I was hitchhiking, cycling and traveling with ride shares. I have seen so many amazing photos from Western Australia, I really want to go there!

Hi! I just picked your stunning image as a winner of Australian Monday in my 7 World`s Continents Photo Challenge. Kindly see your winner announcement post below and answer some of the congratulation comments. Thank you. Tomas

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – Australian Monday week #14 – winner announcement!

Hey Tomas, thank you again for selecting my photo and for the extended publicity. I am truly grateful for this platform and for the opportunities it provides. Thank you for helping newbies like myself. Continue to do the good work you do in this community @czechglobalhosts :)

Wow thanks for such a detailed description on the hike. I have seen some shots from the other side of the walls? Do you know how accessible that is ?

Thank you @intrepidphotos. I am not sure how accessible it is but i think there is a multiday hike connecting Cradle and The Walls :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67