KasiaTravels on a budget: a glimpse into Costa Rican bullfighting [Solo backpacking on a budget in Latin America]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I was sitting on a bench with my pages covered with Spanish words to memorise, probably drinking a fruit juice when someone asked me if he may join me. I said yes because I was too lazy that day and didn’t want to learn more ;)

2 (Copy).jpg
source

He was small and skinny, with long curly hair that I would love to have myself!:) I already saw him before as there weren’t so many “professional” surfers in this area. Tamarindo (in Costa Rica) is more a spot for beginners). Carlos was Costa Rican living just outside Tamarindo, owning a surf shop and giving surfing lessons as well. He asked how I was after the accident and my concussion . That question somehow surprised me. But I guess what happened to me wasn’t happening so often, fortunately. And people talk, what is natural.

We had to switch to English in order for me to maintain a normal conversation because at that point my Spanish wasn’t brilliant ;) He talked about local people and how this region has changed with Americans’ money.

At some point he said that this time of the year - February - there were some festivities in a neighbouring town. And asked if I would like to see it. I didn’t think much and agreed. Adventure, here I come. You may ask if I had no hesitations to enter a taxi with an unknown man in order to go somewhere, I didn’t really know where. Well. It did cross my mind that it may not be the smartest thing to do. But my intuition was telling me that I could trust him. And as I already wrote, the community here in Tamarindo is rather tiny, everyone knows everyone. I wouldn’t (hmmm, I hope I wouldn’t ;)) do that if the circumstances were different. But yes, it wasn’t too smart and safe.

Some of you may remember that I only use public transport when I am travelling and I definitely avoid taxis. This situation was a bit different as it was already an evening. And the drivers are charging locals and tourists differently. Obviously, as an independent woman haha, I offered to pay half, but my proposition was rejected. Carlos, a true gentleman ;)

I am not certain where it was because unfortunately I didn’t write it down. Starting from December a lot of towns in the Guanacaste region have their own fiestas that last from a few days even up to 10 days, like in Liberia, the capital of the region.

During the ride, Carlos explained that we not only gonna enjoy live music, dance salsa, or merengue and eat local food. There would also be a bull riding. He promised those shows wouldn’t be harmful to animals.

Bull riding:

Today, the bull riding and fighting culture represents the heart of Guanacastean popular culture. Each district or county holds patrimonial, local parties where each town’s bull riding and fighting ring attracts Costa Rican citizens and foreigners from all over the country and outside of CR respectively. The bull riders who travel from county to county in order to win a living by riding bulls; first prize beholds a large sum of money. (…) the longest that handles the bucks of the bull wins the competition. Then, the competition continues to the next location. This type of local riding appears to be very similar to the rodeos of the United States.
source

3.jpg

I took some photos with my phone but they are far from being decent ;) It was the beginning of 2015 and I owned a basic smartphone...

We arrived just in time for the performance. The arena was big and there were plenty of people, all in a festive mood, filled with excitement, screaming, singing, and of course, eating and drinking. The spectators were sitting, just like we did, around, on the wooden platforms/benches and some of them on a palisade just outside the ring. I must admit I was a little disturbed by the amount of garbage laying, thrown away by everyone everywhere. ;)

1a (Copy).jpg
source

When the rider left the arena, the next part of the show - the “bull fighting” - started. Its main idea is to gather “fighters” and wait for the bull to be released. At that point the stage is full of people, often young men who want to prove their masculinity. Those men then run, sometimes very close, to the bull in order to be chased without being stabbed. Therefore it is more alike Spanish Pamplona's Running of the Bulls than a classic corrida.

1b (Copy).jpg
source

I later checked on it and in Costa Rica, there is a law prohibiting hurting bulls. It means that in many cases participants, contrary to bulls, are the ones who leave the arena being harmed.

I was surprised why bull riding and “fighting” were so popular in this region. It seemed odd to me. After all Costa Rica is a pacifistic attitude, and is one of very few countries without armed forces (for already 70 years!) . But then I have read that:

Guanacaste is known as "Cattle Country" and is also nicknamed the "the Texas of Costa Rica". With three quarters of Costa Rican cattle being raised there, Guanacaste has had a long history and culture shaped around cattle ranching.
source

4.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

Although the bulls were the main attraction of the evening, the whole area was surrounded by other entertainments like outdoors bars and buffets, or a dance floor. It was definitely worth the risk :)

Thank you for being here with me. I hope until next time!
Pura Vida and enjoy the travel!:)

Sort:  

The man with bull looks brave. only the person have such a strength and determination can do it.

that's true. but i don't really understand this way of showing "strength and determination" :)

Well done Post great
I honestly do not enjoy the torture of animals, whatever the way
Thanks for sharing your experience

me neither! i don't support this kind of activities. But at least the animal doesn't get hurt!

I see my path, but I don't know where it leads. Not knowing where I'm going is what inspires me to travel it.

Good luck with your travel! :)

awesome

Welcome

Adventure is beautiful, only the brave enjoy it in its fullness

I hope you will have as many adventures as possible! :)

See I thought that bull fights and riding have been banned outright! Guess they just made it safer for the bulls.

It wasn't banned in 2015 ;) but i agree, it should be banned even though an animal doesn't get hurt like in Spanish corrida.

kasia? are you polish?

yes, I am :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=k-a-s-i-a
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=kasiatravels-a-glimpse-into-costa-rican-bullfighting


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

how wonderful it is to appreciate through your post all the customs and traditions of that beautiful country .. thank you for sharing .. I invite you to read my last post, and vote for me ...

Thank you Olga! Good luck on Steemit!:)

This looks like an awesome experience. I saw the bull vs matador in spain a long time ago!! This looks even cooler. Safe travels, hope to see more of your stories soon.

Thanks Tom! and did you enjoy la corrida? I guess this is nothing i would like to see, it is too cruel...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67