#SightsOf: Cuba (Day 1)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey there guys!

As you guys may know, and for those of you who don't know, I am a full time photographer and I travel as much as I can. Right now my goal is to visit a new foreign country at least once a year.

This is my first post of a blog series called "#SightsOf," where I will be uploading and showing you guys the photos I have taken/ will take in my future travels. To kick the series of I will be starting with photos from my trip to Cuba this past March. These photos are only from Day 1; I will be uploading the series by location/ day.

Cuba has always been on my bucket list. With Obama lifting travel restrictions before his term ended, my brother and I decided to take advantage of it and head out to Cuba with our girlfriends.

DSC_8449.jpg
20mm 2.8: 1/640sec f/ 8.0 ISO 800

The first place we visited was Old Havana. We hopped into a taxi and asked him to drop of anywhere in the city. He dropped us off right in front of Havana's Capital building. (pictured above)

DSC_8442.jpg
20mm 2.8: 1/640sec f/ 8.0 ISO 800

DSC_8463.jpg
20mm 2.8: 1/400sec f/ 8.0 ISO 640

DSC_8461.jpg
20mm 2.8: 1/100sec f/ 8.0 ISO 640

DSC_8470.jpg
20mm 2.8: 1/400sec f/ 8.0 ISO 640

On our first day in Cuba we were greeted with lots and lots of rain. One minute it would be pouring and the next minute it would be completely gone and be bright as day. In the picture above is my girlfriend playing in the rain right before it stopped.

DSC_8475.jpg
20mm 2.8: 1/250sec f/ 11 ISO 640

DSC_8483.jpg
20mm 2.8: 1/250sec f/ 11 ISO 640

DSC_8508.jpg
20mm 2.8: 1/500sec f/4.0 ISO 640

We didn't really have a plan for the day, or really the whole trip, we just explored and got lost in the city. Eating in hole in the wall mom & pop shops and hanging out with the locals.

DSC_8572.jpg
50mm 1.4: 1/500sec f/4.0 ISO 500

DSC_8474.jpg
20mm 2.8: 1/250sec f/8.0 ISO 640


That concludes the first post of the #SightsOf Series, be sure to follow and get up to date with the series! I will be posting more soon. Also, any feedback would be greatly appreciated.


CAMERA: Nikon D610
LENS: 20mm 2.8 NIKKOR, 50mm 1.4 NIKKOR

Sort:  

Can you please provide some info on your equipment and exposure data if you can, @jvdotsls? Thank you.

Hey @lighteye, of course! I will update the post with the following in a few minutes

You have some beautiful photos of Cuba so far. I look forward to seeing more. Thanks for sharing!

Very nice view of Cuba in the rain @jvdotsls. Upvoted, resteemed, followed & DPS.

Please state clearly how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS. Thank you.

Thank you! I really appreciate it. I'd prefer with a linked photo please!

You're welcome @jvdotsls, and thank you.

awesome shots!

thank you @dxxxr!

I've always wanted to go to cuba I hear that the food is great to
amazing beach... wow thanks for the great pics upvoted and followed!

Yes the food is amazing, and the beaches are to die for! I will be posting a couple photos from the beach soon.

Nice to hear your day #1 storey, beautiful photos, looking forward to hear your up coming stories and photos
Nice black & white photos, following you, see my posts and follow me @athavan

Thank you @athavan! I saw you visited Cuba as well, love the Cuban taxi shot.

Yes, i have been to cuba few times but mostly to resort areas where you wont experience the culture or values of Cuba.

Resteemed and upvoted🙂

thank you @mxzn, I appreciate it.

@jvdotsls your pictures are amazing. Follow

Thank you @max28! Your photos are amazing as well, followed. Can't wait to see more!

Great post with beautiful photos of that awesome city! I like the mix of monochrome and colored photos, first ones giving the impressions of the 50ies! Thanks for sharing this with us!

Thank you @pipurilla! Yeah, that's the same impression I got when I first saw it after taking it. That's one of my favorite photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56