Intruder in my Hotel Room

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Was on short vacation to Bintan Island with friends.
I was there for 3day 2night stay, this happened on second night when i returned from dinner and chill out session with friends.

When i returned to my room at 1030pm, the moment i opened the hotel room door, i noticed a strong cigarette smell gushing out from the door. As soon as i slot in my room key, lights came on and to my horror, the connecting room door was open.

I was in shock for awhile before i called the reception to inform on the incident.

The hotel staff came shortly, handed us a new set of key to another room.
The hotel staff evaluated the room and he too agree the cigarette smell was definately there. He checked on the connecting door and he realised the knob was faculty, which explained how the neighbour from next door got into our room.

To be frank, I was really upset this happened, i had strong feeling of privacy being intruded.
But what to do, i can only blame myself for not checking on the door when i checked in the room.

20180428_232657.jpg!

I hope to share my experience, whenever check into hotel always check that the connecting door is not faculty.
Not all hotel will take responsibility.

Sort:  

Oh, thats really creepy. It really should be their responsibility, not yours
They should have at least given you one night free.

lolx.. Thanks @white.tiger , to be frank i was really upset, the hotel did not even apologise for this incident. This resort was really lovely, but i guess in indonesia, the service is still not quite there yet.

Thats a shame

That was scary. Was any thing stolen from your room?

I checked, lucky nothing was gone, i even left my ipad on charging in the room, i covered it under the menu in the room.

wah so dangerous, did the person ransack ya stuffs ? what compensation the hotel management give ? post on their fb page to warn others.

the hotel did not even apologise, so do you think ? lolx..
haiz... next time dont go to those hotel with bad reviews, this one was picked by fren.

Glad that nothing was ransacked. The hotel manager's comment was : Our Guest from next door must be curious, they just walked in to explore. Asking me not to be so upset.

True fact was, i was more upset with how the manager handled the situation.

The spending at this hotel is rather costly too, the charge for wanton mee is SGD $20 per plate... I will never go to this hotel ever again.

I heard the resort was owned by a Singaporean thou.

arghh didnt apologise and give that kind of stupid excuse. What's the name of the resort ? charge high fee but service doesn't match the price mark sux

Hmm.. that is really quite bad. Good to know you didn't lose anything. Do you mind sharing which hotel is that?

Nirwana Resort

Thanks! Will make a mental note on that. Haha..

Did they take anything?

Thank god... Nothing was lost

oh my, I would have been really upset and wondering if they took anything. Luckily this happened early enough for you to change a room, and not at night. Glad you're safe!

OMG!! I hope they didn't go through your stuff!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61