Reliving My Childhood: Visiting Dinosaur World!

in #travel5 years ago

IMG_1556.JPG

IMG_1005.JPG

Ok, let me explain. There's a backstory to this.

Ever since I've been passing through Kentucky on my way back to Nashville when I visit up north, I've seen this massive inflatable T-Rex (that's legit like 30-40 feet tall) from the interstate with a sign that says "Dinosaur World, You Just Missed Us!".

And for literally 3 years I thought that meant that this was like a seasonal thing and every single gosh darn time I passed it was always out of season.

I started to wonder why I was ALWAYS missing the dinos...before I realized that the sign just meant that I'd just passed where they were at....thus "just missed" them.

So...in honor of me being an absolute dingus, let's start with a bit of redemption!

BOOM!

IMG_3690.JPG

(Also please help fam, I've looked everywhere, but cannot find instructions for how to rotate an image in Markdown!)

There he is! The T-Rex in all it's glory. WE FINALLY GOT TO SEE HIM UP CLOSE....LET'S GOOOOOO

And so yeah, after many, many years, me and a friend were coming back from a day hike at Mammoth Cave and we decided...this is long overdue. Let's go have some fun, relive our childhoods, and hit up Dinosaur World.

And so, we went forth to conquer!

IMG_5328.JPG

Basically, it's like a dream come true....if you're 4-6 year old.

But, since I like to live my life as if I'm looking at everything through a child's eyes (just to be more grateful and more in awe of the world)....that meant that DINOSAUR WORLD WAS EPIC!

IMG_3644.JPG

IMG_2382.JPG

IMG_7107.JPG

I knew the whole time that if I'd visited it as a kid, I would be so stoked.

There are basically 50-60 sets of different sculptures of all these different species of Dinos!

Look at this dude, he's literally got a fin on his back!

IMG_1138.JPG

Brontosauri are some of my favorites!

IMG_4827.JPG

And so so so many more that I'd never even heard of.

Like these guys:

IMG_6289.JPG

This was one of the meat-eaters that I'd never heard of, and while they were really small, take a look at those teeth! Must have been ferocious.

And I also learned a ton on this "field trip" (let's call it that!), thanks to these plaques that were everywhere, giving more of the history of each of the unique species:

IMG_6310.JPG

(Sorry again, all my plaque photos were vertical....)

And then there were a bunch of the species that I had seen when I used to read all the Magic School Bus books while I was growing up!

Here's some of those:

IMG_0853.JPG

IMG_8836.JPG

IMG_3757.JPG

Then, there was also this dude who basically is like a T-Rex but with a horn! So like a rhino-T-Rex. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!

IMG_7630.JPG

Over here, peep the T-Rex in the back left eyeing down the Chasmosauri...run little baby Chasmis...RUNNNNN! (Yes, these look like Triceratops, but I learned from one of the plaques that they are in fact completely distinct in multiple ways! Pretty awesome learning cool stuff like this.)

IMG_3774.JPG

And some more dinosaur pics:

IMG_0788.JPG

IMG_3357.JPG

Dino with big teeth:

IMG_4069.JPG

Skeleton Dino:

IMG_2028.JPG

And, to wrap up the day, there was a WOOLY MAMMOTH section as well!

Y'all. I love woolies.

They're so cool. I literally wish they still existed.

But, this will do for now.

Step forth into the Mammoth Garden!

IMG_3572.JPG

IMG_4166.JPG

IMG_2581.JPG

And that's a wrap! Truly epic day reliving my childhood over at Dinosaur World!

If you ever pass it while driving south through Kentucky, make sure to stop by!

Sort:  

Nice post @jumpmaster! For the little kid in all of us ...

Given your interest, if you are ever out West, you may wish to visit Dinosaur Natl. Monument just outside Vernal, Utah. The largest collection of dinosaur fossils in the country. With a cliff face actively being worked through, as has been the case since I really was a little kid ... 😉


P.S. For your next travel post, I would encourage you to check out @steemitworldmap. You can "pin" posts like this to it! Passing on the very nice tip on this I first received from @delishtreats!

No way, that sounds amazing! I'm definitely making my way over to check that out next time I'm out hiking in Arizona/Utah. Thanks for the recommendation! Cool, I'll check Steemit world map out!

Oh, so you're a hiker too @jumpmaster! Then you definitely want to make your way out there - Dinosaur National Monument - as there is wonderful hiking all around that area. Don't miss out on Flaming Gorge dam, which is nearby, as another great place to visit - it backs up the Green river, the single biggest tributary to the Colorado river, coming down from the incomparable Wind River Range (the finest backpacking experiences of my long life ...) in Wyoming ...

Thanks for the tips my friend! I've had Wyoming on my list for a long, long time, so hopefully will make it out there sometime soon. And of course will check out Dinosaur National Monument!

Certainly my pleasure @jumpmaster ...

"Thanks for the tips my friend! I've had Wyoming on my list for a long, long time ..."

... and you will find this is an awesome state. In the summer ... 😉

If and when the time comes, if you'll put a link to my account in there somewhere, I'll know you've written about your experience and will look forward to reading it! 👍

Will do!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Will do!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thanks friends! Appreciate you as always @for91days!

Heya DUDE its so fun to see your PARK over there, i was in a Dinosaurpark in germany today and im still sorting my pictiures to do my post, and its fun to see how similar these Parks are :D

Great post...

No way! Haha that's awesome. Hope you had a blast at your Dinosaur Park as well!

Haha for sure we had... but damn i didnt get it managed to sort all these Pictures i made...

An inflatable 30-40 feet tall t-rex is something that would not just complete my childhood, but my adulthood as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha agreed. It really was as epic as it sounds!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Y'all rock, thank you! And I got you! Already voted for y'all as a witness.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @livvu.

Thanks @livvu and @helpiecake! Y'all rock!

Congratulations @jumpmaster! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71