We Climbed Up a Mountain in Glacier National Park...

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Waddup

Hope today has been a great day for all of you.

Today I wanted to share with you the incredible experience my brother, dad, and I had in Glacier National Park. Specifically in Logan Pass, a section in the eastern part of Glacier NP.

All of the pictures below were edited to look as close to film photos as possible. I have a very real love for the look and feel of film, but have never been able to actually buy one for myself. So instead I am going to pretend these were taken on a film camera, with the character of the photos and story as a whole greatly enhanced (in my view).

One morning, back in the good ol' summer of '17, we set out to hike up Mount Oberlin. It's a relatively small mountain, measuring at 8,179 feet, but the adventure itself felt big.

D81E4184-8B71-4D40-9921-421F6142E96E.JPG

Mount Oberlin can be seen on the far left side of the photo

The drive up to trailhead is nothing less than gorgeous. Everywhere you look there are rock behemoths and flowing cascades.

F1D590C5-8336-486B-BFEA-A672E0729364.JPG

90D44FFD-F39F-4305-99B7-CAB25F2D35A6.JPG

The path up to the peak of the mountain is not exactly a traditional trail. Although there is a very rough "path", the trail is not maintained, and most of the path has to be marked by cairns. If you don't have a keen eye that is able to spot small cairns marking the direction you should walk, it can be very easy to get lost.

It took us a while to find the beginning of the trail, mainly because there isn't any actual markings that tell of a trail. Unless you know what to look for, there's no way anyone would realize there was any hike to the mountain. We were quite confused at first because when we finally found the start, there was a rope across it. We don't give up that easily, however, so we crossed the barrier, feeling rebellious ;-)

4BD6E2C9-343C-405E-8B7D-161BC2B3AAED.JPG

A63E47FF-174C-45B2-A287-6301FED7CEC0.JPG

2B37941A-D615-43C0-8C9A-61CAD946138A.JPG

The hike itself is absolutely gorgeous. I found myself smiling the entire time, not for any reason other than being glad that I was there, enjoying the natural features of Northern Montana.

As you may have seen in a couple of the above photos, there was still some snow on the ground even though it was the middle of July. I wasn't entirely surprised, considering how high in elevation we were, though it also made for a bit of challenge. I hadn't planned for trekking through snow, so I was wearing my Chacos (hiking sandals, basically). This decision proved to stab me in the back, for I had to walk through very cold snow in nearly bare feet. No worries! I still had a great time, even though I lost feeling in all of my toes.

D874F583-CEE7-48FE-AD6E-8365E57C861E.JPG

CB2D9B40-390C-470B-892A-72EACD644A03.JPG

73184010-EC7B-40F8-B9BF-C630BF467826.JPG

After a while of trudging through the slippery snow, we crested what felt like the top of a hill. Personally, I was pretty relieved to be out of the steep snowy part of the hike. But when we took a look around, we noticed that we were actually walking along the ridge of the mountain! It was truly a surreal experience. That has always been one of my goals in life, and there I found myself completing it unintentionally.

D59FADF2-ABD5-4038-8DF2-B6FD41CB1BCB.JPG

Right as we stepped foot on the top of the mountain, I felt an immediate sense of peace. All around us, 360 degrees, were magnificent views, unparalleled in anything I had seen before. We sat up there for a while, soaking it all in, not really wanting to leave. We were completely alone up there, besides the few chubby chipmunks that peeked their heads up at us every once in a while.

D1BA4B5D-1AAE-4668-8B17-86F773F42D3C.JPG

My little brother and I

Here's a quick little gif of the views we had up there.

IMG_6117.GIF

From the top we could see that the formation we were standing on was part of a bigger formation that almost looked like a bowl.

33874647-255F-4F82-8DC2-B4408B7A4744.JPG

Eventually we had to head down (sadly). It was a fairly smooth trip, other than having to turn back to find my brother's phone that he lost at the top... we never found it.

When we were close to the end of the hike, we passed multiple other groups of people that were headed up to the top. We made sure to let them know how worth it the trek was.

5B940846-C5A4-41CC-BEAD-654422526592.JPG

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I really appreciate you taking the time to read about our hike to the top of Mount Oberlin! If you want to stay updated on all of my future travels around the U.S. and Canada, make sure to follow me! I'll be posting many more adventures, hopefully allowing you all to live through them with me.

Peace :-)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

!steemitworldmap 48.704106 lat -113.736807 long Glacier National Park (Mount Oberlin) D3SCR

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest!

Wow, that’s awesome!! Thank you so much :-)

Very nice. I live in Idaho and there were so many Grizzly attacks in Montana this year it makes a guy think about those areas. I am glad your safe and enjoyed the hike.

Man, that is certainly scary to think about. We didn’t see any bears, but we did come face to face with a massive moose, and that was pretty terrifying!

These pics are great. Thank you for sharing your hiking experience in that beautiful landscape.

I appreciate it! Thanks for reading

Love your hike report. I simply adore Glacier National. I just finished a series on hikes there and am about to do a series on Banff and Jasper.

Awesome! I’ll make sure to check them out

Hey, I found your post thanks to the travel digest, keep making amazing travel content. Great post!

Thank you very much! I really appreciate you reading. I'll make sure to keep at it!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=josiahthomas
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=we-climbed-up-a-mountain-in-glacier-national-park


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66