The Funny Thing About Traveling...

in #travel5 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/jongolson-the-funny-thing-about-traveling-kgyfmu71-1541462108433.png

So I’m sitting in the international departure lounge in Toronto...Waiting to board my flight to Munich and then onto Krakow.

And I started thinking...

Which is never a good thing lol

I’m not what you would call an international traveler and this is my first time to europe in almost 3 decades.

So I was completely ignorant to what I needed in terms of currency.

Euros?
Zloty?

Or do i risk it and live off my credit card this week...

And then it really hit me.

My goodness, crypto is so needed! Especially for travelers.

I got charged a small fortune to buy both euros and zloty in the airport here and i’m still not sure which one or both I need lol

Crypto solves this instantly.

No hassle. No massive fees. Potentially accepted worldwide.

So this is a short and sweet post via Partiko. But just imagine a world where international currency wasn’t needed. And all we needed was STEEM ;)

I like that future...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Safe travels!

thank ya kindly :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey Jon, if you buy something from Germany (I know you'll switch planes there), use Euros. In Poland use Zloty, as they, just like Romania, we are not part of the Euro Zone yet, and the national currencies are still the official ones and the everything is exchanged to them, in the end.

makes sense. pardon the north american ignorance. this euro thing is funny to us lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I only know about it because I live here. I don't imagine a regular Japanese has any insight into these details either.

so how far are you from krakow?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Almost 1000 km. Can't be there though.

dang. woulda been cool to meet up.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Right on brotha. I feel the same. Crypto would definitely relieve that headache. Soon... 🙂

Posted using Partiko iOS

heaven sent for sure.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, it will all be so much easier with crypto. But lucky you headed to Steemfest! Enjoy.

yeah can’t wait. should be a ton or fun.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You should prefer using cash money. There are sometimes really crazy exchange rates. And you are right, all those foolish rates would be over with crypto.

ya the less i use my credit card the better lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Smart you have yourself covered with having both money with you Hop you are having fun

Posted using Partiko iOS

yessir. just checked into the airport.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Zloty is the official currency but the Euro is widely excepted as well.

Be sure to accept credit card payments only in Zloty as most of the credit card payment providers charge their own conversion rate, that could be sometimes much more than the rate you get at master, visa etc.

They usually set the payment currency to your own local and thus you end up with a bill higher than necessary.

When I lived in Germany I traveled quite often to Poland and learned that lesson with extra charges when using credit cards in Poland. (most staff in stores have no clue and it is the global payment provider who is somehow greedy it seems )

... grrrrrrr ... crypto is needed definitely!!!!

Safe travels!!!!!!!!

thanks very much. yeah it’s needed so bad lol gonna try to go cash only on this trip. no credit cards. just heard the horror stories of people coming to north america trying to use their cards here and the troubles they found.

Posted using Partiko iOS

YEP!!! So right! I had attempts in stores charging me around 5 euro (as I had a German Credit Card) exchange fees and a creepy low exchange rate while using my card ... more than doubled the price for three coffee. Cash is for sure the better choice.

Hi @jongolson!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.141 which ranks you at #3067 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 37 places in the last three days (old rank 3104).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 265 contributions, your post is ranked at #7.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97