THIS IS MELBOURNE: top 10 things to do

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

First up in my travel series is one of my all-time favourite cities and a place I had the pleasure of living in for 6 months, Melbourne. It’s such a quirky, colourful, vibrant city full of delicious coffee, art and boutiques - it's definitely the culture capital of Australia. There’s hidden cafes, narrow lanes and an abundance of architecture and artistic delights to enjoy. 

1. Walk around the stunning Royal Botanical Gardens 

Not only are these gardens an 86-acre oasis of colour and aroma, but you can even enjoy an open-air movie during the summer months, thanks to Moonlight Cinema https://www.moonlight.com.au/melbourne/program/. Don’t forget to visit the Shrine of Remembrance war memorial, then read a book and unwind in the tranquil greenery.   

 

2. Explore the unique street art  

 There’s an enormous street art scene in the city and it’s very famous for the out-there content. I’d suggest wandering down Hosier Lane and the neighbouring lane-ways to start off with but you can also take a street art tour, which will show you lots of hidden gems.    

3. Queen Victoria market 

This wonderful outdoor market is full of meat, fish and dairy stalls as well clothes and jewellery and is the largest open-air market in the southern hemisphere. Even better, there’s a night market every Wednesday during the summer months which buzzes with great smells and music – think street foods stalls, entertainment, artisan shopping and performers.    

Sourced from Pinterest

4. Admire iconic Flinders Street station and Federation Square 

Flinders Street station is the busiest in the southern hemisphere and a very popular meeting place in the city. Then when big events are on, they're screened in the nearby Federation Square and you can grab a drink and sit in a deck chair. Definitely go check them both out! It's the central hub of Melbourne.

 

5. Wander around beautiful Abbotsford Convent 

Now this place is a personal favourite of mine and an amazing place to spend a sunny afternoon. You can stroll around the grounds of the convent (there's even a mini farm), marvel at the gorgeous architecture and then head to Lentil as Anything for some dinner (I’ll be telling you more about this restaurant in my next travel post).   

Sourced from Pinterest

6. One word - Fitzroy  

Fitzroy is COOL. Very East-London vibes. This is a great opportunity to hop on a tram from the CDB (central business district), grab a famous Melbourne coffee (WHAT is their secret?) and explore this cracking suburb. I'd recommend Smith Street, Gertrude Street and Brunswick Street to stroll down and just feast your eyes on the vegan cafes, boutique stores, vintage and charity shops. Glorious. 

Sourced from Pinterest

7. Grab a burger in a rooftop train carriage in Collingwood 

Enjoy a delicious burger (veggie and vegan included) with a twist at Easey’s - https://www.easeys.com.au/. It’s an American diner style gourmet experience but the venue is everything! 

 

8. Head to the beach and Luna Park at St Kilda 

St Kilda is the Brighton of Melbourne, famous for its seaside vibe, beach, cafes and of course…..Luna Park. This slightly outdated amusement park may seem a bit odd at first but it’s a must do in St Kilda and you can get your candy floss fix at least.   

 

Sourced from Pinterest

9. Dejour Jeans in Brunswick  

This place was introduced to me by my Melbournian mate and man, did she do me a favour. It might not look like much from the outside, but this is a haven of jeans. Any shape, any colour, any style and tailored to your body shape…all for around $50. They are hands down the best jeans I’ve ever owned.  You're welcome.

Sourced from Pinterest

10. Rent a car and head to the incredible Great Ocean Road 

This is a separate trip in itself, but you can’t visit Melbourne and not experience one of the world’s most scenic coastal drives nearby - the Great Ocean Road. Wild koalas, the historic 12 Apostles, spectacular surfing, seaside villages and much more. It's heaven. 

 

Can you tell I love Melbourne? Damn this is making me want to move back. There is so much to see in this vibrant city and you could easily spend a few weeks here just soaking it all up. In my next travel post, I’ll share my top cafes, bars and restaurants in the city.

*Photos are my own, unless otherwise stated.

Let me know what you love to do in Melbourne in the comments!

Jo

Sort:  

A great, easy to follow guide! Perfect for any first timers to Melbourne. Fab work, Jammers!

Thanks my lovely @yasminep - just a few of my highlights! Hope we can go there together one day and just drink coffee allllll day x

wonderful @joham
I WOULD suggest you to add the tag ocd-resteem to these kind of posts!!! you can ping me on discord to share more of my tips, it's the same username as here

Ah thanks for the tip @alexandraioana26 that's great - still trying to figure out discord but I'll get there ha!

Excellent article on Melbourne, the pictures look fantastic. It makes me want to visit :)

Thanks so much @practicaleric, it's just the best place, you definitely have to visit. I'll be writing more about it very soon, there's tons of cool cafes and restaurants that I want to share with everyone :)

Great guide! Living in Australia’s been my greatest hidden dream since I was a child, I wonder if one day I’ll be able to realize it 🤔

Do it @fedesox, you'll love it there! If you love a proper beach, then Sydney or Byron Bay is the place for you but if you love cultural, arty cities then Melbourne is the one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85