You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with me #91 : The National Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall, Taipei!

in #travel7 years ago

A divergence from your usual posts today, sssj, and one that's remarkable in a way.

You permitted your followers to see a more reflective side of you as you recounted the intricacies of the troubled relationship between China and Taiwan --a topic that I would be wary of exploring.

I think you did an admirable job of trying to be objective and cognizant of both sides although we both know your education was biased in this regard, but you have made every effort to see the merits of each side's point of view and I think that's impressive, even admirable.

Some say beauty is the only thing worth having in a woman but I think beauty and intelligence complement each other in comprising a fully mature human being and I believe your openness to new experiences has deepened your appreciation of various countries' history and culture.

One of your respondents called you a history teacher, and I think that comment wasn't far off the mark.

You're not light duty, sssj, and you're not afraid to weigh into even controversial matters.

Yes, of course, there was the obligatory tour of monuments and tourist sites as well as a visit to a simple local restaurant offering homemade food, but for me, the impressive thing was how you navigated the minefield of China-Taiwan relations.

Finally, I had to smile at the museum showcasing so many of Chiang Kai-Shek's personal belongings--it reminded me of the Elvis Presley museum in Niagara Falls complete with pink Cadillac.

I suppose even political leaders can become celebrities.

An intriguing post today, @seetsssj

Sort:  

Thanks John, I think you recognised the difficulty I had when approaching this piece. Aside the huge amount of essential reading associated with the matter, the hardest part was as you said trying to be objective. For all of my life, I was taught one view of the story. A view which obviously has it's bias and yet we had no reason to believe there was another view to consider.. until now.

As a result, learning about things I thought I already knew became a revelation of sorts, and a new opportunity to learn again. Such an enjoyable exercise I must say!

I really admire you. I would love to make a living traveling. I've traveled to lots of places already. I'm working on it. I'll hopefully get to it. :)

Yes wow I was surprised that you made this post! But it is nothing too controversial!
I bet you will have no problem and this is a good step in the right direction, just keep up the 3 Mantras of China Taiwan Relations, Language, Travel and Culture

China and Taiwan speak the same language

China and Taiwan allow travel between their neighboring nations and Communication online is also vital

China and Taiwan share the same Han Culture.

There will be no future conflicts between China and Taiwan and prosperity is the agenda. My country of course is meddling but we have an agenda to keep our own relationship with China stable for economic reasons.... Taiwan will find some sort of happy balance like Hong Kong and Macau... do you think Taiwan will become like Hong Kong? or was that situation unique because of British Rule? It seems like Taiwan will have much to teach the Mainland when it comes to open democracy, freedom of the press and personal and religious freedom.... when all combined give you the vibrant economically advanced Taiwan.... the levels of creativity and incentive are higher in Free market systems... maybe we can convince the Chinese government that a more open China will be a more wealthy China.

I want you to remain free from controversy and if anyone important is reading this, they should know that Sweetsssj has always portrayed a positive view of China and it's people!

Anyway you will set an example for Chinese to join Steem Blockchain and to invest in new cryptocurrecy. China is already the leader in Bitcoin and I have maps from Google Trends that show China as the #1 country growing on Steemit. Look at this google trends graph from just now!
https://trends.google.com/trends/explore?q=steemit

China shows up as the largest country with the highest search numbers for Steemit! So we should start catering to our new Chinese Audiences!

We should also expect a Chinese Stem Hardfork like Golos for Russia! I hear there is a steem hardfork for China coming starts with a Y i believe and is the Chinese word for voice maybe? I feel like I have heard about a Chinese steem hardfork, maybe you know about it... I believe that will be a project we should pay attention to, and in the meantime, let's pay attention to Steemit in China and Taiwan and Hong Kong!
And thank you again for all your support! You are making my life so much better and I cannot tank you enough! When I am a steemit whale next year I will continue to promote you and will repay your kindness one day in an equivalent manner!!

first time here! I'm inspired by your blog. Great sharing! Love You Sweetsssj

welcome welcome , hope to see you more often lordkalki

all photos awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62