Smiling in Seattle: My Short Visit to the Emerald City

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

What's up!

Today I was feeling compelled to write about a rather special place that we had the pleasure of visiting while staying in the Pacific Northwest. That place is none other than...

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Seattle, Washington

---------------------------------------------------------------------

bigstock-Seattle-5592955.jpg

This photo is from Google Images

While we only got to spend one full day in the city, it left its mark on every member of my family.

Back in early August, after crossing the border back into the U.S. from British Columbia, we were parked at a campground right outside of Seattle. We set aside one day that we would drive into the city to explore, simply walking around to see what it offered.

And of course, just as any tourist would do, we made one of our first stops to be the Space Needle. If you've never seen the Space Needle before, let me assure you that it's quite the sight.

5F5F2B0B-0226-4D25-99C1-33947B7DB746.JPG

This photo doesn't even do it justice. When standing before it in person it feels so much bigger. This is certainly not an attraction for anyone scared of heights. Trust me, my mother knows all about that. She had the opportunity to ride the elevator to the top when she went on a business trip to Seattle a couple years before this visit, and it didn't go too well.

Needless to say, she didn't have any desire to go up again, so her and my dad stayed down below while my siblings and I traveled up. Considering how incredibly expensive the ride up is, it turned out well that only three of us went up.

After waiting in line for a while, we rode up the elevator, crammed together with other tourists like a bunch of sardines. The guide that was in the elevator with us was super funny, so that helped the uncomfortable nature of the ride at least a little bit.

As the doors opened up to let us out, a spectacular scene met our eyes.

39FE4AE4-DC7A-44C7-82B9-B9D8518117CC.JPG

5F43D3A6-535E-424B-B1A0-5C39E9CC3BC2.JPG

It was a bit overcast, which made the experience even more authentic, being that we were in the PNW. The cloudy skies really complimented the view of the city below, creating a very moody vibe to the experience.

When it was time to head back down, it was hard to peel my eyes away from the seemingly endless expanse.

Our next stop in the city was to the very famous Public Market, home to the Original Starbucks. I used to work at Starbucks during my senior year of high school, and even though it wasn't exactly my favorite place on earth, it was still very cool to lay my eyes upon the origins of one of the biggest coffee companies in the world.

41D8E8FE-3F52-4B23-BF58-E5B65C935A1C.JPG

After roaming around the Center for a while, we didn't have any specific places we wanted to visit. We ended up finding this pretty cool spot that was right next to the Public Market, offering views of both the city and Elliot Bay. Looking at the map, I believe we were at Pier 62, which is a fairly popular location to soak in the sights of Seattle.

There were these interesting benches on the pier that had a very nautical vibe to them, which I thought was a nice touch. My brother, getting a little bored with just looking around, started running around and jumping off the seats, allowing my dad to captured this action shot of his master-level parkour (not really ;-)).

EC207225-BB99-4ECD-9497-D722D5410DBB.JPG

---------------------------------------------------------------------

And there's my trip to Seattle! It's not much, but I really appreciate you taking the time to read about my visit.

If you want to stay updated on all of my family's travels around the U.S. and Canada, you can follow me! We're about to start heading up the East Coast, which we have never thoroughly explored before, so much more travel articles are to come!

Hope you all have an amazing day!

Peace :-)

---------------------------------------------------------------------

!steemitworldmap 47.609473 lat -122.339725 long Seattle, Washington D3SCR

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=josiahthomas
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=smiling-in-seattle-my-short-visit-to-the-emerald-city


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75