Steemit Cancer Free Road Trip Journal #7 - Albuquerque, New Mexico

in #travel6 years ago

Our next stop was Albuquerque, where we stopped and saw Sandia Peak and some of the petroglyphs scattered around the mountains there. 

Sandia Peak was our first stop, and unfortunately, I ended up causing a bit of a scene.

Apparently, there is a "Tram" that takes people up to the top of the mountain, and when I heard about this I didnt have much of a problem with the idea, because I was thinking it was some kinda monorail on tracks or something, but when got there, I learned that it was just some giant bucket hanging from a string, going miles into the air. 

So as soon as I got on that thing, and realized what was going on, I started to have a panic attack. I am not a huge fan of heights in general, but its not bad when there is a floor below me. So I am fine on the roof of a tall building or on a mountain, as long as I am standing on solid ground. This is much of the reason why I hate airplanes, and took a road trip for this vacation lol.

After humiliating Kali by acting like a big baby, lol, we finally got to the top.

Next we went to the Mesa Point trail to check out the petroglyphs, but unfortunately they were a bit harder to see because recent rains had made the stones wet. We were lucky to get an hour or two of clear skies so we could actually hike the trail.


 I am currently on road trip to celebrate my recovery from   cancer,  and the whole trip is funded by steem, which I discussed in my   first road trip journal.   Next will be my trip to Las Vegas!   Thanks  so  much  to everyone who has helped me on steemit to make this   possible!   

Sort:  

Nice stop on the way! My grandma lives in New Mexico so I go through there quite often. There are some old caves they turned into cliff dwellings that have some more petroglyghs . I don't remember the name though

I’ve spent a lot of time exploring those mountains. Beautiful, powerful country. You can feel ancient energy resonating through the hieroglyphs.

Abq has some pretty ghetto parts, but between Abq, Santa Fe, Taos, Farmington, And Shiprock, Northern New Mexico has some of the most beautiful scenery.

Have you been to Taos? Or explored southern Colorado? Telluride might be the most beautiful place I’ve ever been. You would absolutely love it there. The Blues and Brews festival in September might be the best concert I’ve ever been to.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99